Vegan English Breakfast

3 29
Avatar for mypathtofire
1 year ago

Hello V-Gang!,

This week I am back in the kitchen preparing a tasty vegan English breakfast for me and my wife.

I've always enjoyed a full monty since I was a young adult. It would always be good to visit a greasy spoon (cafe) for an English breakfast or to rustle up breakfast for me and my mates back in the day.

Now that I prefer to eat vegan, I have adjusted the breakfast to accommodate this. When I first tried vegan a few years ago now, I would have some vegan or vegetarian sausages, but over time I have ditched the replacement products and focused on the original vegan ingredients that are left and some variations where I have gotten some inspiration from for example The Happy Pear in Ireland.

The ingredients you need for two are:

  • 3/4 Hash Browns

  • 1 Tin of Baked Beans

  • 1 Tin of Plum or Chopped Tomatoes

  • 2/3 Slices of Bread (I've used gluten-free)

  • 1/2 an Onion

  • 1/2 Punnet of Mushrooms

  • Margarine

  • 3 Tablespoons Vegetable Oil

  • Squeeze of Mustard

  • Tablespoon of Sugar

  • Salt and Pepper to taste

I first start by peeling the mushrooms, this is the worst part of preparing the breakfast. I then cut them into quarters and add them to the frying pan.

I then found a large onion.

It needs to just be cut in half and then in strips as we want something to grab hold of with our fork.

Adding some vegetable oil, I let it simmer on a medium heat while I move on to the next task. The key to a perfect English breakfast is timing and being able to multi-task correctly.

While that cooks, I have preheated the oven already for 5 minutes ready for the hash browns. I put them in and let them cook. They need at least 20/25 mins depending on how crispy you want them. I like them a bit softer, my wife more crunchier.

No English breakfast would be complete without baked beans. Add them to a pan and put them on a just above low heat to cook very slowly. Depending on the brand, make sure to add some water so that there is some sauce. I also added some pepper for extra taste.

Next up is the tinned tomatoes. Put a half a tin of preferrably plum tomatoes into a small pan and add some mustard for extra flavor. Also add some sugar to sweeten them up a bit. I used chopped tomatoes here as I didnt have any plum tomatoes left, it was improvising a bit, but it worked just as well.

An alternative is you can use a fresh plum or beef tomatoe, cut in half and fry it in the pan.

The onions are cooking nicely but need a bit longer.

The mushrooms are looking good. They are changing color. The key is not to let them dry out completely so they still are soft and have some flavor. Near the end of the frying, you can add some salt and pepper to taste.

The tomatoes with mustard are mixed in and have been cooking nicely here. It's time to put the toast on. I've used a gluten-free variant here as it tastes better and doesn't give you that heavy after-wheat feeling that you get with wheat.

While your toast is toasting, you can plate up the remaining ingredients. The final step is to add some margarine to the toast if you like.

It is a filling breakfast with plenty of different textures but you will not have that heavy feeling afterward still.

The mushrooms are a big part of the breakfast and are one of my favorites to eat.

It tastes as good as it looks.

That's plain orange juice, not a screw driver. It is far too early for that sort of thing!

That's it for this week.

My other recipes:

Homemade Vegan Bigos - My First Polish Dish
Vegan Spanish Style Chilli
Vegan Cauliflower Curry
Fusilli Bolognese ala Vegan - Glutenfree Edition
A Twist on a German Classic!
Mushroom Curry made with love and leftover ingredients

Credits:

Title image created by myself in Canva with their free to use clipart. Above VEGAN image created by myself in Canva with inspiration from the TShirts made by Tim Schieff that you can see here.

All photos are my own.

Sponsors:

Sponsors of mypathtofire
empty
empty
empty

Let's connect : mypathtofire

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for mypathtofire
1 year ago

Comments

I am am always been curious about vegan people, but now I can see that they must have a healthy lifestyle. Just wanna ask if what about those sauce who got meat flavor? Is it an exemption or you really avoid it too?

$ 0.01
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most sauces are made from vegetables, herbs and spices to add flavor. You dont need to avoid ery much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago