Why I oppose giving free food, My personal experience.

18 422
Avatar for ralak
Written by
4 years ago

I live in Karachi,Pakistan. My whole country was affected with war against terrorism aside of thousands of valuable life lost in this long war my country came into financial crises according to Tribune.pk by june 2020 40% population of Pakistan will be below poverty line which will be 100 million of people. The proportion of employed population below $1.90 purchasing power parity a day which is barely a one time meal a day. Many NGO's here provide the food for people but they are still not enough considering this large number of population surviving in a less than 1.90$ a day. But seeing this I strongly oppose to give people food for free, It will not do any good to them or to the world instead we are turning generations into beggars and soon as seeing the situation developing around the world this weight of free crowd will be unbearable and we all will be responsible for them, When we will leave them die in misery and hunger and they can't do anything for themselves because we will be the one who taught them that no matter what you do you will get free food.

I work as a Asst. General manager in a super store, I am responsible for every thing happens in the store, So let me share one incident with you to be clear . Our security team caught one family stealing from the store, It was clear they stole things and went outside the store without billing as a responsible person I was informed. Security team caught the family and interrogating about how much time before they did the same, I entered into the scene I was shock to see the thieves were a mother and her two children, Older girl was about 12 and her little brother was may be 9 years I asked security what they have stolen so they showed me some food items. It was saddest thing I saw in my life a mother who was not able to feed her children was stealing necessities for life obviously she had no choice left . So I asked her why she do it and she told me her sad story and along that she told me she and her children have not eaten from yesterday. It was like whole blood from my body is gone I was so sad about it that how I am here enjoying my life and people who live in my same city have to face this, So like a kind hearted person I asked security to not turn them to the Police and I told one of employee to take my card and let them shop necessities item of food and I let them go they were thankful but in situation like this I feel awkwards so I didn't knew what to do , any way they took my number and then left. They billed for about 150 $ which was good for month for them (I think so).

After two months later I got called from unknown number I picked it up and on other side their was lady she reminded me how I helped her and now I remembered her, I ask How I can help and she told me she and her child were in Police station because some other store turn them when they caught stealing and she was crying, I don't want to but my conscious made me to go and help her because of her children. So I went their . I have good terms with local authorities because of my social work no case was registered yet and store didn't bother to make any case against them, So I asked authorities to let them go as a favor for me and if they caught them again they can make them jail (obviously not kids) . So I took them from their and drop them to their house and on the way a 12 year old asked me if I can get something for them to eat and here I was again. But suddenly I have an idea I told them I will only buy them food if they do what I say later, These were exact words and I myself felt I sounded creepy later on, but they agreed. I get them some fast food and when I reached home I asked if I can come in and have a discussion and they agreed. The situation for them was they live in a house which rent was not paid for 6 months, Her mother was thrown out from the job 4 months ago and kids were not going school. They beg or steal for food. Mother was illiterate so she can't do anything else the girl left school when she was in 6 grade but she was so bright and can read and write. I ask mother if she can cook good and she said yes. So I told them that I will be back tomorrow I had an idea and want to try it. Next day I went to their house again this time I had a new smart phone along with me When I reach I told mother to go and buy groceries for local dishes which can be pack and sell easily so she went, Meanwhile I made a facebook page for lunch delivering service and taught girl that how to manage it mother was back and I ran a 10$ campaign for them and told them how to take orders and deliver. They were determine next day I got a call from them letting me know that they sold food of almost 30$ in which they had profit of 15$. I went to their house again and took mother to setup a bank account made their facebook ad account and told them how to run campaign obviously I set a campaign for them so they can just add budget and days to make them run. Now it's been almost 6 months kids are back to school mother is running business from home and they are doing pretty well with their life.

Thats my personal experience That's one of the reason I don't want to give people free food this will only make them useless and more to all people out their willing to help needy people, I invite them to make a platform where we can teach them how to earn food instead giving them. I am drafting an idea about it soon will share I don't know if it will work or not people will support it not . But I know one thing for sure I have this idea and want to play my part in it to make world more productive. People have choices they can do whatever they want I made mine and I am determined to do that. thank you

25
$ 13.51
$ 2.00 from @Read.Cash
$ 2.00 from @emergent_reasons
$ 2.00 from @molecular
+ 9
Sponsors of ralak
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ralak
Written by
4 years ago

Comments

Wow... Honestly I was touched by that. I quite subscribe to your idea. Giving people free food always will make them lazy and unproductive. It's not bad to give alms though but if it becomes a yardstick then it's terrible.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

I think during this Covid time you really have to give them free food. A lot of them cannot even work if they want to and I don't know how much your government is helping them out! After Covid is done with, I agree with you. You shouldn't but now I strongly feel you should.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Giving free food to people directly is the best thing. Jesu said feed the poor. And since he rose from the dead and is the son of God (this is not a literal son but part of whom God is ). I would listen to him. Corruption is always a problem in NGO, governments, gangs and some other groups. SO giving direct is best!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ralak, thank you for sharing this reality experience. "It is always good to teach people how to fish so that they can be self reliant". You did the best which I strongly supported. As soon as your project is up let us know on read.cash.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

me lahore se hu or me ne apne ghar me kaam kerne waali k 2 bacho ko wordpress /shopify ka frotend kaam sikhaya {anti jo ghar me kaam kerti thi un ki age bohat ziyada thi or un k 9 bache the un k saath baaki 2 bache bhi kabhi habhi kabhi hamare ghar kaam kerne aate the me unhe kaafi dafa jb mera dil kerta kabhi 200 ya 600 dono ko de daita laikin me ne socha aisay in ki gurbat khatam nhi hone waali me ne anti se request ki or kaha k me in he kaam sikhata hu ye online kamaye ge un ko yakeen na aya or kaha k in k abu ijazat nhi de ge un k abu se baat ki to aakhir kaar us k abu ne kaha theek hai me ne 2 laptop buy kiye second hand or 4 month me wordpress or shoipfy sikha diya ...me rozana k 3 hour daita tha or aakhir kaar jab un ko kaam aa gaya or 3 month k under un ka online kaam chal para un k ghar modem lagwaya taake un ko net bhi mile 3 month tk me hi net fees de raha tha ab un ka fiverr pr bohat acha kaam chal raha or yakeen maano aaj wo dono muj se ziyada kaam yaab hai

$ 1.05
4 years ago

Great! english me likh laita angraizo ko bhi samjhana hai ;)

$ 0.01
4 years ago

hahaha agli dafa english me comnt karu ga tu translate ker de agar tere paas time hai yr pls

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Translation: I am from lahore and I taught two sons of my maid wordpress and shopify frontend developing , The maid which is working at my house is older in age and she have 9 and two were under 18 kids so their kids come to our house some time with her so I taught them and I let them work some time I pay 2 or 4$ for their work , Then I thought this way they can not get out of poverty so I asked their mother to let me teach them how to work online, It was obvious they didn't knew it was a thing so she got scared and said their father wont allow so I asked their father to let them work So I bought them second hand laptop and taught them to work on fiverr its been more then year and now both brother earning better than me and their family problems are solved.

$ 0.51
4 years ago

thanks bro

$ 0.00
4 years ago

One big problem with the NGOs bringing in so much food to these countries is it destroys the local markets for food. The locals can't compete when free food is given away so the local businesses end up going bankrupt.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

my man

$ 0.00
4 years ago

thx

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yes ! a better way for charity - work for food in return, eg can mobilize them to build something for the community's good then in reward pay them labour as in food. Then they learn not to be spoon-fed which is better in long run

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not everyone is as kind as you. I am from Pakistan also but have spent most of my life in middle east. I have not seen any of such instances but I hear keep myself updated with the situations in Pakistan. Allah ap ko ajar dey

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a great work. It makes people productive and more motivated

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! I admire you so much. You are right if you keep giving them food you are helping them to be lazy for all of their lives. You thought them how to earn money to buy food instead. That was a great idea, charity should be like this so they will also learn and will not depend on charity again in the future..

$ 0.00
3 years ago