Season's favorite Hog Plum pickle. | Our very own Family recipe.

8 17
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Cooking, Food, Recipe, My day, My life, ...

Pickle is something that tastes different in every single house. Some make it sour, some prefer sweet, too spicy, or dry as per their taste. During summer we prepare pickles almost with all the sour fruit and hog plum is one of them. We have our very own family recipe.

A few days ago, I prepared this at home. Without talking further, let me share my recipe.

What do we need?

  • 1 kg hog plum

  • Half kg sugar

  • 1/4 kg mustard oil

  • 1 full garlic

  • Five spices

  • Hot spices

  • Cumin

  • Dried red chili

  • Salt

  • Turmeric powder

  • Red chili powder

How to prepare the pickle?

  • Peel the hog plum properly, and wash them.

  • Boil them with salt and turmeric for a couple of minutes, don't make them too soggy. Just a little soft and they will be good to go.

  • Add mustard oil and fry the garlic cloves until golden brown.

  • Add the five spices along with the hot spices and red chilis.

  • Fry them for a couple of minutes and add the hot plums.

  • Mix them for another few minutes and add sugar with red chili powder.

  • Cook them for a few minutes. It will take 7-10 minutes to cook properly.

  • When it's properly cooked add the mixed spice powder and let them mix for another couple of minutes.

  • It will be sticky and pickled after a few minutes. Let it cool and preserve it.

This pickle will be in good condition for at least three months if you preserve it in a glass jar in the refrigerator.

It tastes sweet, spicy, and sour at the same time. You can have it with rice, a side dish with curry, or any other way you prefer.

I hope you will like it.

Have a good day, everyone.

3
$ 0.81
$ 0.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @LeonaReed
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Cooking, Food, Recipe, My day, My life, ...

Comments

Pickle is one food to never get tired of.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It while you showing us how to cook it made my mouth watering πŸ˜‹. I don't like so sweet but love spicy & sour.... I will one day cock it using your method, Mama make it in old method (native way), which take day or two.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know the native way, that's tiring. Lol But this method works pretty well. You can try it ☺️☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes ma'am, noted that I hope one day I will try it. Good day

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow I love this recipe my friend. 🀀 I want to try it because in my whole life I never try it yet that's why I'm really excited with it's taste. 🀀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If hog plum is available there, then try it. It tastes good. Thanks 😊😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will search it my friend. This is really interesting my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago