Will read.cash users get Bitcoin ABC?

14 19
Avatar for potta
Written by
3 years ago

So come November 15, it looks like the Bitcoin ABC will fork out of the main Bitcoin Cash project and although I haven't followed too much on this issue, it seems like there is a controversy over Bitcoin ABC keeping 8% of the block rewards from the Infrastructure Funding Plan (IFP) for themselves, whether it's the head of the project Amaury Sechet or for the whole project itself I am not sure but the point of this post was not to go into the politics of the Bitcoin Cash or the Bitcoin ABC debate but this is mainly from the point of view of benefit for the end users. The main question I am trying to get an answer for is:

Will current read.cash users get the Bitcoin ABC forks in their read.cash wallets or do they have to move their BCH into a wallet which would be supported by Bitcoin ABC?

If the answer is the latter, I would very much like to know where to send my BCH to so I can take advantage of the free airdrop that I am going to get.

If you have any insight into this, please let me know!

5
$ 0.00
Sponsors of potta
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for potta
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Your keys, your coins. On read.cash, your keys are in your browser, and it is your right and responsibility to control them. After the fork, your keys will control the tokens on both forks, but the read.cash wallet will only record and intentionally control the no-IFP tokens. In order to access the ABC tokens, you would need to get an ABC wallet and import your keys into it. You need to do a lot of reading before you attempt this, because there is risk involved. For instance, if you get a scam wallet, it might steal your keys and use them to steal your no-IFP tokens and your ABC tokens all at the same time. On the other hand, if you send coins from either wallet to a third party, the transaction might be "replayed" causing the tokens on the other chain to be sent to the same address as well. That having been said, regarding controlling your keys, please start by reviewing these two articles:

https://read.cash/@Read.Cash/a-new-way-to-backup-your-wallet-590b7a2c

https://read.cash/@Read.Cash/is-your-money-safe-9f620e97

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is very helpful, thank you! Do you by chance know if the Ledger will support the ABC fork if I hold BCH in my Ledger?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That would be a question for ledger. I do know that hardware wallets tend to take their time to support things, but to that end, they could continue to follow ABC as opposed to no-IFP to begin with.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow.. That's a good news. Dunno It's gonna happen or not😪

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So does that mean my read.cash wallet will have BTC ABC and BCH?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

need to wait for read.cash clarification, and I suppose they will definitely clarify as the day approaches

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I saw an answer somewhere that they were probably sticking with BCH.
There is a story here somewhere, I forgot where I read it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, so the Bitcoin ABC fork is not happening and users are not getting the airdrop?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I read here somewhere that the fork is on, but the real problem is there is no wallet for abc. If you want abc you need to run an abc node.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well as long as the airdrop is done, the BTC ABC will appear after the wallet supports it right? For instance as soon as my ledger pushes an update, I will see my BTC ABC in my ledger.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wish it were that simple. Personally not liking this fork at all. Anyway you should wait for a wallet which effectively supports ABC

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If ABC gets a wallet I guess,
but here we get outside my guesstimation comfort zone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago