"Soft" doxxing has become quite popular these days

4 132
Avatar for nyusternie
4 years ago

I've decided to comfortably secure my tin foil hat and complete this article that I started several weeks ago .. The problem being that I'm being shut out of several social networks that this community actively uses .. rather than just seem completely irrational, I'd rather link to this article, as a reference, when the issue comes up, again and again...

What is "soft" doxxing?

Several reports of Facebook "doxxing" its users have begun to spring up.

When a social network requires that you enter a phone number to access its server, chances are YOU ARE being "soft" doxxed.

Fun Fact: In the United States, did you know that when you give the "last 4 digits" of your social security number, along with your full name, they can pull the FULL 9 DIGITS?

Companies are being very subtle in their methods for getting at ALL of your personal and private details; without YOU knowing.

Why do they care so much about your phone number?

Those 10-little-digits allow a media company to build a graph of all its users' contacts. All they need is the permission to read your contacts. Have you ever seen that before?

What could they possibly do with just your phone number??

Phone numbers are the NEW social security numbers.

When I joined Facebook in 2012, they were "kind enough" to import my contact list from Google. One slippery (accidental) button click later, they had sent out friend requests to my entire contact list.

People that I hadn't spoken to in years, suddenly received a request to connect with me. Many of those people, I would have been very happy NEVER have contact with again.

Truth is, it didn't matter. Since they had my entire contact list, they could simply notify those contacts of my presence on THEIR network AT THEIR SOLE DISCRETION (and certainly without my knowledge) .. They tend to disguise this as "recommendations" and/or "suggestions".

Your profile is built BEFORE you register

These mobile app, social networks have been using your device's contact lists for years and years. Even if you've NEVER used social media, your profile is already fully-built in their database. Anyone who has YOU in their phone's contact list is helping them build that profile on YOU.

But srsly, how much could they possibly know about you from your friends, family, co-workers, etc that you keep?

The more of your contacts that join their network, the better their profile on you gets, regardless of if you've ever touched their network or not.

So by the time you DO register; what more do they need? Well, other than YOUR contact list, so they can extend the graph..

What information is tied to a phone number?

Well, consider that MOST of you probably are under some sort of 1/2yr contract with your carrier (you know, so didn't have to pay full price for your device). So, whatever information you gave to that phone company is now available in the repositories that I'm referring too. (most valuably, your HOME address)

Twilio is a fantastic company! I've used them for many, many years to perform the services that I'm describing to you now. (yeah, I guess I'm part of the problem too)

Just a small sampling of the "Phone Lookup" companies, what they do and what they charge .. It's very, very CHEAP!

To be clear: I don't have a problem with the companies that disclose they're using your phone number to "doxx" you .. I have a BIG problem with the one's who "claim" it's ONLY for verification, or worse, that somehow this is meant to protect YOU .. BULLSHIT!!

Full Credit Reports

Did you know that Experian, has a very "private" (super-exclusive -- good luck Googlin' it) service that allows a very select few companies to pull your credit report, just from your full name and a few basic address details?

So imagine what happens after you pull a person's full name and their address from their phone number and then query THAT database?

I've seen this! And I've had it done to me, just to show me how it worked. It's some scary-ass-SHIT when you see it in real-time (yes, seconds!)

Disclaimer: I don't know if this can be done outside of the US; as I don't know if the laws would be different OR if Experian even provides its services outside of the US.

GDPR

Companies have been hit hard with privacy protection laws created by the European Union's General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).

I mean, at first, I HATED the idea that the Europeans were now influencing the entire global Internet .. I mean, keep that shit to yourselves and I'm fine with it.

But since the GDPR has been enacted, ONE THING has totally changed my view (and my support FOR it).

YOU CAN NOW DELETE YOUR PERSONAL DATA FROM THE CLOUD!!

When Fitbit recently got bought by Google .. wholly SHIT, I couldn't find that button fast enough..

Btw, can anyone recommend I good step tracker?? I miss mine :-(

Will they actually DELETE? Who knows? But at least there's a button for it now .. I mean, do I really expect them to go and delete my records from all their digital and tape backups too .. NO! but whatever .. at least I hope this means they can't just go and sell my history to the highest bidder -- at least NOT from the backups I mean..

Who's on the list?

Everything worked fine when I signed up yesterday, and verified my email .. but today, they got a problem??

The following is a list of the services that I've been blocked by, since they started implementing "soft" doxxing of "approved" phone numbers for "verification" (in order of discovery):

  1. WeChat

  2. WhatsApp

  3. *Twitter

  4. Telegram

  5. Discord (TODAY!) -->

I'm sure there are more, this is just the list of providers that I've been exposed to.

If you use ANY "virtual/IP" phone number for online authentication, you've more than likely seen this happen to you too.

*PLEASE NOTE: Those of you that see me on Twitter should know that I had that account long before this practice started. (actually had most of those accounts before this practice started)

Also note: Although I'm aware Twitter now requires phone verification for NEW accounts; Twitter has NOT blocked me from signing in to their service, for NOT allowing them to "doxx" me; the others ALL have.

Final note: If and/or when Twitter decides to require a phone number to signin to an account that I've had with them and used for over a decade, well, that will most likely be the end of Twitter too..

But maybe I DO need protecting?

This Discord situation is shocking! Because my account was working just fine yesterday, and my email verified okay, and all seemed well .. So what happened? Until they respond to my inquiry, I have no idea, but stay tuned..

I can only "imagine" that they saw me connected from my Nexus (from Toronto), at the same time I was connected from my Macbook (from Hong Kong) .. suspicious activity?? No, it's called a VPN bitch!

A few weeks ago, I lost my Spotify Premium due to a similar issue; at which time they strongly suggested that I DO NOT use my VPN while listening to music .. I'm literally still shaking my head trying to process that one???

Tin foil hat removed

I don't really care what others decide to do with their own privacy .. that's 100% your business. My "problem" is that I'VE BEEN TO OZ; and I've seen what's behind the curtain.

This article is 1. informational (I hope to add/update more over time); but also 2. a reference for when I receive invitations to the FREE social networks on the list above, and why I just won't cooperate with their ridiculous demands.

Btw, anyone signup for Voice (the new EOS social network); that "doxxes" you from the start?

My preferred "social network" (more like a business network) has been Slack, for years now. Last year, I finally created my own workspace, which I'll be utilizing primarily from now on. I don't expect these shenanigans from Slack, since I'M PAYING THEM $$$ NOT TO SELL ME OUT!


I urge you ALL to consider what you're giving up the next time you give someone your phone number, and stay safe!

Cheers!

Photos courtesy of Unsplash

13
$ 2.03
$ 1.00 from @Read.Cash
$ 0.50 from @unitedstatian
$ 0.32 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
+ 2
Avatar for nyusternie
4 years ago

Comments

That is a very interesting article. It's been on my mind for long up to a point that I said fcuk it. I don't care. They provide ease of use and for free many services to me. I have nothing to hide either. In fact I'm blending in even better. I can close, ignore or block the annoying ads thatvwould be tailored for me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Before using social media or signing in any website users must know the terms and condition they are agreeing with. Reviewing permission access is important.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, that bugs me too. Every service (including) Twitter considers my actions "suspicious" even if I haven't done ANYTHING suspicious at all and demands phone number and/or even govt. issued ID (looking at you, Facebook).

$ 0.25
4 years ago