6 years later...

0 21
Avatar for rapsantos
3 years ago

6 years ago (January 14, 2015). On this day, I remember the moment that changed my life. But, before this happened, I was about to give up. Realizing after all that I learned from college would lead me to nothing.

If I could still remember, I am roaming around the city just to find a job throughout the day. When the sun is about to go down, I rested for a while in my favorite spot at Manila Bay. I was writing in my notebook until a pastor approached me. I don't want to entertain her first, but I don't have a choice since I need guidance at that time.

I cannot remember which bible verse she read to me, but it is about my future. As I was looking at the sunset, I was in tears when she told me about Jesus as my guide. Then, she offered me a prayer hoping I will get a job, and to help out with my family. The following day, I started to roam around looking for a job. After the interview, they will call me and I was expecting not to get hired by their company. I didn't even know where I was going at, so I followed the crowd, went to LRT Ayala Station, and saw this recruitment kiosk and a sign that says "ePerformax | BPO & Contact Center".

One example of their kiosks located on any MRT Station, but they gave a new look this time.

I approached the kiosk if they're still hiring. So I give myself a shot for a short interview. After the interview, he handed over his phone and the instructor over the phone gave me comprehension tests. It is very challenging since the environment around me is very noisy, so I have to listen attentively to the instructor. After that, I handed over the phone to the interviewer. I did everything I can to pass, If I pass then I'm hired, If not, then I guess I'll have to roam around the city again. As the recruiter drops his phone, he congratulated me. I was in shock, and his colleague handed over me an invitation to the Global Communications & Management Academy. I even shared my experiences of looking for a job, and I made a promise that I'll attend & commit myself to their training. The pastor's prayer worked. As I shook hands with the recruiter, walked away for a few steps, and I was in tears. While I was walking in the crowd, I plugged my earbuds, raised my hands, and started to play "I'm Forever Blowing Bubbles" on my phone, the theme song of West Ham United.

6 months (from July 2014 to December 2014) after visiting every office from Manila, Makati, Pasay, Quezon, and Las PiƱas to apply for being an I.T. expert, it would come to this even if it is not related to my course. But the truth hurts because they don't want to hire fresh graduates, and what they want is the one who has the experience in the field. I never got to say thanks to that pastor, but if she is reading this right now I would say thank you for paving the way for me. I am eternally grateful for what you've done to change my life.

And for the recruiters of ePerformax, thank you for giving me the opportunity to be trained and work for your company. It was a roller coaster ride from 2015 to 2019, until I decided to leave, but went back to the industry serving for a different company and when the pandemic breached in, I kept continuing my work until I left my previous company. This time, going full time on this platform. I'll never forget what the pastor mentioned on that day. As long as he will be the one to guide you for your future.

2
$ 0.62
$ 0.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for rapsantos
3 years ago

Comments