Freedom: The choice is yours!

6 29
Avatar for noisytoothie
2 years ago

Being a democratic country, Philippines have been promoting freedom since 1898, after the colonization of the Spaniards. For the past 333 years, we are colonized and forbidden to express our freedom and ourselves. We might not experience it today, but our ancestors did. Moreover, it was something to be recognized and be given appreciation as our national heroes depended our freedom for us. That is why we are thankful to them.

WHAT IS FREEDOM?

I love the way Mr. Nelson Mandela described what freedom is. For him, for to be free is not merely to cast off one's chain, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others. Indeed, absolutely correct! As what I believe, love begets love, and freedom begest freedom. The power of freedom is in your hands, but the courage to respect and enhance the freedom of others will be in your soul.

From Oxford Language Dictionary, freedom is the power or right to act, speak, or think as one wants without hindrance or restraint. Meaning, freedom is what drives us to do things on our own without hesitation or uneasy feelings.

But, everything we have has it’s own affiliated responsibilities. As the saying goes, freedom comes with responsibilities. We are free to do what we want to do but always take into considerations the limitations of our actions as we perform and execute our freedom. And that’s why we have laws. Law is our manipulator and controller. Different laws, different limitations and responsibilities. That’s why we need to abide with it.

ARE YOU FREE? HOW CAN YOU SAY THAT YOU ARE FREE?

We said that we are in a democratic country and we are free. But, in our daily life basis, are we really free? There are lots of factors that hinders our freedom even though by state, we are free. It’s hard to say we’re free just because we can roam around and do whatever we want. Sometimes, we are the prisoners of our own destiny.

I’ve got to question myself, Am I free? or I just pretend I am?

In my 21 years of existence, I’ve experienced different kinds of situation where my freedom is tested. Let’s start with simple situations.

For example, when my age is below 18, I am not free to do everything I want unless otherwise my parents or other relatives accompany me. This was the time I questioned my freedom. I am a high school student that time and we are learning the history of our country and freedom is the main topic.

I asked my parents why won’t they let me do what I want. This is what they said. “My child, you are not still in the stage where you can understand the things around you. You still don’t know how to limit your actions. You will understand us when you grow up and became matured.” At first, I really don’t understand them, but now, what I can just say is “Thank God, I listened to them”. Now I finally understood.

Watching teenagers today vs the teenagers during our years are so far different. I suddenly thought about my past too. My parents won’t even let me ride a tricycle before but now, even a 10-year old child can travel by their own. They are now free to do what they want.

Growing up, I’ve started to think more maturely and more careful because I know now the consequences of my decisions and actions. And by this time, my parents are allowing me to do things I never expected for me to decide. They trusted me to use this freedom in a good way.

How can I say that I am free?

I can say that I am free because I’ve got to do the things I never expect me to do and accomplish. If before, I am not allowed to go on outings, today I am allowed to go. If before, I can’t have a boyfriend, now I can. If before I am not allowed to go outside whenever I want, now I can go. And this is what TRUST can do. My parents trusted me, and that force of trust is what I consider first before doing something I might regret at the end.

CONSEQUENCES OF FREEDOM

Being free doesn't mean it's okay to do things even though it's bad. Simple things have its own consequences and these consequences might be the reason for the loss of our freedom.

What might be the consequences if we abuse our freedom?

  1. Your freedom will be taken away from you.

  2. You will face your own consequences or punishment.

  3. You will be forever unworthy of freedom for the eyes of others.

  4. You cannot do the things you are used to do before.

  5. You're life will be miserable.

These consequences are based on what I have read from different sources. Neither of them might be applicable depending on the situation you're in.

What I will advice is that, never abuse the freedom you have 'cause you will never know when or how it will be taken away from you.


Another day, another article for you. This article is inspired by the challenge of Ms @JonicaBradley as part of her writing prompt. I challenge you also to do this challenge and be guided by the following rules.

Challenge rules:

  1. Write about Freedom

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun

I hope you all had fun reading. Thank you!

For the sources, just click the images :)

4
$ 6.19
$ 6.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
Avatar for noisytoothie
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you for the upvote @bheng620 and @meitanteikudo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome po :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A well written article. And take note, we're still colonized up to the present day, by different cultures. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! Colonization did not just bring despair to us but also our different cultures that we are practicing today especially the birth of catholicism.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I know that. And the foods too. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeaaaah even some of the language we have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago