Cries of A Student

5 27
Avatar for rene.neverfound
1 year ago

Studying here in Philippines is a tough challenge. Even if studying was never been light, Philippines has the best to worst education system. And, in this pandemic times one could agree to many that the system got worsen. To aid the developing education crisis, new normal education was brought forth, it is a distance learning education that involves modular, online, and digital. But, even though, these modalities have been in use for the two years of new normal education, the efficacy of these implementations resulted with various outcomes. There have been several issues that students have had to deal with. These include academic burnout, and other mental health problems.

Acceptance and adjusting was never easy.

Clearly, most of the students have the same sentiments in this new way of education, "we are studying just to comply". Indeed, there's no learning at all. Open the schools we say, but we can't disregard the risk. We are out of choices but to move forward. And this constant moving and keeping pace have cost us much. This Covid-19 pandemic have put us in pressure, not just academically but life in general.

  • The problems in each household that once only remain in the house during pre-pandemic times is now adding to the burden of a student studying in their perspective homes.

  • The students capability of learning differs from one another. There are students who can self-taught, but there are others who need guidance. There may be parents to substitute teachers, but not all parents are available to teach their children, and not all parents know the lessons,

  • The lack of resources is another pressure to students and parents for not all Filipinos live their lives with privilege, others can barely sustain their family's stomach. Additional resources such us laptop, internet connectivity, budget for load, brought by the new normal education is a constant burden for those unprivileged ones. And sometimes, the lack of resources cause students whom do not have the choice to drop out and work in partial, or causing students to be prone to stress because they are left behind in complying activities.

If not lucky, I could say that I am fortunate enough to be able to keep up being self-taught. Fortunate that my parents are in good relation. Fortunate that my dad is a full-time house husband, who saves me from the heavy house chores, and my mom is a teacher that even if she is the only one who is working, she can sustain our daily needs and can provide resources for us.

We still experience shortage of budget though, we sometimes run out of money and could not even afford to buy viand for dinner, but I grew up being practical, I can stand to eat any edible food served on our table, I only focused to my needs and not my wants (because I always tell myself that I can buy everything I want once I become successful.)

I was a consistent top student at school. My parents would tell me that education is the only legacy they could offer because we do not have anything luxurious at home, we do not have any lot nor car. But those material things really don't bother me at all, I have my greatest treasure and it's them. They pushes me to be better, support and believe in me. So, in this dark and rigged education system albeit there are times were I am about to give up, because of the exhaustion, I am still fortunate enough to have them as my light and compass.


An article I published on Hive and want to share it with you all as well. Thank you so much for reading! Photo from Pixabay.

Renésmee Neverfound

An aspirant writer and artist. To be found is my greatest dream and never be lost. Hi, I am @rene.neverfound, you can call me Rene or Esme if you like. I specialized in prose-poetry and poetry, and now I am trying new things and writing styles. I love learning! I am a 17-year-old girl living life in the Philippines. I am a total bookworm and a grade 11 student with an undying passion for writing and art. Having many dreams is a funny mess because I get confused most of time with regard to what course should I take in college. I want to be an astrologist, a doctor, a journalist, an author, a professional artist, an archaeologist, and many more I forgot to remember while writing this.

5
$ 1.69
$ 1.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @JenThoughts
Avatar for rene.neverfound
1 year ago

Comments

I agree, our country really has the worst education system. Bago ang pandemi meron pang K to 12 na para bang pinag experimentuhan ang mga estudyante. Sinabi nila na kapag naka graduate may opportunities na makapagtrabaho pero wala, tuloy parin sa college dahil nga walang tumatanggap. 2 years na pasakit sa mga magulang at mga estudyante.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan kasi okay naman yung pag turo and such kaso yung mismong sistema nakaka stress talaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes, may mga situation na ganito kaso the whole system talaga eh, minsan hindi na keri i-carry

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh modular learning is actually not a good help to student but a burden to parents or siblings. Most students didn't answer their modules but their parents or ate and kuya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i agree to this din po from what my mother told us about the modules of some of her students. turns out walang natutunan at the end of the day

$ 0.00
1 year ago