A Victim of Online Theft

3 29
Avatar for mommyganda
2 years ago

Last May 6, 2021, I received an email informing me that a fund transfer transaction amounting to P30,000 was made. The email also said that if I did not made the fund transfer, I cancel it by clicking the link given in the email.

Of course, at first I scrutinize well the email which I usually do because I am fully aware of the phising email that's been circulating long before. The email was exactly the same to the one's my bank is sending me whenever they email me. So, I click the link on my desire to cancel the transaction immediately because I did not made any fund transfer and I want to protect the money in my bank at that time.

But that was the damnest mistake I've ever made. I was victimized by a phising email coming from an online thief. I lost the money because of that one mistake.

Honestly, I did not became careless because like I said I've been very very careful eversince. I am fully aware of the phishing scam online. But online thiefs are getting smarter and wiser, they are now sending copycat emails and you will not distinguish anymore that the email you received is a phishing email. It is a real copycat emails.

Right now, my case is under investigation. I have called my bank and reported the incident. They temporarily blocked my online account so that no one can have an access to it. Still waiting for their call for an update of the investigation. My only prayer is for money to be returned on my account if they have proven that I was victimized by online thieves.

Moral of the incident:

If you receive an email informing you of any transaction from your account, NEVER CLICK ANY LINK. Whether you think its a very legit email, disregard any instruction from the email. The best thing you would do, is CALL THE BANK customer service or your bank's officer to clarify about the email you receive.

May 6, 2021 was the worst day I had because of that online thief who stole the hard earned money in my bank. I have left everything to God and I believe that God will take vengeance for me.

3
$ 0.47
$ 0.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for mommyganda
2 years ago

Comments

First I pray your case will refund. Second, yes I also had this friend who has same case with you.. And he told us story about what happened so we gonna be aware too.. I hope someone will read this too so they will prevent lost..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right... thieves and scammers are becoming more clever and creative. And unless we remain vigilant, they will always find ways to get what is not theirs. I hope the bank (they FIND WAYS, di ba?) will be able to get your money back. Soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes they should find way to protect their depositors. They are not exerting any effort to make their emails phishing proof. Most of their depositors are being victimized of this email phising scheme

$ 0.00
2 years ago