If we don't find acceptance in our own Family...

5 15
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Podcasts became so popular, maybe a listener like me is one of the reasons! Jokes apart...
I'm talking about podcasts because it seems like a topic to talk about. I was listening to an abuse survivor on a podcast. So while she was saying about how she searched for love, acceptance, and approval here and there, finally found it and she went away with her boyfriend. That's a long story of her life, full of sorrow but now she is doing fine.

While listening to her narratives, one thing caught came my notice. I find this thinking pattern similar in people who were abused. Probably because it's a fact.

img

If we don't find acceptance in our own family, we try to find it outside.

Social acceptance and approval start in the family. We all have the right to feel loved and get support from our immediate family members. No matter if a kid seems completely spoiled, wrong, and a brat; they also need the same. As a parent now I can feel it more. Because when I look back I can see what was wrong with my own brought up.

We as a parent always prioritize how 'we' want to 'build' our child. That's the bitter truth and core of this problem. I know there are kids who are already out of hands. But you know what, they were not like this from the very first day. And not giving them any appearance, love, or support only can make the situation worse; nothing else.

I have seen parents wonder, why their kids are like that. Why do they do multiple affairs, hide things from them, and do the wrong things? I believe it's not tough to figure out what makes them so. Kids search for acceptance and if they don't find it in their own circle; they will definitely look around for it. It's not a choice for them, it's like an automatic force.

Moreover, kids and even teenagers don't have the ability to figure out what they are doing wrong and what needs to be done in the right way. They will always think, they are doing everything correctly.

My son is growing up and will be a teen someday. I always say this to myself, "I need to assure his acceptance, I need to create a secure environment so he can know he is loved and will get support."

Long way to go as a parent, huge to learn...

3
$ 1.00
$ 0.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Gianna-B
$ 0.02 from @LeonaReed
+ 1
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I believe that learning never ends.. people grow with guidance and that is how learning is shaped. We all learnt what almost everything we know now by a process of passing down from our parents or guardian. What we know is what we would pass down to our children

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can't agree more. We all learn through our mistakes. Blaming and making excuses only block our paths, nothing else. I hope, we would teach the same to our kids as well. Thanks for sharing your words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is very interesting and debatable topic. I like they way you summarize it. Not only kid but adults as well, when they don't find love in their own circle, they either go and commit something wrong or sometimes cross their own circle for which mostly blamed or abused.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's what I meant to say. It's a pattern to blame others for our own actions. I wouldn't say kids do this Knowingly but adults for sure. Childhood truma and abuse is an excuse for many. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree, you are right. Have a good time

$ 0.00
1 year ago