Bible and the Law of Attraction

0 39
Avatar for oivas
Written by
3 years ago

Law of Attraction

The first book from Esther and Jerry Hicks’ that I read was “Money and the Law of Attraction.” For those who are unaware of Esther and Jerry Hicks, they were one of the first to bring the concept of Law of Attraction (LoA) to the fore. Of course, other teachers like Seth spoke about LoA even before Esther and Jerry, but social media allowed the latter to disseminate the concept much farther.

Okay, now coming back to the book that I was reading – why did I buy it? Easy to guess. It was for the money part of the book. Around then, I wasn’t aware of the LoA yet. But as I started reading the book, my focus shifted from money to the LoA. The reason was obvious, as the money or any other blessing came in response to how open we were in believing what we asked for, which meant that money and anything that I truly desired and believed in, will have to fructify.

I am sure you all have heard about the Law of Attraction, and we, too, discussed it in a few of my previous articles. Now, let’s get on with what we intend to achieve in this article – a comparison with the Bible.

Why the Comparison with the Bible?

Well, brought up as a Christian, I found it difficult to believe concepts that went too far from what I had read in the Bible. So, when the LoA concept was first presented to me in the above-said book, I was skeptical. I did read but could not trust what I was reading until I came across some of the book's teachings. What were those teachings?

The teachings seemed to rhyme with the Bible, and that was my first acceptance of the LoA. As I read more, numerous concepts were aligned with what was said in the Bible. That helped me trust the teachings. In fact, it helped me understand a few of the things like “faith” and “belief” a lot better.

So, then what were these teachings? Let’s take a look.

The Bible and the LoA

Let’s look at the similarities in teachings.

Teaching 1:


One of the first things and an aspect repeated many times in the book is that *when you ask, the Source gives”. Here Source stands for God, Universe, Soul, or Soul Energy. Now, there is a direct verse to that extent in the Bible.

Let’s look at that as well.

***Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye
shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you:
For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh
findeth, and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.***

These verses are taken from the book of Matthew, chapter 7, verses 7 and 8. See the commonality and resonance? I bet you do.

Teaching 2:

Esther and Jerry Hicks say that wanting something is not enough; you have to believe that you have it and reach for the feeling of having it. That is to say, if we feel a lack of the thing that we ask, then that thing may not come at all. But do we have a similar verse in the Bible?

Let’s check.

*Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.*

This verse is taken from the book of Mark, chapter 11, verse 24. These are the words of Jesus. So, we need to believe in having received what we asked in prayer, and it will be ours. LoA resonates with the Bible.

Teaching 3

As per the LoA, the more we focus on an event or situation, the same event or situation will follow. So, if we feel rich, more richness will be added, and if we feel poor, we may lose even what we have. In other words, abundance attracts abundance, and scarcity attracts scarcity.

Now, interestingly, there is a parable in the Bible where Jesus concludes in the same manner. Let’s look at that.

*Whoever has will be given more, and he will have an abundance. Whoever does not have, even what he has, will be taken away from him*.

This is a verse from the book of Matthew, chapter 13, verse 12. Jesus Christ had taught us the LoA two thousand years ago, and I understand only now. Well, what can I say?

There are many more similarities, but here are a few of the top ones which we will more often hear in the LoA teachings. Not bad, huh?

 

What Next?

For those that are religious and look at LoA with skepticism, my point is that the teachings rhyme with the Bible, if not taken from it. Of course, I haven’t checked the Quoran or the Bhagavad Gita, but I guess the teachings may be consistent with these Holy Books as much as any religious texts. So, then wouldn’t you say it is time you applied the principles to your life?

I guess it is time. 😊


----------------------

Image Courtesy: Yassay @pixabay

1
$ 5.76
$ 5.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @pinkwidow
Sponsors of oivas
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for oivas
Written by
3 years ago

Comments