Food Journal: Ummmm Soup!!

17 49
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Monday Monday...

Today I'm tired and stressed. A series of power outages have been happening over here in Venezuela and they happen everytime I getting ready to write something.

Not only that, my former job has been giving me some headache since some people are thirsty for total power over the institution. Maybe tomorrow I'll give an update, but, before the lights go out again, I'll share with everyone one of the jewels of Venezuelan Cuisine: Beef Sancocho.

This was goooood
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty

Made by me in Canva

Sancocho is a kind of soup tipical of latin countries such as Colombia, Dominican Republic, Cuba, Panamá, etc, and of course, Venezuela. It is made with Beef Ribs, Chicken or Fish. Over here it depends of the part of the country you are, if you're in the coast, most likely you'll find fish sancocho, if you're in the Llanos part of the country (where I am), you'll find beef sancocho or Cruzao, wich is a mixture of beef and chicken.

Made by me in Can

It also has vegetable roots or tubers such as Casava, Yam, Taro, etc, and Coriander, Sweet Chilies, Garlic, Green Onions, Celery (in some cases) .

It is a classic dish on sundays, or in the holydays such as New Years day or Christmas Day, or even on birthdays, graduations, Mothers day or Fathers day, or any day you choose. In fact, there is always a good time to make sancocho because it means family time, that's it.

Made by me in Canva

There even is a saying over here, I don't know if they say it in other parts of the country, but this is it: over here we have to ratings for a sancocho and both are as good as the next one...

First, the is El Sancocho Acuesta Borracho, wich means that drunk people go to bed after 1 bowl, and Second: there is El Sancocho Levanta Muertos, that means that the drunken ones come to life and can start partying again.

There are different ways to make this world renowned dish, and it has to do with family tradition, the way our grandmas, and great great grandmas used to make it, and of course, the additions of every generation.

In my family, we used to make the recipe from my Dad's side of the family, wich was with tomatoes to give colour to the broth and the green onions, coriander, celery. etc, in a bouquet that you can take out before serving the soup. I changed that about 5 years ago due to the economic crisis.

One time my dad had a craving for sancocho since we hadn't made it for about three months, and we where used to make it every sunday for lunch. Anyways, the tomato was too expensive, more expensive than the ribs! Hard to believe, huh? But it's, true, so I asked my that for permission to make it like they do it in the local market, with sofrito, wich means that the green onions, garlic, chilies, etc are fried in oil coloured with annatto or achiote, to give colorto the broth. He wanted that soup so badly that he agreed to let me do it that way.

The result was a hardty and thick soup and he liked it very much, so much that from that moment on, he didn't made it like he was used to anymore, and now the family recipe is the one I made. Yesterday I made it and I added Sweet Corn, that gives it a particular sweet taste to the broth and you can't replicate that flavor any other way.

Life in one bowl...

My family and I don't wait for special occasions to make this, it only has to be Sunday and that's enough excuse for us to take out the pressure cooker or the logs of wood to make our beloved Sancocho. Of course, we miss my dad every time we sit down and eat it because he always used to eat two or three bowls of this soup and we had to buy a side of Casabe (cassava bread) just for him, and of course, Chili oil and Lemon Juice.

And you? Do you have a family tradition around food? I'd love to hear it!



This article is 100% original and I used only my words, no others. The gif's you see where made by me in Canva and where made 3 months ago for a similar post published by myself in Hive.Blog, I leave the link here. The Lead Image and the last one are from yesterday and where taken with my mom's phone.

Thanks to my wonderful sponsors, and to all of you beautiful people!

✨✨Blessings✨✨

@rebeysa85

6
$ 2.95
$ 2.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 3
Sponsors of rebeysa85
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for rebeysa85
2 years ago

Comments

omg, se ve que quedó como a mi me gusta, la próxima me invitas, jejjeje

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Claro que si! Cuando gustes amiga ❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tomatoes cost more than beef? That IS crazy. Man, this is a perfect post considering it will soon be soup season for me, and I am always looking for new things to add to my list of ones to make. This looks very yummy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, the world upside down haha thankfuly that's not the case anymore ❤️ You wont regret it if you do try it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never tried this soup, but if it is possible I would avoid the sweetcorn because I don't like it too much, too sweet for me :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You absolutely can make this without the sweet corn, and it's just as good. A little spice and a splash of lemon juice takes it to another level.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, you have some variants that we do not use, tomato is one of them never for soup, zumbie or topocho only for fish soup, nor do we use achiote (onoto or caituco) for soups. At home we grow a little onion (cebollin), hierba buena, Chinese garlic (ciboulette) and other aromatics. We are used to not using cubes, because they are chemical compounds, we try to keep everything natural.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I know that tomato is most unusual to find in soup, but that's the way my grandma used to make it when my dad was little in 23 de enero in Caracas. I associate it with Armando Scannone recipe for Hallacas Caraqueñas and the recipe has tomatoes in it, wich I find very very odd. We don't use cubes neither, if I want that kind of a soup I buy a packet of maggi soup, and I don't because it's expensive and I don't like it haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just remembered that when they used to make soup, they used to hide the tomato sauce so that my grandmother would not add it to the soup, as she was already senile.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have also famous food here in my country ehat we called Potchero, the method of cooking is, the chicken or meat shall be boil for atleast an hour depends on level of fire until it become tender, add seasoning on it like salt and pepper to remove the odor of meat, after that add the most hard ingredient like corn, it takes a minutes before it became tender after that add those soft ingredients and add Knorr cubes for better results, in my way of cooking,I add lemon grass to make it fragrant.❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That sounds yummy! The girls and I (mom, sister and me) are always trying new things, and this for sure is a good option. If I make it I'll post it! ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That Sancocho looks so tasty. You left me with a craving. In my family, it's usually done but more the Hervido Picado.

Here yesterday, the power also went out, and at some point I felt the chill for fear that it was another national blackout. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! It was tasty :D Confession: I have never eaten Hervido Picado in my life!

My sister's friends said that supposedly is the preview to another national blackout. God helps us if that's is true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hervido Picado is like the traditional Hervido, but everything is cut in small dices. And it's terrifying the possibility of a new national blackout.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yummy! I have never seen it like that.

As for the blackout, last night the power went out at 10pm, came back at 1:30am, went out again at 4am and came back right now at 7am. I'm exhausted!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can understand why you are exhausted. And the worst thing is knowing that nobody is doing anything to make things change. The only thing we can do is try to change the little space around us. Or try to leave if it is an option.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true, but for now I'm staying put, hope is the last thing to loose!

$ 0.01
2 years ago