Emergency Room Night(mare)

2 12
Avatar for paddy50
3 years ago
Topics: Blog

I was writhing in agony like a critter that had been run over. It just wouldn't let up and got worse and worse. It was the worst acute pain that I've ever experienced and was like that all night long without so much as a second's relief.

I grabbed a bottle of water before I left the house and headed for the ER just after midnight. I took the water with me because I was thirsty but in too much pain to drink it. Anyhow, at the ER they said I couldn't have it and took it away from me. I'll explain later why I mentioned this.

Being that I was in so much pain it seemed like I was there forever and I asked for something to ease the pain. The doctor refused and ordered a battery of blood tests to be done first. Sometime around 4:30 am the drug screen finally came back which I tested negative for everything. The doctor seemed annoyed but reluctantly ordered something for the pain but I was hurting so much that the medications didn't give me any relief at all.

I eventually asked for a second time if I could have more pain medication and the doctor told me that I wasn't getting anything else and to, "Suck it up and deal with it!" He actually insinuated that I was there to get high on pain meds! What a jerk! I told him do I look like I am having a good time here? I called him an asshole and rightly so.

I also had called the night shift nurse over and over all night but was completely ignored. She absolutely would not come to the room to see about me. It was if they just shut the door and pretended I didn't exist all night long. Even during the middle of the night bloodwork nurse accidentally spilled the urinal bottle in the floor and I heard her tell my nurse about in the hallway as she left the room. Even then the nurse never came in to do anything about it or even see about me. I eventually cleaned it up myself sometime after sunrise.

The next morning after shift change the daytime nurse (who was wonderful) came in and saw that I was shivering. She stepped outside of my door and I saw her open the blanket warmer cabinet which was literally just outside my door. I had been using my gown for a blanket all night and warm blankets were right there! She was very kind and turned off the light that had also been shining in my face all night. She said you haven't had any vitals taken since when you first got here last nigh and took my blood pressure, pulse, and oxygen levels. She also reattached the monitor that had been beeping non-stop all night long. I thanked her for her kindness.

The day shift doctor also came to see me around 10 am and told me that he felt like I had suffered a gallbladder attack and that I needed to have a follow up with their surgeon to discuss it. He said there really was nothing that could be done other than for me to go on a clear liquids diet and to try to not have another gallbladder attack until my surgery. By the way, at the time of this writing, it has been a coupe of weeks now and I am still waiting for my appointment with the surgeon.

The night shift doctor and nurse completely ignored me all night. It was absolutely shameful how I was treated. It was like they just didn't care at all. On top of that, they were nasty to me in the way I was talked to and treated. In his report, the night shift ER doctor said that I was not under any acute distress and that I continuously asked for pain meds over and over and that I also called him an asshole for being refused any medication. I asked for pain medication twice all night. He's not only a jerk but also a liar! If I was not under acute distress then I don't know what acute distress is because I moaned and groaned and twisted in agony all night long. I've never been treated with such disrespect. It was like maybe they were wishing I would just die so they could write me off as a bogus covid death for their bonus government subsidy.

When I was discharged I drank my bottle of water that was given back to me. I immediately got nauseas and threw up. When I did throw up it was as if someone shut the pain off just like flipping a light switch! I was instantly without pain! I was exhausted and went home and went to bed but I was finally pain free!

Why didn't someone just check my stomach in the first place? I know this sounds yucky but my stomach was plugged with a piece of meat or something and as soon as that plug was removed I was instantly all better. I had the cure with me the whole time and it was a $1 bottle of water! I sure wish I would have just drank some water instead of going to the emergency room. I'd rather die than go back there again.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for paddy50
3 years ago
Topics: Blog

Comments

It's just sad to know that in today's time someone out there is taking advantage of others weakest time.. that's why most of us doesn't bother to go for a check-up due to some illness but rather do some home remedy than be diagnosed with covid which isn't even related to someone's supposed diagnosis.. But your case is different which you described clearly, it does need immediate intervention yet those night shift doctor and nurse ignored. Hoping you're doing fine now and tried herbal remedies to cleanse your gallbladder within that 2 weeks time that you're waiting for your appointment with your doctor

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Things have been rough up until the last few days but I’m starting to feel so much better and especially so since the sun has come out and I’ve been soaking up the sunshine. I have done a lot of cleansing too. I’m feeling way better. Thank you again. Oh, and yes, they wanted to test me for COVID and all but I refused. Maybe that’s why they treated me like they did because when I first got there it was all about COVID and I refused the test and told them I have no symptoms of COVID at all and please stop with the COVID and fix my belly!

$ 0.00
3 years ago