Depression isn't a joke

4 15
Avatar for noisytoothie
2 years ago

Depression and anxiety are two different word with different meanings, but only has one goal - to ruin someone's day or life. We tend to feel these two whenever we are in a situation where we can't anymore control our feelings and we are being chased by everybody's expectations towards us.

Depression

Depression (major depressive disorder or clinical depression) is a common but serious mood disorder. It causes severe symptoms that affect how you feel, think, and handle daily activities, such as sleeping, eating, or working. To be diagnosed with depression, the symptoms must be present for at least two weeks.

Depression is not a joke and it will never be! I saw some videos laughing and bullying someone who has a depression. That is why, the saying goes, "Don't judge a book by it's cover" because you never know what they are suffering. Put yourselves in their shoes, so you can feel what you're letting them feel.

Depression is when everything feels hard in our surroundings. When you feel that the things you enjoyed doing before, became just an excuse to escape from the reality. You even questioned yourself if you are still worthy of the life you have. You find it harder and harder to face life, or by getting out of bed in the morning. As days go by, you continuously drag yourself down. You find it difficult to go to bed at night.

We used to tell people to share what they feel on their closest friends, family, or partners, but the thing is, when a person has a depression, even her, can't understand what she's feeling right now. How can you explain to someone that you want to live your life but on the same thing, don't know how you can? How do you explain that this is no longer feels like a choice, that it controls you not the other way around?

Source

No one can ever see the end of depression. No one knows how to end it but a little chance of surviving it made us fight until the end. We can survive anything as long as we know how to end it, but dealing with something infinite is like counting your hair strands - yes it is possible, but the process itself seems impossible. But there's a chance, I know. As what I always believe, everything happens for a reason.

How can we cope with this situation? Remember that depression is initially a reaction - a reaction in your life that you never imagined would be yours.

  • First, you need to accept that depression is already a part of your life now. Own up to it for yourself. Don't pretend to be okay when you're not.

  • Secondly, after acceptance, you need to allow yourself to deal with it because it really takes time. There's no magic cure, but slowly, it will be developed and you will get better soon.

  • Thirdly, as much as possible, ask for guidance and help from your closest friends. Opening up can ease the burden you're feeling. Sometimes, the biggest battle can be making that choice to allow others to help.

I don't know why but, as I am writing this article, my bestfriend sent me this message.

Hi! Today is World Mental Health Day 😁

How are you?

I hope you are feeling great!

Please don't forget to check on yourself. Always prioritize your well-being.

Self-care is not being selfish.

Take care 🤗

Today is World Mental Health Day ❤ I hope everyone's doing great, not only today, but everyday. Maybe, even myself recognize the importance of tackling these kinds of topics because even myself, is experiencing this feeling right now.

Depression and anxiety have become my enemies for the past weeks. Pressured with academics, the thesis, and non-academic stuffs such as with my family. Last monday was the release of the board exam passers in our course, and the reality hit me again. I have these thoughts in my head: I can't even understand the topics today, what more the questions in the board exam?. I started to doubt myself, again. That feeling when you can't even trust yourself is the most painful feeling ever, I swear.

I wanted to do things that will help me recover from this situation, I've been planning on going to a place where I can be myself, I wanted to cry and cry until I dry my tears. I want to do things, that no one can control. I wanted to spoil my self, just for a day. I wanted to, I really wanted to...

I am thankful that I have my friends and family with me. But sometimes, we need just ourselves to deal with our own battles. Sometimes, asking help for them may just affect them also. I don't know what they are suffering, and seeking help to them might just add fuel to what they're feeling. I don't want to be a burden, but I'd love to open up to them. It's not easy as it takes a lot of courage to speak up ourselves. So when you build up that courage, never ever think twice. Do it and fight for it.

5
$ 1.86
$ 1.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @rebeysa85
$ 0.02 from @Ellehcim
+ 1
Avatar for noisytoothie
2 years ago

Comments

I always get to know what's celebrated in a particular date only here im read.cash. Hehehe. Anyway, I do understand your.pressure on that board exam thingy too. Beem in that situation before. Still havent taken the boards as of now hahaha, it's been two years. Imma just let go and let God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God has different plans for us. Maybe it's not just the way we wanted us to be. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago