Champorado

24 27
Avatar for moneymakinghub
3 years ago

Champorado or Filipino chocolate rice porridge is a traditional Filipino breakfast. Made with sticky rice and pure cacao tablets, it’s rich, creamy and very chocolatey; just the kind of boost we need in the morning!

I grew up eating champorado (pronounced exactly as it’s spelled: champ-o-ra-do) or Filipino chocolate rice porridge. It’s traditionally eaten for breakfast, though I also eat it for mid-morning snack, afternoon snack, dinner and even dessert! (I eat like a hobbit lol).

There are a lot of variations of champorado recipe (e.g. made with oatmeal or cocoa powder) but my favourite is still the kind my grandmother makes – sticky or glutinous rice + tablea (the same cacao tablets used for tsokolate or Filipino hot chocolate).

Luckily, champorado is so easy to make. It doesn’t take much time at all in the morning. (For the detailed recipe, please scroll to the bottom where you will find a printer-friendly recipe card.)

  • DISSOLVE TABLEA. In a medium saucepan, boil water. Add roughly chopped tablea and stir until dissolved.

  • COOK RICE. Add glutinous or sticky rice and brown sugar and stir. Bring down to a simmer and cook until the rice is cooked through and until the mixture reaches the consistency of porridge (15-20 minutes). Stir occasionally.

[bad iframe src]

  • ENJOY! We usually serve it warm topped with milk and with salty fish on the side (if we can find salty fish or tuyo here. Otherwise, bacon will do too!).

Thank you for reading this article.

5
$ 0.00
Avatar for moneymakinghub
3 years ago

Comments

😱Wow champorado very yummy🤤😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I made this and it turned out great...Thanks so much for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No problem.. :) thanks for always visiting my articles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woah... That's the first time i heard information.. Hehe however, thanks for the nice comment

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was a surprise even for me to learn that champorado, according to a 1950s Department of Education textbook, was invented by Jose Rizal!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, this is my first ever seen champorado,because you say it’s philipino recipe and looks yammi. I have to make it in my home to see these description and you said these beautiful way

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah very good food to try. :) thanks for visiting my article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I want to get your support also, please subscribe me and make some comments on my article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah lets support each other article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay Let's start

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I aslo Subscribe your id ,pls Subscribe my id pls pls my dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No problem to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No probke

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow look like very delicious food,i am hungry

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah you better try it delicious food

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yummy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah simple but very good food

$ 0.00
3 years ago

that food is so yummy. i like it. that is my one of my favorite food but sometimes na umay pag madami hahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, almost every kids and adult favorite breakfast or merienda of all. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeahhh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I used to buy and cook this recipe sometimes, classic dish that most filipinos known, and loved. by its chocolaty taste and makes you full because of rice content of it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah kids today and kid's at heart always loved champorado. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago