How Much is Too Much

5 30
Avatar for njitalia
4 years ago



These crypto sites really are wonderful aren't they? Just write a bunch of stuff and earn "money." Umm, yeah. Right. Not that it is a bad thing to get your thoughts out to the world or anything; after all, that is what the internet was made for anyway. Before all this "crypto-blogging," there were still sm sites, but now, the possibility to earn crypto with all your posts; does it take a lot of time out of your life? Is this all your doing? And who even cares about what you, or me, or any one of the 7+ billion people on Earth put on their "blogs" (web-logs). As the character Strong Bad from Homestar Runner says, "everyone knows that putting 'web' in front of a word makes it much crappier." Everyone, especially if you go "blogging happy" and look for as many crypto sites as you can, please, be mindful of your mental health! Stop worrying about how many "likes" you get. Do likes really mean anything? If you "like" this here, what I wrote, how do I know if you really do like it or just feel sorry for me in some weird way? I look at what people put on these sites and I wonder if I really find anything interesting. But, I still do it. Why? I want to feel significant. Everyone wants to feel significant. That is why we have these sites. Was Twitter specifically invented for celebrities (including our president) to make themselves look "important?" It sure seems that way. Am I "important" now that I am doing this and getting these thoughts out to the world? No. No more important than you. Of course, if you are important, that's great. Maybe it means I am more important than I think. Yes, these crypto sites are cool. But I do not expect to become a millionaire. I do not expect people to care about what I write, what music I record and publish on this site (you will eventually see more of that here. Like you care, though). If I do become a millionaire by blogging (the pipe-dream of pipe-dreams, the long-shot of long-shots), that would be awesome, right? I guess. But remember, there is a life outside. Do it. Use it. And do not be selfish. And do not expect people to give a damn. I recently advertised my first novel, Road to Nowhere, on all of the sites you see, and you can find it on Amazon. I do not expect to be J.K. Rowling from that, or even Ransom Riggs (Is that his real name?) Bloody hell, goddamn, why am I telling you all this? If you care, I would definitely be surprised.

1
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @bahaddi
Avatar for njitalia
4 years ago

Comments

Though there's one thing that makes crypto-blogging better - the crypto you earn might be worth 10x, 100x, maybe 1000x in the future :)

$ 0.01
4 years ago

Strong words. Though you've put them all into an image description (which is supposed to be used for short description of an image) and it's really hard to read.

Yeah, nobody should expect to get rich off of the blogging - it's a reasonable thing to do. That's actually what we advise people here:

If you can write about something without thinking about whether you get paid or not - that's what you should write about.

It takes time to find your own audience. You need to accumulate readers one-by-one just like a pearl is made - with tiny increments.

That means that after you publish your first article - don't expect success to come immediately. It's going to take time.

The best strategy I can recommend is to have a steady job (if you can) while you are trying to grow your readership.

https://read.cash/@Read.Cash/how-to-actually-make-money-blogging-on-readcash-or-anywhere-2372d3f6

$ 0.05
4 years ago

Technical question: My earnings in $$ fluctuate on here with the price of Bitcoin, right? It seems that way.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

My earnings in $$ fluctuate on here with the price of Bitcoin, right?

Yes, but Bitcoin Cash (BCH), not Bitcoin (BTC).

It's impossible to create read.cash on Bitcoin (BTC), because the fees to transfer money in BTC network are 200 times higher than in BCH. https://bitcoinfees.cash/

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I am still learning this site; see what it looks like now...

$ 0.00
4 years ago