Visit to Visegrad

2 20
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Hello everyone! I am here with stories from my vacation, finally. After so many things happening and sabotaging me, it's a time for me to share some stories from my holiday and to show you some cities that I visited. The first stop on our trip was Visegrad.

Visegrad is a city in Bosnia and Herzegovina, best known for a beautiful bridge, The Mehmed Pasa Sokolovic bridge, or Bridge over the Drina river. But this bridge is mostly called and known as "Na Drini cuprija" which is the name of the book that Ivo Andric wrote about this bridge, and won Nobel Prize for it for literature, in 1961. The bridge was finished in 1577. and building it took 6 years. Its length is 179.5 meters. Architect was Mimar Sinan, but it was ordered by Grand Vizier Mehmed Pasa Sokolovic and that is why it's named after him. This bridge belongs to UNESCO World Heritage.

We didn't travel long until we reached Visegrad, because it is close to the Serbian border, but we arrived there very early. This is because it was not our final destination for the day, and we didn't want to be there too late. So we were there before 8am, and most things didn't work. The sun was already out, and we used the time to take a walk over the bridge. Once we reached the other side, we saw there is a road uphill, that could possible lead to the place with the nice view of the bridge. It was not too long that we realized that the road was very bad, but we didn't give up and made it to the top. And it was worth it, since there was a great view of the bridge and city. Other positive side of an early visit, is the fact that it was almost empty, both city and bridge.

We spent there and on our way back some time, so it was already 8 o'clock and cafes were open. Before sitting in a cafe, I wanted to visit some local markets. My goal was to buy "dzezva" which is a little pot for making coffee, but I didn't find anything that worked for me. However, the seller was quite charming, welcomed me with some homemade brandy and said I was his first costumer of the day. I ended up buying a pepper mill that we needed at home, and I got some magnets as a gift.

Then we sat down for coffee, enjoyed coffee and view of the bridge from the other side. If we were there later in the day, and had more time, we would also visit Drvengrad (which means city of wood). But other than that, I have to say, I am not sure that the city has more to offer. Don't get me wrong, the bridge is beautiful and something to see, but the rest of the city just looks regular to me.

Other stuff that you can do here is take a half hour boat drive on the river Drina, which I believe is very nice, but due to our time limit, we didn't go to it this time.

Can't wait to share more stuff and photos with you guys, this is just a start. Hopefully internet, electricity and my phone won't sabotage me more. Also, I changed my writing ritual a bit. I love to post at night, but sometimes I am too tired and go straight to bed, but now I will write my post during the day, and just publish it later.

All photos in this article, including the lead photo, are original, and I own them.

Thank you for reading my post ^^

4
$ 1.09
$ 0.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
$ 0.05 from @Duvinca
+ 1
Avatar for moonlight22
1 year ago

Comments

This is a great place for vacation indeed! I want to visit that place if I will be given a chance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, wonderful landscapes! Happy that you have enjoyed despite technology and sabotages! During holidays is difficult to keep the same routines also for writing and posting but it's a good time to take some time into nature and disconnect a bit, later it's time to tell us all!

$ 0.00
1 year ago