'Maranta' Repotting | Givivng it a last hope.

4 37
Avatar for remona
Written by
9 months ago

Tell me I'm not the only one who finds her indoor plant dead after coming back from a long vacation!

I was always very concerned about this new addition to my home plant, Maranta. I bought a perfectly healthy plant but after repotting it was showing brown leaf. I didn't what Google was saying me to do. But after coming back from my hometown, I found it was very dry and almost dying.

I replaced it in a self-watering pot but probably something went wrong, and it was too dry when I came back.


This is how I bought it, perfectly healthy, green, and even there was a flower stem.

This maranta was in my house for more than one month. It was growing fine, as you can see the plant became double in size in a short time.

I'm guessing, planting it with aloe vera in the same pot was not a good idea. The aloe vera plant was for only a few days there, I have placed it to replace in another pot in a few days. The pot was in a cool and humid place. I'm still not sure what went wrong.

The roots seemed healthy by far and I decided to give it a chance.

I made a new soil mix for the plant. There were soil, cockpit, DAP, and organic fertilizers.

This is how it turned out.

After a few days, the plant leaves were still not in a natural position. They were not growing and the stems were dying.

I have searched and found the ideal temperature Maranta plants require is 65°F–85°F (18°C–30°C). For a few days, our weather was more than 30°C, around 35°C. I'm guessing, the lack of humidity probably killing it.


Tell me if you have any suggestions or ideas about what I need to do, how did this happen, and how can I avoid it next.

I gave the maranta last hope but I'm not hopeful!


4
$ 0.00
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
9 months ago

Comments

You have given your best dear friend. With the new soil, the plant will sure grab the second chance to blossom again. Best of luck 🤞

$ 0.01
9 months ago

Hopefully so. Thanks :)

$ 0.00
9 months ago

We also have that kind of plant in our garden.

$ 0.01
9 months ago

That's great. Take care :)

$ 0.00
9 months ago