What makes this year's birthday celebration different?

2 21
Avatar for nathawriter
1 year ago
Topics: Education, Birthday

Thank you for renewing your sponsorship, @trifecta. I took it as a birthday present from you, hehe.

Sponsors of nathawriter
empty
empty
empty

Last May 13, I turned 22 years old.

From pre-school to senior high school, the month of May was marked as our summer vacation. This is the reason why I didn't celebrate my birthdays in school. How lucky I am to be able to celebrate my special day without having to worry about class. Also, I can avoid my friends and classmates, who, I am certain, will request that I should treat them to lunch haha. I went to school for 12 years and never truly celebrated my birthdays while studying.

I assumed things would change once I started college because the university's school year I enrolled in, runs from August to May of the following year. But that didn't happen.

May 13th, 2018 - The date of my birthday is Sunday.

May 13, 2019 - Despite the fact that it was a Monday, Duterte declared the day a special nonworking holiday in honor of Election Day.

May 13, 2020 - The class was canceled due to the pandemic's lockdown.

As the covid 19 pandemic continues to affect the country, the school has decided to embrace the new normal, which includes online classes. Year 2021 was my first time celebrating my birthday while studying. I can still recall what happened on May 13, 2021. Instead of rejoicing, I concentrated solely on writing my assigned part in our thesis' first chapter. I recall my neighbor, who was also celebrating his birthday at the time, being overjoyed because I could hear the karaoke coming up to our house, as I sat at my computer all day haha.

I continued to celebrate my birthday with school-related activities this year. As part of our four-webinar series, I had two webinars to attend last May 13th, as I mentioned in my previous article.

I woke up at 9:00 a.m. to participate in the day's first webinar. That was all about the advertising profession and how to get started in it. It was over after an hour, so I ate my breakfast before getting ready for the next webinar at 2:00 p.m., which would cover how to create a résumé and a portfolio.

The second webinar was done later at 4:00 pm. I immediately prepare myself after that because I had birthday plan with my friends to celebrate my special day.

We eat at a local unli wings store near our place. Fortunately, my two sisters gave me a cash birthday gift, allowing me to treat two of my close friends. I also got a sandal for myself as a birthday gift.

I arrived at home around 8:00 p.m. I watched Leni-Kiko's Pasasalamat Facebook Livestream. Last week was difficult for me since I was disappointed by the election results. My birthday wish was for Leni and Kiko to win, but things didn't work out. Anyway, the aforementioned livestream gave peace in my mind. I am also looking forward to volunteering with the Angat Buhay Organization that will be headed by Leni Robredo. Yes, Tuloy ang Pagtindig!

I spent my entire special day feeling grateful and blessed for everything I have. I am hoping that my 22-year-old self will be more productive especially once I graduate from college in July and start working.

5
$ 2.86
$ 2.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @kli4d
$ 0.02 from @SuperJulalaine
+ 1
Sponsors of nathawriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nathawriter
1 year ago
Topics: Education, Birthday

Comments

It was said that it is better late than never. So, please allow me to greet you a belated happy birthday. May you God will give the desires of your heart.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May you enjoy that graduation and life after it. Happy birthday kadate mo si Faith20 and chickspere 13 ng noise.cash.

What will be your goal before July here? May you able to gain it so you can be joyful that day too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago