Why every corporate will eventual screw you

5 53
Avatar for nomadghada
2 months ago
This is a post against the idea of Eco-Systems

So I had been vocal about my aversion to Apple products to a point that I became hated by a large group of people on reddit.

But, I have also been vocal about how Android phone are following suit and not as user friendly anymore.

While this post isn't about smartphones or tech products. the core points remember the same.

"Never trust a corporate and never get stuck in an eco-system"

You might feel that a company is right now giving the best ethical goods or services

But it might not be the case in the future.

Think Google: They removed "Don't be evil" from their tagline.

Every company in the beginning is good, I mean they have to be to get your business but when they become big they will eventually change.

Amazon use to be a good company selling books online. Now look at them (If you don't know what I am talking about look up memes on Amazon).

Let's take the example of Adobe

Adobe is one of those companies that pioneered some of the best creative tools in the industry and currently dominate the space.

The sheer presence of this company is so huge that nearly everyone is at least aware of what is Photoshop.

Everyone that has edited photos has at least used this software.

Earlier they use to sell software with a onetime price for lifetime usage.

Then a couple of years ago they changed that to a monthly licensing model with recurring payment.

Now they have changed their terms and conditions says any work made on their software the copywrite to that will belongs to Adobe.

Now people are fighting against it and there is quite a uproar on social media regarding it.

But what if there wasn't any uproar they can get away with it easily, a big production studio might be able to fight it. But will an individual be able to on their own?

Now, imagine if they don't change their terms and condition (which is still a possibility) some people might move away from their software, but what about the people who have only learnt adobe software.

Will he/she be screwed? will he/she get hired?

I have recently been screwed by a large company and lost somethings. Now I use to admire this company and hailed it everywhere.

Now I am screwed.

Only saving grace is that I never sticked with only that company but have learnt to get the same thing done with other companies as well.

Still not having my preferred platform access anyone is a dent, not to mention my data that they are not letting me backup.

All I get is "read our terms and conditions"

Well... lesion learnt

Never get tied to one company product or eco-system.

If you use Android learn to use iPhone as well.

If you use windows learn to use linux as well.

keep you options open

...and back up your data.

1
$ 0.31
$ 0.25 from Anonymous user(s)
A
$ 0.05 from @sj0820
$ 0.01 from @Unity
Sponsors of nomadghada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nomadghada
2 months ago

Comments

I agree with you that every corporation will eventually harm its users! I will try an open-source alternative to Android instead of going to Apple.

$ 0.01
2 months ago

I tried open-source de-Googled Android based OS like CalyxOS but have found myself coming back to Google apps, specially Google Maps. But at least now I know that I can live without Google services if push came to shove. Anyways I have found it best to limit your exposure one company, even the open-source ones. Don't rely on any one company for your needs, if one screws you over then you can jump to a competitor without much pain.

$ 0.00
2 months ago

Try GrapheneOS. But, it doesn't correctly run on affordable smartphones. That is why I couldn't succeed.

$ 0.00
2 months ago

To run GrapheneOS you can buy and old pixel phone, if you can find it then that will suit the best.

$ 0.00
2 months ago

Yes, pixel phone.

$ 0.00
2 months ago