I'm a GrandMa's Girl

3 39
Avatar for rayselp
2 years ago
Topics: Memories, True Story

I graduated from elementary as a Valedictorian of our class. I graduated from a small, non-sectarian private school in my hometown in the year 2000. I remember that the year before my graduation, my grandma died of ovarian cancer. She was not able to witness this momentous part of my life growing up. She was not there physically, but I know she's there in spirit.

Before I tell you why my title is written as such, I would like to share with you a brief background before I come to the night of my elementary graduation.

Okay, I am the eldest of two siblings from both my parents. I have a younger brother, he was the one who introduced me to this platform (hello bro!). Our parents got separated when I was 2 years old. So, I was raised by my grandparents, I call them MamaLola and PapaLolo (Mama means mother, Lola means Grandma; Papa means father, and Lolo means Grandpa). Both my brother and I stayed with our grandparents. We were not able to be with our Mama (mother) because she already has another family. Our Papa (father) also has another family. The setup was we only get a chance to be with our Papa when he would fetch us at home and bring us to his house in another town.

I was raised thinking that I am rich, not very rich, but our lifestyle is better as compared to other family's lifestyle. I am not sure if we are considered spoiled by our grandparents, but I think we really are.

Living in the province, we often go to Manila and visit the mall, shop, and watch movies, but the very reason why we're there is that our grandfather is having his weekly dialysis session. During that time, it was not clear to me yet the gravity of his condition. They did not inform us that his kidney is already failing, maybe I guess because we were too young to understand.

When our grandpa died when I was in the third grade, I knew something will change. He died because of kidney failure. When he died, my grandma, me, and my brother continued to live a simpler life. After my Grandpa died, we didn't own any car, but we continued living in our ancestral house - the house where my mother spent her childhood.

Fast forward to the year 1999, my MamaLola was diagnosed with an illness that I didn't know yet. My Mama stayed with us during this time because my MamaLola needs assistance. I forgot the date, but I think it was the summer of 1999 when we had to go to Manila for my MamaLola's operation. After some weeks, they said that her operation was successful so, we went home where she can spend time for her recovery.

It was the afternoon of June 29, 1999, when I felt a terrible headache in school. I was fetched right after school because they said my MamaLola needs to go back to the hospital. I bid goodbye to her, thinking that this was just a simple procedure.

June 30, 1999. At 3:oo in the morning, my Mama and an Aunt woke us up. Oh well, I thought, well, MamaLola is already home. I will be able to hug her tight again. I didn't realize right away that there was a piece of bad news. It was only when my Aunt asked my Mama what would my MamaLola wear, and my Mama said she should wear her white dress. Then, it dawned on me, MamaLola can't talk anymore, because she was already taken by our Creator.

I silently cried in disbelief. I will no longer be able to hug her and tell her how my day went. She will not be able to witness any of my graduation ceremonies.

Every year from the first recognition ceremony that I can remember, my MamaLola is always the one who would go up the stage with me to pin my ribbons and place my medals for the curricular and co-curricular awards that I receive every year. But during my graduation, instead of my MamaLola, my Mama, Papa, and two other Lolas (sisters of my MamaLola) were the ones who went up the stage to give one award after another.

My Graduation Day

It was April 2, 2000. I was wearing our school's gala uniform for my graduation. I was nervous, but I was happy and grateful for the awards that were bestowed upon me. I was thinking what if MamaLola is here, maybe she would be so proud of my achievements.

In my valedictory speech, I remember that I gave honor to my MamaLola who was always there for me every step of the way, right from the very beginning of my school journey - at 3 years old. I remember her sacrifices by making me a reviewer especially when I have my exams, for her unending support especially when I have to join different contests in either academic or journalistic ones in different parts of our province, region, and country.

It was my MamaLola who taught me to be excellent in everything that I do. I hope that right now, wherever she may be, she is smiling down seeing me and my brother achieve our ambitions, making a living, standing on our own feet.

I miss and love you, MamaLola. You are a gem. You are a treasure that I will always remember, and will always be kept inside my heart.

<3

5
$ 6.77
$ 6.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for rayselp
2 years ago
Topics: Memories, True Story

Comments

How I wish I was able to be with my lola and experience the love from them. 💜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

able to be with my lola and experience the love fr

Maybe in another lifetime. My moments with her are short, I get to be with her only for 11 years. I miss her so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I will be wishing for that. Soonest. 💜

$ 0.00
2 years ago