Freedom from the Big 4

1 43
Avatar for nomadghada
1 year ago
Topics: Quit, Job

So I recently saw this video and I just felt how accurately it describes me and the situation that I was in just a little while ago.

So I just have discovered the YouTube channel by Jean Voronkova, I didn't knew her and just recently saw one of her video through the algorithm's recommendation (It's also scary that YouTube recommended it to me now, goes to tell you how much YouTube and Google knows about you).

After watching the recommended video I went to her channel and saw this video which just spoken to me and my situation.

Here's the video if you are interested:

This is a great video and I do recommend that you watch it at least once, specially if you have ever felt trapped in your job and/or workplace.

Please Note:

Very important that if you are thinking about quitting, then before you actually turn in your resignation do an assessment of your finances and your situation.

I know I was frustrated with my previous job for so long that it was suffocating me and just like Jean I had also quit without much savings.

Luckily it worked out for me in form of an another job (which I am enjoying) and for Jean as she was able to set up a business and a few sources of income.

But this is not a norm and if things go bad then it could become a problem.

So work towards towards goals and do financial planning before putting in your resignation papers.

Working for the Big 4

What are Big 4 anyway?

Well Big 4 are referred to the top 4 organizations in a particular sector, mainly it is used for Accounting Firms. However, now a days most industries have 4 top organizations. Apart of Big 4 Accounting Firms now a days we have Big 4 Investment Banks, Management Consultants and the likes.

Work culture at Big 4

What is the work culture at Big 4 is like?

Horrible

To be specific.

But, honestly hearing Jean's story on how she felt at her job at a Big 4 working as a Lawyer is the main reason why I empathized with her the most.

My job at Big 4

I use to work in a Big 4 firm and gave that organization 4 years of my life, during those 4 years I had gone through a lot of ups and downs. But I never felt like that I belonged there, it was such a strange feeling I had even when I was joining the organization.

Furthermore, unless rest of the people that may have joined a Big 4 I didn't made a a lot of money. Sure, last year I got a promotion and that did bump my salary a bit but because of the pandemic I lost some of my progress, which was already on the very lower end of the stick.

In this regard I didn't have that luxury of earning a huge paycheck that most people working for a Big 4 usually enjoy. So yeah unlike my peers I wasn't making a 6 figure salary not even close.

I finally quit

I would never recommend anyone to work for a Big 4 even through a lot of prestige is associated at working in these organizations.

People will say that (again in the words of Jean) that I "made it" and "doing well" but the reality I was being crushed in the toxic work environment.

For a long time I had been planning on quitting but just didn't do it for one reason or the other, specially when Corona came again there was so much uncertainty that I just couldn't; specially after listening to all the news of people getting fired or taking a pay cut.

Until one day I thought hard and decided that I will quit at a certain date, however before that date I was shipped off to a different city on a profile that I knew nothing about and had no background on.

So after being there for a few days I said 'enough is enough' and finally called my manager and said I want to quit.

Crazy thing was he was also on his notice period, so he informed me that my reporting has been changed so I called my new manager and then my director and finally put in my papers. (Funny thing is that no one tried to stop me, like they were expecting it)

I was glad but also worried what will I do and how will I get an income which I so much relied on.

The trap

Now here again I'll point to Jean's video where she explained how the job was a trap where you spend all the time and hard work at the job and not on your business and side income. And now you can't opt out of the job because you need that salary.

(I once read a line some where once and it stuck with me, it goes like "Salary is the bribe they give you to kill your dreams")

Here's how Jean quotes about this situation: "Money isn't a adequate compensation for what the job takes away from us"

Of course, not all jobs are like that and I am not against people opting to do jobs.

No 9 to 5 anymore

Another good point she brings up is that there is no 9 to 5 jobs anymore and you're canceling weekends, family gatherings, hanging out with friends, even gym and you are working even when you are in the bathroom.

You are replaceable

At any job, good or bad, you are replaceable and if you quit the organization can find another cog to replace your place in the vast machinery.

(Kind of reminds me of the scene from classic movie Metropolis, look it up)

After the quit

I have (also Jean as she described in the video) gone through a period of uncertainty and doubt.

I didn't knew if things would go the best direction or this move would ruin me.

Here's I was on a different part

Unlike Jean, I was actually looking for another job because that this point of time I don't know what kind of business I can do or if I have the skills to do it.

I have spent so much time so many irrelevant things that I didn't had much skills outside the office. Sure I can make a decent Excel spreadsheet but I didn't knew how to Surf or draw or even fix things around the house.

I knew I had to get a job before I can set out on a journey to train myself to be able to do things that I can actually use outside of a office and could do to earn something by doing something useful.

My miracle

I was being pressured by the management to finish my offboarding process while I was giving still stumbling around for another job.

Luckily just a few days before my official last day I got an interview which went well and was called for the next round and just some time after my last day I somehow cleared the last round and in was offered the job.

Also Luckily for me this organization has work ethics and a good work culture while I have a good chuck of volume to handle, here at least they don't cram you into killing yourself.

The future

Now that I have a job that pays my bills and gives me a peace of mind, I am not going to take it for granted and will try to give my best to the organization that t=has essentially Saved Me from an abusive relationship with a Big 4 firm.

But, I will also try to generate some income source other than my salary so that I am never in that situation ever again.

Furthermore, I am going to do and earn the things that I always wanted to do and in case I can get good at them enough to be able to get some income from them.

One of my biggest goal is to generate Passive Income which is my top priority right now.

As even through I want to keep working I still want the freedom to be able to stop if I really wanted to and follow where my passion leads me.

Well... I hope you enjoyed this article and it gave you some hope if you are struggling as well with finances and work.

If you read all the way to the end I would highly recommend that you watch Jean's video as well as I believe she explain things much better than me.

Thanks for reading......

6
$ 2.34
$ 2.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Unity
$ 0.01 from @JCnakama
Sponsors of nomadghada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nomadghada
1 year ago
Topics: Quit, Job

Comments

In every field of work we have our own difficulties its a challenge for us to be better. I believe that no matter what dilemma we faced in our job we can certainly think a good solution on it and if in case that you are demotivated you should think yourself in the beginning and your priorities in life. Its good to live in a life which is full of challenges.

$ 0.00
1 year ago