Keeping A Healthy Body

0 21
Avatar for mommyganda
2 years ago

A healthy body is always our wealth. This is my mindset now that I became a diabetic.

I was diagnosed as diabetic in April of 2016. I had a severe Urinary Tract Infection at that time and when I came to the doctor for medical check-up, it was discovered that there is sugar in my urine and a blood chemistry laboratory results confirmed it all.

I didn't have a hard time adjusting with my new life as a diabetic since it runs in the family. So I have an orientation on how to deal with it. As a diabetic, you need to have full discipline and control with the food you eat and the lifestyle you'll gonna have plus a constant visit with your doctor to check the status of your health.

October of 2019 when I was working in Baguio City, I went for a check-up there because I was having constant high blood pressure and then again aside from being a diabetic, I also became hypertensive and with high cholesterol level. My maintenance medications grew in numbers. Medicines for hypertension and cholesterol control was added.

Last week, after 8 months since my last visit to a doctor (which is supposedly every 6 months) I had underwent laboratory tests for blood chemistry, ecg, x-ray and urinalysis. An ambulatory blood pressure monitoring with holter machine device were attached to me for 24 hours to monitor my blood pressure and heart rate. It took me days of being anxious because I am thinking that results would come out not good.

But thank God, almost all test results were good. My heart is still ok, my lungs are good and I don't have UTI infection. The only focus of concern is my blood sugar (which is just a little bit above the controlled level), a high cholesterol and a fatty liver. My doctor changed my diabetic medicine with a new one (a cheaper one), retained the medicine for my blood pressure control and added a medicine for cholesterol control and to lower down sgpt level.

It's so hard to be a diabetic if you don't have money to finance all those medical routines and the medications itself. Luckily, I have a health card that covers it all (except of course for the medicines) and there's no reason for me not to have a regular every 6 months medical check- up.

Health is very important because it is our wealth. So if you have all the means to keep your body healthy by having a regular check-up, please do it. Love your self and love your health.

3
$ 0.40
$ 0.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for mommyganda
2 years ago

Comments