2 weeks on my guitar

6 61
Avatar for onlymythoughts
1 year ago
Topics: Music, Guitar, Hobbies, Learning, Fun, ...

4th May 2022

2 weeks ago I bought my first ever six string acoustic guitar. I have always wanted to learn the guitar and have tried a couple of times before, but my fingers hurt so much from holding down the frets that I gave up.

I never have had my own guitar before but after visiting a friends house and having a little go of his guitar, I decided that I would buy one for myself.

My guitar is by no means top of the range, its a 'Tanglewood' guitar, designed in the UK, handcrafted in China. I got it from a music shop and to me it sounds pretty good, I am just learning after all.

I have added a picture of my 'Tanglewood' guitar below.

My first ever guitar, made by 'Tanglewood'

I am very pleased with my purchase which for £99 has given me much enjoyment over the last 2 weeks.

I have found an app to help me get my guitar in tune, and found some wonderful resources on YouTube to help me learn. I have played my guitar every day since I bought it and my left hand has built up some tough skin on the fingertips so it does not hurt so much to play now.

I have learnt some of the most popular chords G, E minor, D, A and A minor, C and F and have tried learning a few of my favourite songs, many of which use these chords.

I have found 'Marty Schwartz' beginners lessons very helpful, he makes the tutorial fun and easy to follow too.

Some of the first tunes I have tried to play are 'Knocking on heavens door' by Bob Dylan, 'Wonderwall' by Oasis and 'Country roads' by John Denver.

I have a bit of a way to go on these songs but they are coming along nicely and I am really enjoying playing the guitar now.

Years ago we didn't have 'YouTube' and guitar tuning apps, so if you wanted to learn you had to take private lessons and sometimes the lessons would not be enjoyable.

Now I have my own guitar and some great online resources to help me learn I am determined to keep it up and learn more and more.

If you are interested I have posted a few video tutorials which I found helpful for the 3 songs that I am learning below.

'Knocking on heavens door' by Bob Dylan tutorial video by Marty Schwartz.

This is the first song I learnt, it's not too diffucult, but I am still working on it.

The second song I have been working on is 'Wonderwall' by Oasis, this version is slightly different from the record but still sounds good.

'Wonderwall' by Oasis tutorial video by Lee John Blackmore.

The final song is 'Country roads' by John Denver, I love this song and have always wanted to play it. I found this tutorial by very helpful.

'Country roads' by John Denver video tutorial by David Pots.

I am so glad I have started enjoying my guitar playing, one day I hope to have many songs in my repertoire, maybe one day I could even write my own song!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed this article, if you are interested you can check out some of my other articles here.

https://read.cash/@onlymythoughts

Article is my own

Lead Image: Courtesy of Pixabay

Article guitar picture: My Own

Videos: YouTube

6
$ 1.02
$ 0.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
+ 1
Sponsors of onlymythoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for onlymythoughts
1 year ago
Topics: Music, Guitar, Hobbies, Learning, Fun, ...

Comments

I also played guitar when I was a kid but after so many years , I don't know if I can still know to play it hehe. But as a piece of advice, you should first learn this basic keys and techniques so it will become easy for you to play a song.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks, I will keep working at it!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You shouldn't be in a rush to play the song. First you have to learn the right techniques. Especially when pressing the strings, you need to get the technique right. Do lots of finger exercises. This can be more difficult to fix if you use the technique incorrectly. It won't be difficult to play a song once you get the technique right.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you for the advice, might be good to get all my chord shapes right and keep practicing those, even without strumming just practice the shapes while chilling in the lounge.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had a guitar when I was a child. I played with her all day even though I didn't know the musical notes. I'm glad to meet you onlymythoughts !

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes I like the idea that I can take my guitar anywhere, on holiday for example, its a lot lighter than a piano. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago