Bangus Festival

1 37
Avatar for nalyn
Written by
1 year ago

May 2, 2022

Hi guys, how is your day? It is the second day of the month and let's start grinding again. Did not have much time yesterday that is why this will be my first article during this month of May.

Lots of writers track their earnings every month and some of them even set a goal that they should reach a certain amount for the month. This is also what I am going to do starting this month.


Last Saturday, April 30 is the celebration of Bangus Festival in Dagupan City. I am not from there but I've been working in that city for almost 7 years in a well known drugstore here in the North.


The city had the chance again to celebrate the Bangus Festival because we all know that Covid19 what had done to us. For my 7 years stay in the city, this is my third time to watch some of their programs.

In the afternoon, the "KALUTAN ED DALAN" (grilling along the street) was performed. Of course, milkfish (BANGUS) where grilled in this time but besides that some also have their barbecues, hotdogs for additional.

For those who do not know, Dagupan City made it to the Guinness World of Record last 2003 for the World's Longest Barbecue. "The longest barbecue measured 1,007.56 meters that was created by the people of Dagupan City"


Yesterday, me and my officemates had an agreement to watch bands during this time. Since I have work yesterday and some of them were not asked to go to work, that is why ee decided to see each other after my work.

Lots of popular bands were there but sad to say they are with different stages. If I am not mistaken there are 7 stages all in all.

We wanted to see Andrew E. because as they say, he will go there. But since me and my workmates meet by 5pm, we didn't saw Andrew E. there because they said that he already performed by 4pm, so we were late for 1hour.


Me and my workmates ( we were four plus the daughter of one of our workmate, total we were 5 ) walked around along the road and all of us were craving for hotdogs because some people were also grilling hotdogs instead of bangus.

As we were walking around, we are lucky enough to see that the company I am working with participated also in the event. We saw our co-workers grilling. They told us to come over and have some merienda. They offered softdrinks to us and someone from us have the courage enough to asked if they have hotdogs, and yes, they have. So, the two grilled the hotdogs. They also give us one grilled bangus.

My workmates

After eating the hotdogs, we left and had some walk again. After the "Kalutan Ed Dalan" was done, of course live performances of the live bands will be next.

We standby the Stage 4 because the "The Juans" were there. We were there at around 6:30pm, someone announced that they will start at exactly 6:45pm so we waited patiently. It's already 6:45 but they did not start it yet until it is now 7:05, it did not start. We got mad and we left. It's as if we were waiting for something that will not arrive.

We had our dinner, we ate "pigar pigar" this one is famous in Dagupan and we also ate the bangus that our co-workers gave.


After eating dinner, we left at the main area of the event and went to another event but still in Dagupan City. I won't tell much if why is there a two event in the same city since it is controversial. If you want to know, there are social medias for you to know this issue.


When we were almost there, we are hearing Adie's voice singing Paraluman but we were sad because that was his last song and we didn't even saw him on stage.

After Adie's performance, the popular band Ben&Ben is next in line. They first sang the song "Pagtingin" and on the very first line of the song, you can see that the crowd was enjoying that much and so I am. Even though we were at the back, too much crowd and the weather is too hot, it didn't stop us to enjoy.

Second, they sang "Maybe the Night", I also like this song, third one is "KATHANG-ISIP" is a sad song but I also like this. Fourth one is "MAHIWAGA", I am not really familiar this song (lyrics) but I know the chorus part, it was the very first time that I heard the whole song and started liking it. I will download the song later and I will listen to it over and over again until I want it. Yeah, that is what I always do when when I am inlove with a song. Haha. But I use earphones so that my companions will not order me to stop playing music. Lol.

All in all they sang 5 songs. I am not familiar with the last song that is why I can not tell you if what was it.

After their performance, it started drizzling. They already lighted up the fireworks because there is a high probability that it will rain.

The last shot of the fireworks display

Then few moments later, it started raining. Good thing is, whenever I go out, I always bring with me an umbrella. Lots of people do not have umbrellas, some chose to feel the rain and some went to places who have shade.

Minutes later, the rain stopped. We were happy because next one to perform was SpongeCola, but after a few minutes, it started raining again, compared to the first rain, the second one rained that much and even longer. We waited patiently again for the rain to stop. All of our shoes, pants were wet and our t-shirts were barely wet.

Then the rain stopped, the moment it stopped, we went their near the stage and this time we were seated. As we were sitting, all we know is that they are setting up again the stage but sadly they were packing the intruments already and said that SpongeCola will not be able to perform since it is dangerous when they will plug in the musical instruments and speakers because they were wet and might create a ground.

Sad but even though it is just okay with me, that they will not perform, lots of people went their just to see SpongeCola it didn't happen. Some even came from other towns of Pangasinan and I feel sad for them.

I am quite sad because we waited for the rain to stop and hoped that we will watch them but the rain eventually stopped the event.

Even though it rained, our experience there last Saturday is another moments to cherish.


Thank you to my sponsors, I really appreciate you.

Sponsors of nalyn
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 2.04
$ 2.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of nalyn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for nalyn
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Happy Bangus Festival friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago