Songs that sound similar

1 44
Avatar for onlymythoughts
2 years ago
Topics: Music, 80's, Disco, Similar, Dance, ...

I am writing this article in response to the writing prompt 'similarities' by @JonicaBradley and thought I would write about some songs which sound to me quite similar.

I thought this would be a bit of a fun thing to do. I am sure there must be many more similar sounding songs than I have listed here.

The first single I want to share is a hit from 1986 by Greggory Abbott called 'Shake you down'. I have posted the video down below.

If you take a listen I am sure that you will notice it sounds remarkably like 'Cherish' by Kool and the gang which also came out around a year earlier in 1985 before 'Shake you down' was released. I really liked both songs at the time, maybe that is why I noticed the similarity.

Kool and the gang had some huge disco hits in the 80's and I especially remember 'Cherish' though as it was a love song which was always played towards the end of the night way back in the day.

I have posted the song 'Cherish' by Kool and the gang below if you would like to check that out too.

Another example of songs that sound very similar is the song 'If I could read your mind' by Gordon Lightfoot which was released in 1971 and 'The greatest love of all by Whitney Houston which was released in 1986.

Both songs I think are classics in their own special way, they sure do sound similar though.

This was noticed by Gordon Lightfoot and he even tried to sue Whitney Houston for plagiarism though he eventually dropped the case, he says out of respect for Whitney.

You can read more about this here.

https://www.mprnews.org/amp/story/2016/06/02/whitey-houston-number-one-30-years-ago

I have found a clip on YouTube of a section the two songs back to back which is posted below. Have a listen and see what you think.

Another recent hit single by Ed Sheeran called 'Shape of you' which was released in 2017 sounds very similar to TLC's single 'No scrubs' which was released in 1999.

Here is a mix of the two songs side by so you can take a listen.

Ed Sheeran eventually credited TLC on his single 'Shape of you' but interestingly TLC have said that they can't see any similarity.

You can read more about this here.

https://flow935.com/2017/07/03/tlc-says-they-dont-hear-shape-of-youno-scrubs-similarties/#

I don't know if any of these have been intentional or not and with the amount of music that is produced these days some songs are bound to sound similar.

The best one I have found though has to be this mashup of Ed Sheerans song 'Dive' with Ariana Grande's 'Dangerous Woman' Ariana sings accapella to the Instrumental version of Ed Sheerans 'Dive' and it works perfectly!

Check out the Ed and Ariana mashup below.

Here are just a few of the songs I know of which sound similar.

I would be interested to hear if you can think of any more, if you can then post in the comments below.

I hope you enjoyed my article, you can read some more of mine here.

https://read.cash/@onlymythoughts

Lead image: Pixabay

Videos: YouTube

4
$ 1.08
$ 0.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 1
Sponsors of onlymythoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for onlymythoughts
2 years ago
Topics: Music, 80's, Disco, Similar, Dance, ...

Comments

Seems like lots of songs before have the same tune as the songs that artist release right now, they can't avoid it but if they found similarities in tune then they must put credentials on the original owner of the tune. Anyway, i love Ole songs but I prefer those rock types, like songs of Queen, Bon Jovi, Boni Tyler and Filipino rock band during 1990s.

$ 0.02
2 years ago