Read.cash, SEO and User abuse.

16 257
Avatar for ralak
Written by
4 years ago

When ever community comes together they make something beautiful, Hence BCH community started on this platform "Read.cash" which made this unique in many ways the obvious marvel is this platform is making bridge between content creators and readers which results in idealist supporting content makers to make this community more strong by tip system.

I am doing digital market since 2007 and I was amazed by results of this platform, yesterday I wrote an article "SLP Tokens guide for beginners" and for my marketing curiosity I decided to check how it goes in Search engine and in just 7 hours I was amazed to see my article going top in the main keywords which returns with  644,000 results in google and surpassing simpleledger.cash main website for SLP.

Being digital marketer I know how amazing this would be helpful in SEO as in that article I put a "do follow" link of news.bitcoin.com this site itself don't need any SEO but then I thought if I would put some new website link in my this article. It would be so helpful and easy for that "new website" to get rank in any specific keywords as read.cash article got a top position in keyword "slp tokens guide for beginners" .

This lead me to look more into it that how is read.cash is actually doing. So I check this site for domain authority.

it was good to see in only 4 month time this website got 38 of Domain rating which will surely increase to much higher and making it one of the most authority domain in community. The most amazing data I got was linking websites almost 1000 websites and backlinks almost 45 k. I believe this website read.cash didn't put any efforts on its SEO and all this occurs naturally in 4 month time .

But great things like this platform are more likely to get misused by users who can ruin a platform for earning little cash in form of tips they are likely to spam some engage platforms to make their article reach more in order to get more tip. So for that I used another leading tool to check how it was doing in spam score.

So here we go 12% spam score which is not good for a website. Below 5% spam score is good as platform is now multiplying it users every day, I am afraid it will get abused by users and will lead into get banning from social medias and other engaging platforms because of spamming and also it will decrease in google rankings.

The other thing I am concern about is Plagiarism on this platform I found many articles just being copy and pasted from other websites. As I am sure none of us like plagiarism so do search engines. Which lead search engines to consider a website plagiarized site and making it down to the bottom of search results .

As I said this platform is doing great and be used in many different ways such as taking help of your site rankings to get ranked. which is ok thing to do but these user abused should be consider seriously in order to make this platform bigger than others. I personally believe this platform is able to be one of biggest stakeholder in BCH Adoption and can spread world wide and we can see this by noticing massive users coming here for incentives and ending up using BCH .

Thank you.

Sponsors of ralak
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 11.37
$ 10.00 from @Read.Cash
$ 1.00 from @DrNums
$ 0.10 from @SatoshisToothbrush
+ 4
Avatar for ralak
Written by
4 years ago

Comments

I don't think that re-posting own articles is considered plagiarism.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

When I said "reposting own articles" ? its about copying other articles and posting it here I dont want to mention such article so I didn't. beside this posting same article posting on different platform consider as plagiarized in search engine but this is an other debate .

$ 0.00
4 years ago

The word "plagiarized" is usually meant to describe copying other people's writings as if they were your own. Publishing your own writings to more than one location would be something search engines would want to filter out, but, do they really call it Plagiarism?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

No, not really. They call it using a more generic term "duplicate content".

$ 0.01
4 years ago

Aha! Well, I didn't know there are still people who think that will work. I know that many people repost on different places, Medium, Steemit, other websites similar. I am not sure how the search engine see that, I think that maybe the first published has a priority in top results.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

The first get ranked have priority

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yes that could be a problem where a copy gets ranked faster because of the better seo, metatags and who knows what... you know, this is very interesting, maybe you could cover that in next article, I am really interested to know more about it.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Sure I think I should start a series of how to do marketing here it can beneficial for community to . Thanks for great idea

$ 0.00
4 years ago

You are very welcome. I am looking forward to your next post.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Hi!

You are correct that this all happened "organically", i.e. we didn't do any backlinking or anything like that.

We do thoroughly enjoy each of the 26 visitors that Google sends us every day, but frankly if Google bans us tomorrow - we wouldn't be too sad, as it accounts for about 1% of our traffic.

See here. 1.7% is overestimated. It's less than that.

The fact that you're seeing some higher results is due to the fact that recent IFP drama means that we have (temporarily) some close to front page links from sites like bitcoin.com - it'll cool off in a few days and Reddit will be on top of read.cash back soon.

Our site, like many-many others is considered "new" and Google doesn't like new sites, unless they are some insta-sensation, otherwise you have to wait years to get any good traffic from Google and then it'll just slap some of it's results on top of yours and be done with it (ask TripAdvisor how they're doing in this area or phone makers). And this trend only increases. Google doesn't want to send you clicks.

So, basically our strategy is "we don't care too much about it". To deter spammers all our outbound links from everywhere are "nofollow", which makes them worthless for SEO spammers. We also sometimes remove complete accounts of people who engage in copy-pasting from obvious news sources. We can also apply "noindex nofollow" to an article or even to the whole account with all of the articles. We have some competence in the SEO area ;) we also know enough to not rely on it. One day you're the king of Google, the next day your daily revenue is down 90% - it's a suicide strategy.

At the same time we've added some reasonable amount of search-engine-friendliness to read.cash (some basic stuff like titles, h1, h2, etc...) We're not bowing to the all-mighty Google, but we aren't fighting it either.

$ 0.05
4 years ago

I also tried and ran paid promotions of this site on social media few weeks back and targeting australians users. The results were pretty interesting though it was on small scale. As I said their are more benefits taken by this platform beside tips.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Very interesting indeed and measures you are taking for this I or any one else never known this if you did not commented this. But let me assure you one thing you are getting like 4% of your traffic right now from google which will be increasing in next few months and believe me these multiply of user numbers is a view like you witness a miracle. About IFP drama or I say it event blogging is doing some classic benefit for your site which will be seen in long run . seeing analytics and reading your comment I have now no doubt that by the end of this year this website will be one of top website known for crypto discussion. Their was a need of such platform and you provided it so their will be time when you will sit and eat ripe fruit of this tree. Best of luck for that.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

It might be, might be not :) We have enough of the experience in the SEO industry to not rely on SEO :) If Google adds us users - great. If it bans us - we won't be crying :)

Best of luck for that.

Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

With that thought I would love to see adsense / adword like program on blockchain . :)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I don't think it makes much sense to do it completely on-chain (you'll need to record billions of events to the blockchain). Do it with only money on-chain - that's been done - https://bitmedia.io/ https://coinad.com/ and some other sites.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

ya with money I use them :) .

$ 0.00
4 years ago