Keeping Motivated with Rewards

28 37
Avatar for nenen30
3 years ago

I love the feeling of sitting back after a long day and having a sense of accomplishment and progress. In this new normal of working and learning from home, this feeling can be very difficult to achieve. I often find myself feeling burned out, distracted, and generally unproductive. The first hour or two of studying often goes pretty smoothly. However, soon after that first hour I begin to really lose steam. I find myself getting distracted by social media, mindlessly reading instead of actually engaging with the material, or, in the worst case scenario, just quitting altogether. When these begin to happen I lose track of time. Before I know it, it’s the end of the day, and I’m left without that feeling of accomplishment.

How do I get that feeling back? Small rewards. This fairly simple solution allows me to feel exponentially more productive and relieves many of my feelings of burnout and fatigue. While this solution may not sound significant, it has had a surprisingly large impact. Just one or two rewards after studying has drastically improved how I feel throughout the day.

Let me describe a typical day. At the beginning of my study session, I set a specific goal that I can achieve within an hour or two. The goal could be anything from completing ten practice problems to reading a chapter from my textbook. Along with my goal, I come up with a small reward that I can indulge in after I have completed the task. I use a variety of rewards, but some of the most common ones that I find myself coming back to are listening to music or to a podcast, enjoying one of my favorite snacks or coffees, or going on a short walk. The specific reward is more about my mood than it is about the task I am working on. For example, some days I really crave coffee, so that becomes my reward for that day. On other days, I feel the urge to get outside, so I choose walking as my reward.

While I am working on my goal, I can always look forward to the reward that I set to prevent me from getting distracted or veering off task. The reward also gives me a short time to relax after a period of hard work. Recently, I have found that going on a ten to fifteen minutes walk while listening to a podcast or audiobook is a very effective reward for me. 

While I’m walking, drinking coffee, or listening to music, I try to completely forget about anything related to work. I don’t worry about what my next goal will be or how many tasks I still have to do. I use this time purely as a way to relax and recuperate–to reward myself–after completing my last goal.

Once I have indulged myself, I come back to my studies with a clear mind and recharged energy. I set a new goal with a new reward, and I start the process over again. While something as simple as drinking a coffee or going for a walk is not a magic productivity booster, it has helped me break up my days into more manageable chunks. Overall, this new way of organizing my day has had a profound impact on my attitude and emotional state throughout the day. Not only does it make me feel It makes me feel more refreshed and productive, it also makes the day more enjoyable!

10
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @annoftheroses
Sponsors of nenen30
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nenen30
3 years ago

Comments

Hi nenen, I love your inspiring article now about motivation. You know , I feel mentally energized when I am motivated each day. If we have motivation in life, we feel that we can achieve anything. It's important also that we need to be motivated to work towards our goals which helps our dreams become a reality.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes also your right dear..being motivated is always have a confidence of self.. thanks dear Angzzz....keep supporting us..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Many wrote a beautiful article.

If you drink coffee, your stomach is not full, but if you drink a coffee, you get a lot of good concentration at work. Before I sit down to read I drink a cup of coffee for which my mind is set on reading. I feel very peaceful.🧡

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah dear... exactly your right...thank you always dear you don't leave me... keep supporting us...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am always by your side dear.😘 I am also very happy that you support me a lot.🤩

But I can't always comment on you due to my busy with Studying schedule.😒

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's okay dear.. study is the most important to us..so take your time and study well

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow very inspiring article friend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please keep on writing my friend. You can expect me to read your new inspirong article that you will publish.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm thankful because your here... always ro support me...and also to others...God blessed you..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No problem dear, on this website we need to help each other in order to earn points.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes dear exactly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And i promise you will expect my support my friend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks dear and also me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like your story very much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

really awesome your daily life work ,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks dear... keep supporting us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You always write good article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow thanks dear...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow another very inspiring article friend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you very much dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Every hardwork with motivation always give rewards for those who keep doing good deeds in their life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah...all of good work have an a rewards..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Goor artical.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago