Taylor Swift: Folklore

5 18
Avatar for nicdre09
3 years ago

Hello! I am back with another reaction, but this time I would be reacting to my fave female songwriter Taylor Swift.

I remember when I was in high school, my love for lyrics beyond the melody happened when I stumbled upon Taylor Swift songs. Her ability to knit words together to create a story accompanied with beat, tempo, melody, harmony and instrumentals is just brilliant. She sings verses with heavy meanings and intricate messages that a lot of people do relate to from generation to generation, year after year, and album over album.

Remember going to computer shops just to download songs? Well I do, and each song I would listen to over and over, then write the lyrics in my big notebook. I created my on song book and most of it was songs from Taylor. Straight from her debut album, "Taylor Swift" to "Fearless", "Speak now", "Red", "1989", "Reputation","Lover", and the most recent one "Folklore" she has proved her talent in song writing and singing.

Taylor Swift had a reputation of producing top-chart songs, whenever she had just gone through heart ache or life tragedies. Her recent album, according to Aaron Dessner (Co producer of Folklore), is of gothic vibe and as someone who have loved her songs through the years I agree that this album is more on the gothic and indie vibes, which BTW totally captured my heart and left me with eargasms.

As of now my favorite song from the album is her "This is me trying" single.

"Pulled the car off the road to the lookout
Could've followed my fears all the way down
And maybe I don't quite know what to say
But I'm here in your doorway"

"It's hard to be anywhere these days, When all I want is you"

This single of hers reminds me of her song "Back to December", wherein, in both songs she gave off the persona of someone wanting a person back after letting them go. The lyrics and the message behind it is reflected magically in the artistry of the instrumentals and melody.

Another song I am currently vibing wtih in the album is her single "Exile"

The single features Bon Iver and his cool bass voice that blended beautifully with Tay's soft voice. To top that, the song flows in a very relaxing tempo perfect for chilling, resting, before sleep, car rides or even when you're reading.

I especially loved the line from the song which goes as:

"I think I've seen this film before
And I didn't like the ending"

"I think I've seen this film before
So I'm leaving out the side door"

The way she used her ability in semantics just sipped out through this album.

Over all I loved every song in the Folklore album and each single deserves a chance to be heard. If you love a chill playlist, I recommend you to hear out her songs in the Folklore album, and who knows maybe one or two lines may hit you in the right spot.

Here's a link to the full album

Leave in the comments your favorite song and I will listen to it cause I love discovering new songs.

P.S: below are notable mentions of some of my fave singles from her past albums

Ronan

All Too Well

Lover

Cornelia Street

You Belong With me

If this was a movie

White horse

Back to December

Begin Again

I almost do

Gorgeous

Getaway car

TMTM hahahahha sorry

3
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of nicdre09
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nicdre09
3 years ago

Comments

Wow! I see an avid fan there! I also liked her song but not as much as you do. I remember when I was at the 6th grade, we will always sing You belong to Me whenever and wherever we are hahaha oh ghad. I don't remember the song clearly but I think that's it ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HAHAHAHA I still have my big notebook with all her lyrics. I even self-taught the guitar just so I can learn her songs.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Fantastic! Baby dance oh oh oh ๐ŸŽผ๐ŸŽต๐ŸŽถ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, a swiftieโค I also love her songs and it makes me go sentimental hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same. She's so great with words. I stan

$ 0.00
3 years ago