Holiday and some family traditions that I miss.

13 20
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Holiday means a lot of fun, the family gets to gather, having good food, visiting places, and whatnot. It always makes me feel great to see different cultural rituals, family traditions during holidays.

I miss the warmth of holidays so much. The more we mature the different it feels, no? Now holidays are full of responsibilities. I don't mind that. But not being with the family sometimes make me feel down. Like during this pandemic we celebrated four festivals without our family.

Anyway, moving to talk about my family tradition.

Image source

Festival time means 'Mom's cooking'. This is what I miss most. My mom used to prepare roasted chicken the day before the festival. At night we used to help her prepare the chicken and other food for the next day. I feel like I can smell our kitchen. Then going back to sleep late at night and waking up early in the morning is also part of the big day.

We used to serve food early in the morning to my Dad and my brother before they leave for the special festival prayer. We used to wait for them to come back and then we eat the roasted chicken with rice flour roti. These were our special food items for the holiday. Then we used to have some special gifts/money from my parents for the day. We used to have a little chit-chat and then proceed to the day.

We didn't use to go outside to dine out because both of my parents were Govt officials. So their time at home was more precious than going outside.

You may notice all I use is 'Past tense'. Because things are not the same anymore. My Dad passed away 11 years ago, my mom live alone, I live with my husband far away from my mom. Now, I spend holidays with my husband's family. I'm well welcome there and they also have some good traditions like cooking together with the extended family. But I miss how we used to celebrate the big day when we were younger, before my marriage.

Time changes and so does our life. I accept that.

Now what I'm doing will be my son's memories. That's my inspiration. I try to make some special food, do something special like some gifts, go outside, have movie time together, and so on to enrich his memory.

Have a good day, everyone.

10
$ 2.74
$ 2.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 6
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I think that happens to most of us and that is life. We move out from our parents, some go far away and we can only be together during special occasions, but then at times, we still cannot come together because of commitments or other things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's life. Our parents face the same and our child will also feel something similar, I guess. Thanks for adding your words. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some of our festivals also follow the same process. We go to the festival after coming back from there, we take our festival foods together.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eating together/with the extended family during the festival is one of the best things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mom and I loves to cook also. Everytime we cooked foods, our bonding made me so happy. It made my day full of energy, love and affection. We prefer to cook by ourselves with full of love to offer it to each member of the family. The happiness that we bond together with my mom is my treasure. Im happy also to you because it clearly shows that you are family oriented. You love your mom as well as the other member of family. Keep it up and God will bless you more and more. ❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a special bonding with you and your mom. I didn't have the chance/still don't get time to learn or do cooking with my mom. But I can understand how it may feel. I sometimes cook with my mother-in-law and it's a precious feeling. You got it right about me. I'm a very family-oriented person, they make me happy. Thanks for your wonderful words and for sharing your memory with me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is truly a constant change. We used to have Christmas and New Year party with relatives. Everyone grew I guess, now we just have our own parties.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It sometimes hurt so much. But life goes on. Now I see the same light in my son's eyes, we pass our love, tradition, and feelings. This is how the circle works, I guess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is the law of friendly life, some leave, others arrive, they suffer, they dance, they sing, they laugh, they cry, we are that, the moments, the memories do not reach us but they keep us alive. Let's build fond memories for our children and grandchildren.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You said it to the point. Life goes on, with or without, we do our things and pass the love and tradition to the next gen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad that you are doing your best to give your son the best memories. But I do hope that you will visit your mom, you know she might have been missing you. I just lost my mom recently so yeah. And I am sorry about your dad, mine died too 8 years ago I think.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm really sorry for your parents. I do visit my mom, two or three times a year. She lives in another city, far away, I get busy with life and family things. Even if I try to spend time with her, I can't do that much. I understand, this may hurt me later. That's why I try to put effort to make her happy in other ways. Thanks for advising me. It means a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay :) I am glad that you still visit your mom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago