What a priceless existence really is

Avatar for ms.haleya_
3 years ago

For almost two decades of subsistence here on Earth, there is one statement that lingers in my mind― "The most beautiful things in life are free."

Peculiar, isn't it? A 10-year old who loves to hoard stuffs in a toy kingdom wouldn't even understand what that actually means. I remember the exact moment where my mother granted me that wisdom. As a compensation to that strange line, I disagreed.

''How could beautiful things are free?" Recalling every little possessions a kid once desired, they have one thing in common― they cost pennies. As I walk in the store's aisle, each display has a tag on it. From the smallest item to the massive ones, someone has to spend money in order to take them into the counter and officially own them. A cone of chocolate-chip ice cream would probably cost some dollars. Louis Vuitton is pricey and high-class brand, having a purchase from it is indeed a piece of heaven. So how could my mother tell that beautiful things are free?

Even If I always question her about that line before we go to bed, she just simply smile and pinch my cheeks. She doesn't mind to answer nor giving a hint. Just smiling and throwing me a someday-you'll-know look. I will never forget how that line of her left a big question mark in my mind. Growing up, I took that words with me everywhere and every situation I face.

As time passes by, the set up has changed. A cone of ice cream doesn't make me smile anymore. Barbies, colorful clothes, neither of these make my dimples appear. I had a hard time in finding what really makes me happy. Why is it so? I used to be so cheerful when my Dad comes home knowing he has something to surprise me. Material things may have a use for my everyday routine, but not a special connection with my heart. I've grown into a woman who wants to live a meaningful life. However, it seemed to be so difficult.

Seconds, minutes, hours, days, week, month, and years have elapsed, I still can't find the answer regarding to my mother's line. Until I have started a life that I did not imagine I will live by. I had to go to our province due to some financial reasons. From being a materialistic child who has everything she wishes, I shifted into a simple human. I rarely get what I want. I have to work for something I need. There were days that I have cried to sleep, hoping that life gets better. I've realized, am I really happy with my life before? Or it is just the wealth that gives satisfaction to my materialistic inner self? I uttered to myself, I should never go back to what I was. Since then, I have learned how to appreciate little things. The moment I wake up, I thank God for having the chance to welcome another day. As I open the window curtain, the sunshine automatically brightens up my morning. A sip of freshly brewed coffee, a 5 am walk, and a glimpse of a green grassy land― they all have one thing in common. These thin,gs give joy in my heart to the point that it want to explode. Associating with other people, greeting each other a nice day ahead. The things that I have neglected before, turned out to be the things that really give serotonin. It inspired me to continue striving and finding the purpose I should fulfill.

Perhaps, my mother is right. The most beautiful things in life are free. The stars, the moon, the sky shining― our guidance during the night. The sun that gives light, the view of birds soaring high upon the cloudy sky― day time vibes. In fact, we are all lucky enough to see, to feel, to hear and to touch the masterpieces existing. Truly, they are wonderfully and beautifully made. Amazing how the creator provided us with those things without demanding us to pay back. From that day a realization hit me, life seems to be filled with ease. Life revealed the true essence of peaceful and meaningful life. No tons of money involved, only piece of nature, simplicity, contentment and inner peace. Maybe this is what my mother means when she said that wisdom to me years ago.

Summing it up, life teaches us the harder way. It will probably twist our fate, but put your doubts aside, it will be worth it. I thought life with having everything you need and what are the things that will make you settled. Fortunately, life aimed to make me understand what a priceless existence existence really is. Up until now, my life is well-driven. Surrounded by the little things that gave and continuously giving big impacts in my entity, now I know why my mother wanted me to learn it all by myself. Experience is the best teacher. My mother's iconic statement she has shared to me when I was a decade old, is also one of the mantra I surely treasure in my entire lifetime.

So if you are having a gap in your heart right now, trying to find the happiness you currently desire to have, all I can say is to appreciate little things. It doesn't cost any single penny. We, human beings, should not cling into the physical and material things. Just like what Jessie J says, money can't buy happiness. It may give you temporary smile, but the real happiness is you should explore within yourself. Perhaps, my mother is right. A real existence is equivalent to a priceless one.

Sponsors of ms.haleya_
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 8.76
$ 8.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @cryptoph
Sponsors of ms.haleya_
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ms.haleya_
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Good luck be 💓

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ate!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

welcome in Read.cash Sis, do not forget to read the pointers of the@TheRandomRewarder about blogs that get tips. Also, let us connect in Noise.cash/u/mscryptoph. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the warm welcome, will take note of that. :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago