What is LOVE?

3 32
Avatar for rayselp
2 years ago

Love is just another four-letter word.

It's so simple, yet sometimes, it becomes so complicated. Love has a lot of meanings to different people. Some people try to understand the concept of love by thinking of their significant other. Others see love as the kind of love that a mother has for her child. There are those who see love as platonic - something that you give to the people you care about a lot, maybe it is your brother, sister, a friend, your village people, etc. The list goes on and on...

If you happen to look at love as any of the ones mentioned above, then, you are correct. Love is spelled simply, but its meaning can be interpreted in many ways. They said there are different types of love, and here are those:

  • Philia is affectionate love. This type of love is the kind of love that occurs between friends, not the romantic type. Some others may say this is what is known as platonic love. There's a deep connection that is shared between two persons that do not necessarily link to romantic attraction.

  • Eros is romantic love. It is the kind of love that is innate for most people. It is a kind of passionate love that is displayed through physical affection like kissing, hugging, and holding each other's hands. This kind of love happens when you desire someone to be with them, closer to them, touching, and caressing them.

  • Pragma is the love that matures over time. This can be seen as an everlasting love between a couple that has mutual respect, effort, and understanding for one another over many years of being together. This is the kind of love that can be associated with the words "commitment" and "dedication", something that is not just the spur of the moment, but a decision that is to be made for life, in good times and in bad, with or without physical affection. It's wanting to be together, no matter what, no matter when, no matter how.

  • Storge is familial love. I like this one! This is the kind of love that is innate between parents and their children. This can also be the kind of love between best of friends. This type of love is one that is built upon acceptance and an in-depth emotional connection. Something that is too hard to be broken, something that will never be taken out of a person.

  • Philautia is self-love. Right now, this kind of love should matter, too. It is recognizing that you are worthy and enough. It is being kind to yourself and giving yourself what you need (and want!). It begins by acknowledging that you have a responsibility to take care of yourself. I remember the song lyrics, "Learning to love yourself is the greatest love of all..." This rings so much as you can't give love if you don't have it in you.

  • Agape is selfless love. It is a kind of love that has no boundary, limitless, and unconditional. They say that this is the highest level of love to offer - meaning, you give without expecting anything in return. When I hear the word agape, I know as humans, we can't completely offer agape love to another human. An example of this kind of love is the love of God towards humankind. We are completely undeserving of His love and grace and mercy, yet He still chose to sacrifice His only begotten Son to die for our sins. Agape is one tough kind of love to offer.

Whatever type of love you think you're experiencing or have already experienced, I want to share with you one thing - whatever love it is that you have, remember that LOVE is an ACTION word. Knowing what love is important, but doing LOVE is what really matters.

You can show your LOVE through different ways:

  1. Words of affirmation - Tell him/her that he/she looks good, smells good, or he/she did a great job. Tell your loved ones that you are proud of them. A simple affirmation can change a person's mood. :)

  2. Acts of kindness or service - Don't just say, do. Give him/her a cup of coffee in the morning, do the chores, wash the laundry, give him/her a massage, the list goes on and on... You can show that you appreciate and love them by doing something for them.

  3. Giving of gifts - Giving presents is another form of showing your love to a person, it doesn't necessarily mean that you give him/her an expensive gift. Whatever you can give, as long as you put effort and time into it, will be greatly appreciated by someone who loves you back. If you can buy flowers for him/her, then it's good. But if you can't, then just draw something, or pick some flowers, it will mean the same! :)

  4. Physical touch - Give your partner a kiss or a hug when he/she least expects it. Make room for cuddles, for some touching of hair, or of his/her face, for holding of hands. :)

  5. Spending quality time. - Love they say can be spelled as T-I-M-E. Spending quality time with each other is a necessity. Whether it be just talking with each other after a long day, sending a message in the middle of the day just saying that you thought about him/her, or by just being together, doing work stuff, not talking, but just being there for each other. It goes a long way.

Remember that Love is not just another four-letter word. Love is an action word, so take action. LOVE!

Thanks for reading!

$ 3.23
$ 3.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
Avatar for rayselp
2 years ago


I thought it was related to K-pop because of the title lol. You're right, it's a simple word but difficult to express.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not much of a K-Pop fan. But, thanks for noticing. I hope that I was able to explain it in some sort. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was explained well. I had a good time reading it. 👏

$ 0.00
2 years ago