My Unforgivable Mistake

3 28
Avatar for mommyganda
2 years ago
Topics: Crime

Since I enrolled my bank account for the online banking, I am very cautious for any possible hacking and unauthorized transactions. Keeping in mind always that there are many different modus operandi of online hackers and scammers online.

One of these modus is the phishing emails. I've heard of so many stories of depositors being victim of these phishing emails, how they'd been victim of it. Some banks have added some safety feature for their depositors to check if the emails they received are really coming from them. Because of it I am fully aware how to keep my money safe from online hackers.

Not until May 4, 2021 morning. I received an email from my bank informing me that a transfer fund transaction was made. The email gave me the full details of the transaction and if it not me who made it, I can cancel the transaction by clicking the portion with "click here". After clicking it, I was directed to the official website of my bank and pretty sure that I was at the legit site, I entered my log in details and approve an unknown device.

I sensed immediately that there was something so I immediately changed the password of my online account but its too late. My money was gone in a minute and the email I was looking onto was deleted in my own eyes while I was reporting what happened to the customer service of my bank.

Clicking on the "click here" was the unforgivable mistake I ever committed. The hacker got my money in a twink of an eye. My urge to save my money from being transferred by someone who I thought had the access to my account and because I did not made any transaction amounting to that neither put my money more in danger. My urgency to cancel the transaction paved the way for the hacker to have a legit access to my account.

That incident gave me a trauma and up to now my heart aches everytime it flashes back on my mind. Because of that stupid mistake caused my money to be stolen by this bank account hacker.

Next time, no more clicking. If I receive emails from my bank about a certain transaction, I will call the bank (which I should have done) immediately and inform them about the email I received.

Hope what happened to me will serve as a warning to all of you. Never CLICK ANY LINK on emails sent to you. The best and safest way to know the legitimacy of the email is to CALL YOUR BANK.

3
$ 0.69
$ 0.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Achilles
Avatar for mommyganda
2 years ago
Topics: Crime

Comments

Just be extra careful next time mi, specially on this days that most people are at home and use online traction more than before. That's is why there are more crime on the internet than on streets right now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hackers become more and more creative in finding new credible ways to retrieve these precious information (passwords; etc). Unfortunately, not a lot is done to implement a better cybersecurity and it feels like it's the Far West. Your advice is good: call the bank if you have any doubts! Even though I am an avid user of my smartphone, I still frown upon downloading the bank app on my phone; it just feels so risky...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true and they are getting smarter too. Been able to send emails that are very similar to what banks are sending

$ 0.00
2 years ago