Bitcoin Cash Coup d'état

5 80
Avatar for nyusternie
4 years ago

Consider this an op-ed by Shomari Prince (nyusternie), which in NO WAY represents the thoughts of the Bitcoin Cash Node collective recently formed.


As soon as I heard mention of the coup about to happen in Bitcoin Cash I was EXCITED! Finally some ACTION!

I have practically ZERO ability to read or write C/C++; so Node Development is something that I couldn't get hands-on with myself. And so it came as much relief when a saw that the "community" finally got its shit together and took decisive action to create (and pledge support for) a Bitcoin Cash Node..

0xFF thanks to @freetrader and all other devs on board

According to Wikipedia, a coup d'état is considered successful when the usurpers seize and hold power for at least seven days.

A plan for a PERMANENT regime change

An "actual plan" is what has always been missing from the original IFP, its 1st revision, its 2nd revision, and finally the announcement of its imminent enactment.

The list of rebel devs ready to bring an end to the ABC monarchy is quite impressive!

A rebellion on ABC's code repositories is all fine and dandy; but I would say that over the next 7 days, a "formal plan" is 100% necessary to make this action real and have the community (miners, pools and every BCH stakeholder) take it seriously.

Please! No more blog post proposals..

Ideally, it would come in the form of a formal Business Plan; but whatever .. it could just as well be in the form of a Whitepaper (Blue-paper, Yellow-polkadot-paper); just as long as much "thought" goes into its wording (as "thoughtful wording" has clearly been missing from the IFPs thus far).

Also .. for my part in this rebellion, I've registered the domain bchnode.cash; which I plan to use to express my own ideas on how monetization "could" work as a better alternative to any protocol changes .. (stay tuned...)

Too much talk of Infrastructure

So my key motivation here in writing this, is an attempt to sway this narrative (just a lil' bit) that "The Infrastructure" is the ONLY thing that needs funding within the BCH community.

TL;DR—After the IFP goes through, what then? What's the point of infrastructure with nothing to go on top of it?

This past weekend was ETHDenver; an absolutely massive Ethereum conference that saw the likes of over 1,000+ passionate developers BUIDLing the future of THEIR ecosystem.

Since the 2017 fork:

  • Approximately how many BCH BUIDLers have arrived?

  • Have there been any Hackathons? How many?

  • How much funding has been raised for NEW "end-user" services?

ONE THOUSAND NEW developers for Bitcoin Cash in 2020..
That's the goal I've set for my next project (stay tuned...)

Everyone seems to agree that Bitcoin Cash NEEDS USERS in order to grow and compete in the greater ecosystem. How do you attract users with so few end-user services for them to actually USE?

Since I arrived at the start of the year, I've become rather attracted to a few (non-technical) services:

  1. read.cash

  2. memo.cash

  3. satoshiwall.cash

...there are a few more, I just can't think right now .. point is though, there needs to be much, MUCH MORE!

Anyway, I'm gonna keep this short, cause I'm tired..

Let's BU!LD BCH!

I want to remind anyone who reads this that we are in great need of support for the BitcoinCash.StackExchange initiative started about 2 weeks ago..

Please take 30 seconds and COMMIT, if you haven't done so already .. Thank you!

We're currently in the "Commitment" phase and require 100 "highly reputable" individuals (anyone with OVER 200 rep on any SE site) to pledge their support.

It takes less than 30 seconds and it would mean a great deal to bringing Bitcoin Cash that much closer to attracting the BUIDLers that it needs to GROW ITS USERS..


2020 is going to be a fantastic year for ALL of crypto .. let's NOT waste any more time with the infighting; and let's start working together to #MakeBitcoinCashAgain

Cheers!

Photos courtesy of Unsplash

8
$ 6.00
$ 5.00 from @molecular
$ 0.50 from @unitedstatian
$ 0.50 from @sjbuendia
Avatar for nyusternie
4 years ago

Comments

We're currently in the "Commitment" phase and require 100 "highly reputable" individuals (anyone with OVER 200 rep on any SE site) to pledge their support.

thanks for the reminder. I helped in the previous phase and was now able to commit with my 207 (phew!) rep. Just 10 more people to commit. <- edit: this is false, see below

$ 0.25
4 years ago

I helped in the previous phase and was now able to commit with my 207

thank you SOOO much brother! I've been a bit busy, but I'm gonna get on top of this very soon .. DOOR-TO-DOOR if I have to .. at least now you don't have to worry about me showing up at your door, lol

Just 10 more people to commit.

nawww .. it's not even close to that .. as of right now, its only 28% committed :-( so still REQUIRE 72 "high-rep" (ie. 200+ reputation) committers..

it's gonna be a lil' while .. but no worries, I've got some plans in the works .. I'M ON IT!

$ 5.00
4 years ago

at least now you don't have to worry about me showing up at your door

lol.

nawww .. it's not even close to that .. as of right now, its only 28% committed :-( so still REQUIRE 72 "high-rep" (ie. 200+ reputation) committers..

aaaaah, fuck, ok.

I'M ON IT!

that's the spirit! thank you so much for your efforts!

$ 0.00
4 years ago