Bullying: A Childhood Most Traumatic Experience.

15 60
Avatar for nheng1118
3 years ago

August 17,2021

Topic: Bullying

Bullying is the use of force, coercion, hurtful teasing or threat, to abuse, aggressively dominate or intimidate. The behavior is often repeated and habitual. One essential prerequisite is the perception (by the bully or by others) of an imbalance of physical or social power. This imbalance distinguishes bullying from conflict.[1] Bullying is a subcategory of aggressive behavior characterized by the following three criteria: (1) hostile intent, (2) imbalance of power, and (3) repetition over a period of time.[2] Bullying is the activity of repeated, aggressive behavior intended to hurt another individual, physically, mentally, or emotionally.

Have you ever experienced being the center of bullying when you were a child? For me to be the center of bullying was the worst experience I had when I was a child. Worst experience that I admit that until now I still carry with me as I get older. Many young people fall victim to bullying. Various forms of bullying often occur at school, they get bully by their classmates or schoolmates. Sometimes even in their own area or place they also experience the same, it is neighbors or even relatives bully them.

There are many types of bullying, including Physical, Verbal, Non-verbal, and nowadays there is this also called Cyber ​​bullying through Social Medias. All of this has only one effect on us. Physically Pain for Physical Bully. Mentally and Emotionally pain for all kinds of bullying. All of this can also causes mental disorders, depression, lack of self -confidence, and above all trauma, which the child can carry until he or she grows old.

Me personally I suffered Verbal bullying when I was a child. At school and even in our own place. Not only when I was a child but till I grow older on my teenage days. It's been hard to live with full of bullies around. So hard to do what you want, it's hard to make friends, and most it is very difficult to move properly because anytime every move you make they will notice you and tease you or insult you. I grew up wanting to hide myself from people because every time they see me, they just keep teasing me.

Once in noise.cash someone also noticed me why I always cover one of my eyes. I told him that this will be one of my topics in my article one day, why I always hide one eye. So now I will share the reason why.

Me with my hidden left eye πŸ˜…

My left eye was been the reason why I was been a center of bullying when I was a kid until teenage days. Why? It's because my left eye is smaller than my right eye. It is also swollen before when I was a kid. I honestly don't know the reason bavk then why left eye is smaller than the other one and it is also swollen. All my Grandma told me was, when I was just a baby they just noticed that there was this one red spot on my forehead at the top of my eye. And as time goes by that red spot keeps moving down to my eye. Until my left eye were swollen and very red. They said Mom did brought me to the doctor back then and I'm about to have my surgery but my Dad who was been at the City Jail that time tried to escape and took me away. Grandma said that my Dad got afraid that something might gonna happen to me during the surgery so he escaped and took me away. He took a risk to escape at the jail and run away just to save my life. I was just two months old when that happen. So there i didn't got a chance to have the surgery so I grew up with a small left eye, lols.

So back then during my elementary days, there's no day that people keeps teasing me and insulting me, they always calling me "KIRAT". Kirat means the other one eye is deformed or small than the other one. I used to cry almost everyday back then. They didn't even calling me with my name instead they named "Kirat" or "Kilit" (ilocano word of kirat).

Me when I was a kid, and that's the eye that had been a center of bullying 😌

Until highschool I experience the same thing. Mom took me here in Manila from Baguio City when I was in second year high scholl. So i thought everything will change since I'm already here in Manila but nothing had changed. My classmates here still calling me the same that I also end up crying everytime I go home. That's the time I asked Mom is my left eye like this, though it's now swelling already like before but it is still small. Then she told me same as what my grandma told me but she said what happened to my eye is a kind of disease. Disease that can be removed through surgery. And he blames Dad because if he hadn't took me away and hidden me, I would have had surgery when I was a baby.

Mom brought me to Philippine General Hospital when I was in 3rd year highschool. We tried to have me checked up just in case there was still a chance that my eye would heal. So there, for the first time I found out what really happened to my eye. I had a Hemangioma when Mom gave birth to me. It started on my forehead but suddenly went to my eye.

Hemangioma :

A hemangioma (he-man-jee-O-muh) is a bright red birthmark that shows up at birth or in the first or second week of life. It looks like a rubbery bump and is made up of extra blood vessels in the skin. A hemangioma can occur anywhere on the body, but most commonly appears on the face, scalp, chest or back. Treatment for a baby's hemangioma (infantile hemangioma) usually isn't needed as it fades over time. A child who has this condition during infancy usually has little visible trace of the growth by age 10. You may want to consider treatment if a hemangioma interferes with seeing, breathing or other functions.

Source: Mayoclinic.org

So there it is just kind of birthmark which unfortunately grew in my eye. The birthmark is already gone as it will just disappear during 5-7 years old as my doctor told me. But what sad is it leaves a trace on my already. My left eye is smaller now and what's worst is it affects my eye sight already. My left eye can't see anymore. I mean it can see colors and can still distinguish things but it can't read anymore. And there's no chance for my left eye to see clearly anymore as it is already like a computer that is totally shut down already. I can still have a surgery just to make it align with my right eye just to make it look better but since we don't have enough money at that time too I wasn't still able have a chance to have a surgery. Well it's still sad that i didn't got a chance to have a surgery when I was baby maybe my eyesight would have been saved. But i can't blame my Dad for getting worried about I was just 2 months old back then so it's too risky either for him. Atleast i know now that's how my father loves me so much. The only thing is because of that failed surgery I suffered a traumatic childhood experience,lols.

This is me without cover in my eye πŸ™ˆ

Until now that I already had my own family and got kids already. Those memories of my past keeps bothering me. Even if my Mom, my best friend and my husband keeps telling me that i don't have to hide my eyes because for them I'm still beautiful inspite of this small left eye. But I felt like it's still better to cover it. Because there are still people who are too judgemental, and i just know it with the looks in their eyes staring at my eye. There are questions in their eyes and some people can't help themselves asking too why my one eye is small. I can't just explain to everyone why my left eye is small,lols. So it's better to just cover it just be pretty in their eyes without asking so many questions, hahaha.

Closing Thoughts:

Many people suffers bullying, wether young or old because bullies do not know what's the true story behind their victims. What their victims are really going through despite the harassment they experience from them. It is difficult for the victims to bear the pain caused by their insults and teasing. Especially if it's not their fault what others see in them.

People must learn to respect and treat others right no matter what they see. Because not all the time you can make it funny to laugh at something you don't even know what really happened to that person. Respect should be for everyone, not just for those who you want to respect.

Lead Image: Canva App

12
$ 4.21
$ 3.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of nheng1118
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nheng1118
3 years ago

Comments

totoo yan sis..during elem days natin.me mga ka batch tau na mahilig mang bully ng schoolmate nila.. insecurities in thier life always come out..they don't even think that they might hurt the feeling's of others.or put there self in that situation

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True yan gang highschool danas ko din yang pangbubully na yan haha..Akala mo kasi mga perpekto Sila..and mukhang kulang sa pangaral ng magulang πŸ˜…πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people are just really like that. Saying words that may hurt others, but they don't care. It's why we see our supposed "flaws" as insecurities instead of embracing them. I hope that by now, those will fade over time and that people will learn how to be more sensitive of others' feelings. If people only apply the golden rule, no one has to suffer. Don not do unto others what you don't want them to do unto you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

..so true, I hope all people will learn how to respect others..and it should be taught at home first.. parents should be responsible to teach their children how to respect while they are young..I pity those children who grew up disrespectful..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lucky me I didn't experience that kind of thing. Parang walang ganyan samin non di uso ganon. Or baka diko lang nakikita kaso palihim na ginagawa. Grabi din mga kabataan today ee wagas maka bully. Lalo na sa SocMed nakakaawa ang mga victims tsk.

Pero, wala naman akong nakikitang kakaiba sa eyes mo ah. Normal naman sya sakin so why πŸ€”. You're are pretty.πŸ’™

$ 0.00
3 years ago

..yes sis maybe di mo lang nakikita pero for sure meron yan kasi walang lugar or school na walang buli talaga..

..ewan ko ba siguro sa trauma na din talaga kaya much better to hide nalang for me para di na pansinin yung mata ko hehe..kulang nalang maglagay din ako takip gaya kay captain hook hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seriously I hate bullying. You looked so cute as a little girl. I could not tell you have a smaller eye on the last photo. They look fine to me. You are young and beautiful so don't worry about what people are saying. Nobody is perfect, but most people forget this fact.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

..aw thank you for seeing me as a cute child lols..yeah that's so true nobody's perfect, but well in my case i just preferred to hide it rather than hear or see others talking about it..and sometimes when someone's looking in my eyes i just felt embarrassed, maybe because of the trauma that I've experienced before too..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes it can be because of that. I was bullied once. I joined to our local football team. I am a slim guy and one of the stroger guy made a fun of me because of that. Of course it is not a good feeling to hear these kind of things. I worked in a hotel where we had lots of customers including mental disabled too. We were taught that do not stare at them. They feel bad about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is something I hate too. Bullying Children and they still continue to do so. I have also encountered this before because of my own deformity. My mom would scold and tell me to adjust myself when I was a kid but the more I try to, I still feel comfortable with it. I just had to leave it that way. Since I was born with it.

This is why I don't find trouble because they will bully me using that my deformity.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

..It is sad that there is such a person in the world. They did nothing but criticize others. There are really some people that have no respect for others. πŸ˜” So sometimes, you really just have to adjust to them to avoid their bullying. πŸ˜”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

On tour last pic, your eyes doesn't look like smaller tha the other, I fact it looks normal to me. People who loves to bully reflects the problems they are going through, they act tough but inside of them, they are weak that is why they get your attention.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

..aw thanks for seeing it like normal.. ☺️ been hiding that eye all my life..trying to avoid bullies all around.. 😌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

schools and other societies really need to stop these kind of acts done by various persons, they not only demotivate the child , instead they reduce the confidence level to downward. I was never bullied and never let anyone to bully any person around me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

..so true.. children's must be taught at home how to respect others..it is the parents/guardians responsibility to teach their kids.. 😌 too hard to be bullied especially with childrens without their parents to protect them..

$ 0.00
3 years ago