How to scan QR code to receive BCH?

10 58
Avatar for potta
Written by
4 years ago

This is more of a question than an article but this may help the others on read.cash as well. I have seen in some conferences where Roger Ver shows us the QR code and whoever scans it gets $5 in BCH. I tried to find a QR code reader in the Bitcoin.com wallet app but I only see it for Send but don't see it for Receive. Does anyone know how to receive BCH from the Bitcoin.app wallet app. If someone shows me a QR code, how can I scan them to get funds into my wallet?

Thanks in advance!

0
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Omar
Sponsors of potta
empty
empty
empty

Comments

This QR code is a private key. It's kind of like that "seed phrase" that we ask you to write down. Roger created a new wallet (which is protected by this private key) and then offered people to scan this private key. The function that does this is called something like "Sweep paper wallet" or similarly. I think they removed it from bitcoin.com wallet at some point, but then I think they returned it. I'm not 100% sure about that.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

This makes sense. Thanks for the clarification. It is back in there now!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Does QR code scaning works on read.cash ? I pretty interested that could I withdraw BCH by this code. Waiting for more posts !

$ 0.00
4 years ago

good luck, I don't think that's a good idea but that's just my opinion, best regards

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I don’t understand. Why not?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

In the Bitcoin.com mobile wallet, go to settings, the second option will be "Sweep Paper Wallet".
Just choose that and the camera will open to scan the QR code.
Hope this helps!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Found it! Thank you!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

good luck, I don't think that's a good idea but that's just my opinion, best regards

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I request from my side not to follow such thing. Who knows what may happen after you did it. Better be careful about it

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I don’t think there’s an issue scanning it. If it’s there it’s meant for a purpose which is not a bad purpose.

$ 0.00
4 years ago