I got in!

0 19
Avatar for rayselp
2 years ago
Topics: Experiencies

Yesterday was the start of our school's in-service training in preparation for the school year 2021-2022, which will still be in an online distance learning platform. I attended the meetings yesterday as a regular faculty member for I am waiting for the result of my scholarship application which they said was this June and yesterday, it was the second to the last day of June!

Sharing with you the timeline of my application:

  • February 5, 2021 - I submitted my application

  • February 17, 2021 - I received an email that I was shortlisted and I was scheduled for an interview.

  • February 24, 2021 - This is the day of my panel interview (online),

  • March 5, 2021 - I was told that I passed the interview and I have to send certified true copy of my documents/requirements.

  • March 16, 2021 - I submitted the complete documents.

  • April 28, 2021 - My placement form was submitted to Japan for their review and approval.

Initially, I made a special request to my principal to allow me to stay in the school until the supposed day of my departure. It was a long shot, but I still did it. Well, my request was not granted it might cause a possible disruption of the ongoing classes. Also, according to her, to avoid comparison between me and the substitute teacher since I am a well-loved teacher. Ahem! She gave me until the end of May to decide. This I had to haggle since the result from Japan will be in June, and there's no assurance that I will get in until a result is made.

It's June 28... and there is still no communication coming from the scholarship division. I am already thinking of the possibilities. What if I decide to stay for the school year but I get to be accepted in the scholarship, will I file a resignation letter? What if I apply for a leave of absence, but in the end, I don't get accepted in the scholarship, how do I support myself?

Well, anyway, today, while I was having a meeting with my subject grade level teammates, I received an email from the scholarship division.

There is the email. I was ecstatic. I was so happy.

On the other hand, I also got very nervous and somewhat anxious because all along I thought, I was waiting for the final result, only to find out that I have yet to be accepted to a university, and that will be known on or before the middle of August.

I understand that I have to make a decision already, and I am already prepared to file for a leave of absence from my work, yet I am still taking my chances. After I received the email, I called my immediate supervisor and told her my situation. She said that I should tell the principal as soon as possible.

So, I drafted a letter telling her of the updates regarding my scholarship. I did mention that I am still waiting for a university and that the duration of the scholarship will start in October 2021. But I understand that I have told them that I will be making a decision by the end of June, so, here I am making it.

I just hope that they would give me this whole month of July to fully prepare myself for the leave of absence. I told her in the letter that I will be back after the scholarship since it is a requirement for scholars to do so.

But what I'm praying for right now is that I get to be accepted into a university, and I get to fly to Japan and experience living there, Lord-willing. If it's not too much to ask, can you say a little prayer for me?

After all the bumps along the road that has happened in this journey of mine, I am always reminded to go back to God's word, His promise in Philippians 4:16 -

I have asked and He answered, now, I just have to wait and trust His will. The waiting is a painful process - something that will leave you anxious, and can turn into disbelief, but, it's a matter of trust, of faith that He will do whatever He wills to do, and what He does is always for the best of you.

Thank you for reading!

2
$ 2.49
$ 2.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for rayselp
2 years ago
Topics: Experiencies

Comments