Stop Body Shaming

0 14
Avatar for nalyn
Written by
1 year ago

August 15, 2022

Hi guys. How are you? I hope you're fine. Another grind again. Wishing that someday, for us who always keeps on grinding will achieve the things that we want, hoping that all our hardships / sacrifices will be paid off in the perfect time.

I am not sleepy that is why I composed an article.


Let me tell you first if why did I make an article about BODY SHAMING. Yesterday, our vice president in the company I am working with passby our department and almost all of us there are thin, but not that totally thin. She started telling "Luh! Ang papayat niyo dito." And she started asking each one of us if what is our weight and with that scene, I told myself to write an article about this issue.

That's all for my introduction.


Have you ever heard about the word "BODY SHAMING?"

Let me define first this to you.

Body shaming is the act of discriminating / tell negative statements to a person with regards to another person's body structure.

Lots of people do this to a person who is fat or thin.

Telling something about a person's flaw with regards to their body figure is not okay whether you are just kidding.


Did somebody ever tell you these words about your self / body?

For those who are thin:

"Bakit ang payat mo?"

"Kumakain ka pa ba?"

"Isang pitik ko lang sayo, tumba ka"

Tapos kapag humahangin, biglang may magsasabing:

"Uy, kumapit ka, baka maitangay ka ng hangin"

And for those who are fat:

"Bakit ang taba mo?"

"Napabayaan ka siguro sa kusina noh?"

"Parang palagi ka sa birthday"

"Magdiet ka naman"

Tapos pag naglalakad ka, may magbibirong magsabi ng: "Lumilindol"

And any other more.

For those who are telling this ones, they consider it as only "biro" but they really do not know the impact on our side, they are insensitive on how the other person will feel for those words that they consider "biro".

Before telling a person their flaws, please remember that not all people will just let it go. Some people are really sensitive when it comes to this matter.

If you are going to ask me if am I sensitive or not, my answer is "Yes"

I still remember, maybe that was 2years ago, I have this coworker and she tell me something about my body flaws, and I answered her back. I was mad at her that time. I did not talk to her for week but after it, she talked to me, I explained my side, I even cried that time and she's really sorry. And from that time on, she calls me "yats" and I call her "tabs" but she's not that too fat.

Yes, I am "thin" and no matter how much I want to gain more weight, my body just can't. Yes, I always eat rice everyday but some of you are aware that gaining and losing weight is both a struggle.

Yes, we may say that there are people who easily gains weight when they wanted to and there are also people who can lose weight easily when they wanted it also but remember that all of us are not the same.

There are really people who has difficulty in gaining weight even if they eat much. And there are also people who wants to lose weight, to the point that they are doing everything just to lose weight but it never worked.

We are not the same, so STOP comparing, that does not make sense though.

What are the negative effects of Body Shaming?

Body shaming can pull down an individual. Body shaming is a form of discrimination and may cause an individual losing their self-confidence and will start to be insecure about themselves and sometimes it ends up hating her / his ownself, starting to question if why is he / she like that.

Body shaming hurts other person's feeling and for those who are body shamers, I will ask you, "Are you happy that because of you, someone who loves herself / himself is no longer happy, having no confidence about himself / herself?"


For those who had been told the statements above, answer this question with a YES or NO

*Did you ever feel insecure when you look yourself infront of a mirror?

*Did you ever wish, that you have different body structure?


Love your flaws guys, because when you accept and love your flaws, no matter any person will tell something negative to you, it won't hurt you that much because you accepted your flaws and from that time, no one can hurt your feelings.

For those who keeps on discriminating a person with regards to their size / physical apperance, just STOP. It won't make you more beautiful / handsome from that individual, rather it will make you even a person with a bad image.

Stop discriminating, it won't help you. You may tell what you wanted to tell to that person but that does not mean you are perfect. Look at yourself, no one is perfect anyway, each and everyone had their diffirences, all we have to do is to accept our differences.

Others may look physically fit, that does not mean they are healthy, no matter what is your size as long as you are not prone to any sickness or you do not usually get sick, you are healthy. And that is the most important thing.

2
$ 1.33
$ 1.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of nalyn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nalyn
Written by
1 year ago

Comments