Minting my first NFT's for free

6 101
Avatar for onlymythoughts
2 years ago
Topics: Tech, Crypto, Polygon, Art, NFT, ...

3rd Feb 2022

To be honest with you, I had heard a lot about NFT's and heard that some of them can sell for huge prices, but I didn't really understand what they were until a few days ago when I minted my first NFT's on the Polygon blockchain for free!

An NFT is basically digital art, and can be a picture, painting, video or music which is unique as it has its own digital signature.

People may be able to copy the artwork itself but its digital signature of authenticity gives it the value.

I read up a little bit about how to create my own NFT and actually found it was much easier than I thought.

The thing that was stopping me from making my own NFT was that in order to create one you generally need a fair amount of Ethereum in your wallet as when you mint the NFT's you need to pay 'gas fees' which can be quite a lot. In order to make any money you would need to be able to sell your digital art for a good price.

A picture of my NFT, to own a unique copy of this you can purchase the NFT for yourself via the link in this article

This is where Polygon comes into its own! Polygon is a second layer solution which is built on top of Ethereum and can enable you to mint your own NFT's for zero fees. They take a service charge of 2.5% when your NFT is sold which is taken from the total value so there is no cost to you.

I created my NFT using 'Trust Wallet'. If you want to make absolutely sure that there is no cost to yourself you can create a new wallet which you can use solely for your NFT's.

I found this great video which explains the process in a step by step way, check it out. The process is relatively straight forward and can be done using Trust Wallet and a Dapp called 'OpenSea'.

Basically the important thing to remember is to make sure you select the 'Polygon' network, then follow the instructions, set your price and hope for the best.

It is also possible when creating your NFT's to add a 'Royalty fee'.

I have set mine at 10% which means every time my NFT is sold on I will receive a 10% cut! Not bad I think.

Anyway I have produced 2 NFT's so far and my collection is called 'onlymythoughts' after my read.cash channel.

They are each priced at 0.0025 ETH which is around $7 usd at todays prices.

Don't ask me why but when the NFT's are sold you receive your money in Ethereum, the buyer pays and gas fees required to make the purchase so there is no risk to yourself.

Don't forget to add your payment address when creating your NFT so that you can receive your reward when your digital art is sold.

Anyway finally I include a link to my NFT collection, which I will update from time to time.

They are my own photos, it is important when minting NFT's to make sure you use your own material.

https://opensea.io/collection/onlymythoughts

These are my first 2 NFT's ever so why not snap them up at a good price while you can before I make it big!

I can only hope..

If you made it to here thank you for reading, if you wish you can check out some of my other articles here.

https://read.cash/@onlymythoughts

Article is my own

Pictures: My own original content

Video: YouTube

6
$ 6.90
$ 6.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
$ 0.01 from @SolarPhasing
Sponsors of onlymythoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for onlymythoughts
2 years ago
Topics: Tech, Crypto, Polygon, Art, NFT, ...

Comments

How much it cost you to mint over Poly? :0)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely free!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ok, get it. In the video. Thanks! :0) I had read the article but not yet seen the video.. Looks like as a music artist I can select a mp3 file to mint too?!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think so, yes gotta be worth a try, you never know. 🎧😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Great job! I hope your NFT’s will do well :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Its sure worth a try. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago