Temporary entertainment and endless sadness. | Social Media Trends.

6 26
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

We all know about recent social media trends. It's full of funny content, pranks, TikTok shorts, and whatnot. And view? No need to take about it.

Image Source

As an old school (no shame to approve that), it always made me think, what's going on actually? Are this temporary happiness, entertainment that makes us feel good? Or it's just addiction and brings the same result as any other addiction.

Yes, there is much research showing the negative impact of such trends. But do we have any other alternative? I guess, we failed to make a competitive alternative, not even anything close.

Every kid got a phone, many have their channel. It's their form of entertainment. I mean, why shouldn't they?

I also had this addiction for a short period. And I know how difficult it is to get out of it. One thing I observed, this tendency sucks all our energy. It makes a temporary happy feeling. But in long run, there's nothing that can make us happy. Another thing is, it has a huge impact on our short-term memory. We fill our brain with so many things (mostly unnecessary) that, our brain takes more time to proceed.

I rechecked my findings and they came true.

As a mom, I have to think in advance, what I'm going to give to my son, what I'm going to introduce to him. I brought him without any mobile phone activity. Yes, I did that and I know how difficult it is.

  • One alternative came to my mind and that is, introducing our child to real happiness and entertainment. Like family hangout, any hobbies, going outdoor, etc. When they would realize how those activities impact them in long run, like when they recall those memories, they will surely understand the values.

But the problem is, we don't invest enough time to make that happen or I would say, sometimes it's impossible for us. As a work-from-home mom, I try my best to make that possible but I have seen others struggle. And it's still far away. Rather throwing a tab/mobile in front of them is a lot easier.

If you are a parent, don't follow this easy path. Create good memories for your child, for yourself too. Focus on permanent happiness and entertainment. In long run, those will help us and our future generations to build our happiness.

4
$ 3.76
$ 3.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Social media is so varst and have the quickest ability to influence any human being. Just like my uncle, he doesn't allow his children to visit some certain sites or watch some TV stations. Sometimes if I'm on my phone and running to social media stuffs, he cautions me not to allow them view. But the truth is that, when they're all grown, the media would still be there. Just like you said, we should give them more love and attention to help in channelling their minds somewhere even when they are grown. Yeah, because children from a core religious family ends up into the System and that helps to deprive them from many negative social acts

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a parent, we only can guide our kids and hopefully, they will learn to pick the right path. Totally agree with you, no one is out of the addiction nowadays, especially because of new trends like short dance, pranks; people are more into temporary entertainment. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Social media platforms has replaced the natural happiness expected of every parents to give to their children. They tend not to have time for them again by taking them out and spending quality time with them. Social media platforms are good but most of them comes with negative influence that can be so tempting to our children. Let's not forget our responsibility as a parent, let's give them the happiness they need by spending quality time with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totally agree with you. And not about kids, we adults also fall into the trap of social media. I know so many who don't even give much time to their family because of FB or Tiktok. Thanks for adding your words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I will be a Mom, I will never let my child being addicted to some social media platforms. Except to some socmed that was made for them. (Ex. Youtube kids) I never want my kids to follow the trend just like what happening to new kids right now. I want to them to spend their time playing outside or enjoy quality time with our Family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a great thing you did for them. I always believe this is the right way. I mean when we become teens we automatically get to know about all the trends and can choose what is best and whatnot. So parents should have some control. Thanks for adding your words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago