My first BCH purchases

5 57
Avatar for onlymythoughts
2 years ago
Topics: BCH, Shopping, Finance, Coffee, Honey, ...

I have been interested in cryptocurrencies since 2017 when I bought my first Bitcoin. There is so much to learn but I found it really interesting.

Before the price of Bitcoin took off wildly the transactions were fast and cheap too, it seemed like the perfect way to buy and sell goods without the need for an intermediary.

Bitcoin has a flaw though, the block size is small and some believe that it is being kept small deliberately in order that solutions such as the lightning network will be needed in order to make Bitcoin usable for every day transactions for example buying a cup of coffee.

The lightning network goes against the fundamental principles of why Bitcoin was created. In order to use it and avoid large fees when you open and close a payment channel you will need to use a custodial wallet and verify your account with your identity documents!

To use Lightning Network cheaply you will need to verify your id via a custodial wallet source: pixabay

In other words you will need to use a 'Middleman' to spend your Bitcoin cheaply!

Bitcoin Cash (BCH) is a 'fork' of the original Bitcoin but many believe that BCH is more in line with the vision of 'Satoshi Nakamoto' the anonymous creator of Bitcoin.

BCH has a larger block size, it is able to scale, transactions are faster and also much cheaper.

I decided that I would put some of my BCH to good use and buy some things online, BCH is designed for that purpose!

I wanted to support the adoption of BCH as a payment method and was pleased to find that I could buy some freshly ground coffee easily by using BCH!

The website is called 'whiterosecoffeeroasters' and here is a link to their website if you want to give it a try yourself.

https://whiterosecoffeeroasters.co.uk/

The website had a BCH logo alongside Visa, Mastercard and PayPal. Perfect! I love coffee and I could pay with BCH too.

Screenshot of payment methods source: whiterosecoffeeroasters website

I added some coffee to my basket and proceeded to the checkout just like I would with any other website. I clicked on the pay by BCH icon and a window opened and gave me an address to send my payment to.

I clicked there and it opened my BCH wallet with the amount to send filled in. I just had to type in my password to confirm the transaction then the coins were sent.

Within minutes I recieved an email confirming my purchase! It all worked seamlessly.

A few days later and the coffee arrived at my door just as promised.

The coffee tastes good and the experience of using BCH has made me keen to find more places to spend it.

Last week I found another place to buy something else I really enjoy.

The well known beekeeper on Noise Cash has his own website and accepts BCH for payment for Honey and Beeswax candles.

Hand crafted beeswax candles source: Crew Honey website

I really like honey and the candles look wonderful too.

I was fascinated by the pictures and beekeeping stories that James shares on his page you can check out his channel here.

https://noise.cash/c/james-bees-9xl07041

James clearly has a passion for beekeeping and its great that he can share this with us all on Noise Cash.

Better still that he is doing his part to encourage the use of BCH as a payment method.

I ordered some Honey and a couple of the hand crafted beeswax candles.

I love the sweet aroma that these candles have when they are burning, such a calming and soothing natural scent.

I added them to my basket, went to the payment screen, selected BCH as my payment method and clicked on the link and it opened my BCH wallet, filled out the address and the payment amount, then I just had to confirm the payment and a few seconds later it went through.

So easy to do! My honey and candles all arrived a few days later as promised.

I am pleased that I have been able to do a bit to encourge the adoption of BCH and happy to see a growing number of businesses accepting BCH as payment.

You can check out the 'Crewe Honey' website here if you wish to purchase some yourself.

https://crewehoney.com/

Fine freshly ground coffee with toast and some delicious honey for breakfast, perfect!

I hope you enjoyed reading.

Check out my channel and other articles here.

https://read.cash/@onlymythoughts

This is my own article and honest review of my experience of using BCH to purchase goods online.

I am writing for no reward or payment of any kind.

Pictures are from pixabay are captioned as such others are credited to the source.

5
$ 4.35
$ 4.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
Sponsors of onlymythoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for onlymythoughts
2 years ago
Topics: BCH, Shopping, Finance, Coffee, Honey, ...

Comments

Aww, such a wonderful story. I bought my first BCH too in 2018, but then withdrew it all after 2 months when the BCH went down. I didn't know then that they can be used to purchase goods. I only trade and always checking the graphs. But then I had some money put on Ethereum, I guess 500 Pesos only, and transferred it to Binance. Then forget it, all about cryptocurrency until I joined Noise Cash last week and open again my CoinsPh wallet. I then remember my money in Binance, it's good, I kept my Password. So upon opening it, I was surprised, that my 500 Pesos which was more or less $10 at that time became $59. It was a little amount but I'm already happy. My happiness is indescribable, how much more if I've put all the money that I withdrew, that 35 thousand Pesos. I think 1 Ethereum at that time was only 7 thousand Pesos. Now it's almost 200 thousand. It would have been 1.4 Million Pesos by now. So the lesson here is, be patient and wait.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Be patient and wait is not a bad strategy, but to spend a little too from time to time feels good too. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so cool that you are making purchases with your BCH.

I have seen James' products in Noise. I told him once that I would buy some things from him if international shipping weren't so expensive. Nice to know that he has a website and accepts BCH.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

International shipping yes that can be expensive, unless you order loads to make it worthwhile lol, I guess if you ever get a chance to visit the UK then you can order some. When travel gets easier and all that. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope for that! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago