Great food with real local flavor.

2 28
Avatar for remona
Written by
11 months ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Blog, Experiences, Story, ...

Food tastes better when you eat with your family.

There's an advantage of living far away from home and that is, getting a warm welcome from everyone with good food in every meal!

Whenever we visit home, it's usually after a few months, we get many invitations from our relatives to have a meal at their home. In our culture, it's not just a tradition but a ritual to put an effort to cook different kinds of dishes to welcome the guests. Also, it's a norm to attend the invitation with a handful of food, usually desserts, and fruits.

Last month, we have been to some of our relative's places during the Eid vaccination/celebration. Today I'm going to share some of our plates, and the food we ate to share with you what our traditional local food is, and what an invitation looks like.


This is at my mom's house. I asked her to cook something traditional, not rich and spicy food. She prepared all kinds of mashed dishes and my favorite shrimp curry.

This was at my aunt-in-law's. There were many dishes but I was so full having the chicken I couldn't taste everything.

This one is at my aunt's house. She prepared so many dishes. From chicken curry to mutton and beef, from shrimp to fish; everything was there.

I love having the comforting taste of home.

I got to taste some local snacks, cakes, and desserts too.


One thing I must say is all this food adds great value to us. Not because of the good taste but because it always reminds me of home.

Living far away from home, cooking fusion, and modern food at my city home; I love to taste the traditional local food. These invitations are the perfect time to have that opportunity.

Moreover, I sometimes get bored with my own cooking. Getting to taste the country food, and meeting all the relatives brings an extra vibe to life. And that's what fulfills our vacation.

I believe you got an idea of how our food looks like, and what we usually present to our guests. This may not look fancy but I can guarantee you the hospitality will always be 110%.

Have a good day, everyone.


3
$ 0.22
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
11 months ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Blog, Experiences, Story, ...

Comments

Oh a very tasty and yummy 😋 article. This comes to me in my morning. Starting the day with hunger temptations now, haha.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

Nakakabusog naman yan 😋, ginutom tuloy ako ngayon haha.

$ 0.00
11 months ago