Roadside gardening - An opportunity to have homegrown food at a low cost.

8 17
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

In my hometown, I have seen many households that produce their own fruits and vegetable on the roadside. They don't own the place, mostly those places are government-owned. But the authority also appreciates such initiative. Also, I get to see this in the capital as well but not as much as in the countryside.

My in-laws also have a small garden on the roadside. The surprising thing is, although they take care of the plants and all many don't take permission to have some. Later, they tell each other that they cut off some vegetables or fruits as they need. And no one mind about it. It's like a community garden. Isn't the idea amazing?

These are some photos from my in-law's garden. Everyone is welcome to take any fruit from the tree.

In cities, it's almost impossible to have homegrown food. We intake pesticides, preservatives, and whatnot with the food as well. As there are not enough places to grow our food so roadside gardening can be a good solution. Also, it's low cost because here in Bangladesh the soil is very fertile. You can perfectly grow many vegetables without any active care. Also, here govt never asks for any benefit against the gardens nor do they impose an extra tax or anything for it.


In my experience, there are some households who produce a good amount of products on the roadside in my hometown that is quite popular around the area. Not only they are almost self-sufficient in their vegetable need but they also sell some to the neighborhood. Also, people like to exchange. My mother-in-law exchanged her long bean with another neighbor's ripe papaya. What could be better than this?

Although it's quite impossible to build something like this in our capital city but we can use our rooftop instead. many are doing rooftop gardening and meeting their daily need for green through this. I have some vegetable plants as well in my small balcony garden.

It doesn't take much to increase green around us but our goodwill.

3
$ 0.91
$ 0.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Erigo580
$ 0.01 from @yoieuqudniram
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Homegrown vegetables are healthy than those in the market, we didn't applied pesticide on it. Jackfruit is very delicious for salad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, homegrown tastes best. I never had jackfruit salad, maybe someday.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah it's the best, it's always sold out in my neighbors small carinderia.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

very nice, I have experienced this too. I planted lots of malungay trees but sad to say, the neighbors sold them without my permission. how rude they are.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a very bad experience. Yeah, people too do that here as well sometimes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeah, there just some people that does not care about others,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am from Noise.cash; and it is a pleasure to follow yopu and read your blog. This is a very refreshing article. Greetings from Venezuela.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks a million to follow me here. See you around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago