In the heat of the fireplace

2 15
Avatar for purrix.es.mi.nombre
2 years ago
Topics: Experiencies, Family, Life, Travel, Love, ...

These are the times we look forward to in our family when the week is flexible.

My sister has a cottage in La Colonia Tovar, Venezuela. This place is almost two hours from Caracas.

When we go to spend a weekend there, we tell the family that takes care of the house and keeps it clean and they, depending on the time of our arrival, if it is in the afternoon, for example, they light the fire in the fireplace, because the cold there is very strong.

We have the habit of leaving Caracas in the morning towards La Colonia, but there are times when, for work reasons, it is difficult for us and we leave it for the afternoon, although we do not like it very much, because the thick fog on the road makes visibility difficult and it is not safe to drive like this.

There are parts of the road, where there is no fog, but this is not usual.

The ride is absolutely relaxing, even more so for those of us who are enjoying the scenery and are not preoccupied with driving. When we go to La Colonia, we usually take only one car, that is, a 4x4 pickup truck, because, once we pass the town and head to our cottage, the road is very bumpy, full of deep potholes and a small car could get stuck.

But it is delightful to ride in the back of the car, breathing fresh air, recharging our lungs and soul with good energy, peace and calm. So necessary these days, when the confinement of quarantine has caused so much havoc.

For those who do not know, La Colonia Tovar is a town founded in 1843 by German immigrants. Many of the Germans who live in the town call it "the German town of Venezuela".

These photographs represent part of the village. A place full of colors, friendly people, handicrafts and a good vibe that you can breathe as soon as you get to town.

This town has a cold climate, even though a bright sun is illuminating the sky. The "tovareños" (this is the name given to the inhabitants of the town), live basically from agriculture. Tomatoes, strawberries, peaches, carrots and potatoes, among others, are easily harvested. The photos of these crops, I owe you, because h the pandemic theme, we do not stop on the road, but opt to go straight to the cottage.

And like every town in Venezuela, in every corner of the country, no matter how remote and remote it may be, there is always a central square and a church. Of course, La Colonia Tovar is not isolated from this theme.

Here is big Max, our little dog, who loves to lean out of the window, so the cold air can play with his little face.

Finally, after crossing the entire town, we arrived at our delightful destination. This is how we found it, with its little lights on, the fire in the fireplace, giving us a warm and cordial welcome.

After a delicious, but light dinner, a nice cup of steaming hot chocolate, some TV time and after brushing our teeth, we went one by one to my sister's room and climbed into bed, in the best Julie Andrews style, in "The Sound of Music", when Captain Von Trapp's children go to Fräulein Maria's room.

After a good while there, while we were telling ghost stories, sleep began to take hold of us, so we decided to each go to our rooms to sleep.

A deep and restful sleep, so necessary after a hectic few days.

When I went downstairs, my sister had already made coffee and was outside enjoying the calmness that the landscape gives us.

And here is my beloved son, posing for the camera of his beloved godmother (my sister) and mine. The poor boy, he couldn't find anywhere to look😂.

Little by little, my sister's and my son's children are waking up and coming down the stairs to the kitchen. And so with a warm embrace, our mornings are given. In this photo, my sister, her youngest son and my youngest son. The hugs are genuine, sincere and loving.

Here are my sister and my son. She has been like a mother to me, always. She spoiled me as a child and now she spoils my son.

She, Aida, is a warrior, a winner, an example of struggle and triumph. She has managed to beat grade 3 breast cancer twice. Now she is in the process of recovery and reconstruction.

I am very proud of her, I love her with my soul and I admire her intensely. She is simply a beautiful woman. She is a great woman.

This is how we spend our days off. In another post, I promise to share more with you, our beautiful Venezuelan landscapes.

If there is anyone grateful and proud to belong to a family like the one I have, it is me. I am definitely lucky.

Thanks for visiting me

2
$ 2.21
$ 2.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.05 from @antoniarhuiz
Avatar for purrix.es.mi.nombre
2 years ago
Topics: Experiencies, Family, Life, Travel, Love, ...

Comments

Colonia Tovar is beautiful. Once we were caught in a heavy rain that left a very thick fog that we had to wait a long time to be able to follow the road.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So beautiful, sweety! Thanks for visit me!

$ 0.00
2 years ago