This is how I'm trying to deal with my son's anger issue!

11 24
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Anger management is really tough for a kid. They don't know how to express themselves, they even can't tell how they are feeling so they also can't express themselves properly. All this turns into anger when something goes wrong.


img

My son is turning 6 next month. As he is very different at home so we never thought there would be any problem for him to cope with schooling. He often showed tantrums, cried for a few days; all because he couldn't deliver what he wants and teachers were doing something that he didn't like. The miscommunication is triggering him and he is showing anger but fortunately not violence.

So for the past three weeks, I'm trying to help him achieve emotional resilience. I know it's hard for kids to understand this but there are so many helpful guidelines online that I'm learning and teaching him gradually.

Let me share how I'm doing this.

• I'm talking about overall emotions with him a lot. How we feel when we are sad, bored, anxious, etc to let him understand and label his emotions properly.


• I have made an emotion chart (you can get it online) and given tick marks on the emotions he is showing. Based on the result at the end of the day, I'm rewarding him with some little treat.


• No need to say, I'm spending more time with him than before. And also controlling my own negative emotions.


• I'm sharing many social stories to help my son understand what would be the consequences of his anger or anyone in general.

img

There are many other small changes I'm making like improving my home environment, giving him more learning tools, etc. And there's a visible difference in his behaviors which is giving me hope.

I will share some of the learning tools in another post.

I believe the biggest challenge is letting kids realize that rejection is okay, being sad is fine but we have to find ways to feel better.

I would say, don't feel embarrassed if your kid is misbehaving in public, feel embarrassed if you are failing to point out that and doing what you should do as a parent. Take your time, learn and teach them.

In this pandemic, kids didn't get the social exposure they should get normally. So it's hard for them too to cope, learn and proceed smoothly. Don't be hard on them, try to teach them, get professional help if necessary.

I wish you all the best.

6
$ 2.15
$ 2.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
$ 0.01 from @jasglaybam
+ 1
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

hi, I agree. And that raising kids nowadays is far different from raising kids a long time ago. The influence of social media is one factor. My son he tends to be aggressive at times. But I have to be patience in raising him one step at at time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some parents sugarcoat the bad things in the world. If the child is too much comfortable with good things only, he or she mind ended up being hurt when he/she learns the real world. The early the better for the child to know the reality.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I too believe in this. I raised my son with restrictions and discipline. Hope he will understand the reality and cope accordingly. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can relate much to you my friend. I hope it work fast and sure, I'm glad you are always there for him

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for saying so. I hope I would help him achieve emotional regilence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes remona. Teach them for their own goods. Let the things that make them happy as long as it's safe to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree, all this hard thing is for their own goods. I hope he will gradually learn. Thanks 😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He will remona. You're always welcome. 🥰❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My kid is having anxiety and some emotional issues because of the pandemic as well. She missed playing outside and people around her always reprimand her for her behavior. Once we went out for her vaccination and she became loud and stuff. I can't blame her for doing such. I could only sigh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, they are lack of social skill and it's not their fault. Every kid is different and we should deal with them accordingly. Thanks for sharing your experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago