The Holy Seven Sacraments we practiced in our Municipality

0 81
Avatar for noisytoothie
3 years ago

A sacrament is an outward efficacious sign instituted by Christ to give grace. Jesus Christ himself is the sacrament, as he gave His life to save mankind. His humanity is the outward sign or the instrument of his Divinity. It is through His humanity that the life of the trinity comes to us as grace through the sacraments. Jesus Christ alone mediates the sacraments to allow grace to flow to humanity.

Credits to Google

The three sacraments of initiation are baptism, confirmation and Eucharist. Each is meant to strengthen your faith and forge a deeper relationship with God. Baptism frees you from original sin, confirmation strengthens your faith and Eucharist allows you to taste the body and blood of eternal life and be reminded of Christ’s love and sacrifice.

A. Baptism

This is the basis of whole Christian Life as all of us born of the water and the Spirit. This is necessary for salvation and conveys a permanent sign that the new Christian is a child of God.

B. Confirmation

This is the sacrament of the Holy Spirit whom Jesus sent. The right of confirmation is anointing the forehead with chrism, together with the laying of the Minister’s hand and words “Be sealed with the gift of the Holy Spirit”. Persons whose age are 12 years old and above are the one who can receive confirmation. Before the day of confirmation, they first attend a 3 consecutive days of seminar to enlighten their minds on what they are going to receive.

C. Eucharist

This sacrament means thanksgiving, and the “source and summit of the Christian life”. The essential signs of the sacrament are wheat bread and grape wine, on which the blessing of the Holy Spirit is invoked during the Sacrifice of the mass, and the priest pronounces the words of consecration, spoken by Jesus at the Last Supper: “This is my body… this is the cup of my blood…” The first Eucharist usually starts when the child reaches Grade 3 in his elementary level at the age approximately 9 years old.

D. Confession

This is the sacrament of conversion, forgiveness, penance, or reconciliation. This sacrament involves 3 steps: the penitent’s contrition or sorrow for his sins, the actual confession to a priest and absolution, and them penance or restitution for your sins. The experience leads one to an interior conversion of the heart. Jesus describes the process of conversion and penance in the Parable of the Prodigal Son (Luke 15:11-24). Confession can be done always. This is with the guidance of a priest inside or outside the church.

E. Anointing of the Sick

This is the sacrament given to the seriously ill Christians and the special graces received unite the sick person to the passion of Christ.

F. Holy Orders

This sacrament began with the Last Supper, when Christ Jesus commissions His apostles to continue the Eucharist celebration. This is the sacrament of Apostolic ministry. As in Pastoral Epistles, the rite consists of the Bishop’s laying on of hands on the head of the priest-candidate with the consecrating prayer asking God for the outpouring of the Holy Spirit for the gifts of the ministry.

G. Marriage

This is the union of a man and a woman. This sacrament gives the couple the grace to grow into a union of heart and soul, to continue life, and to provide stability for themselves and their children. Children are the fruit and bond of marriage.

There is a tradition that before getting married, a 2-day seminar is done by the bride and groom. In addition, the night before their wedding, there is what they call “Saminlag” where a party is celebrated and the family of the bride and groom cheers a wine for the best future for their children.


Daniels, E. (2017), Personal Creations: "The Seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church" Retrieved from,healing%20and%20sacraments%20of%20service.

$ 1.15
$ 1.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for noisytoothie
3 years ago