To love is to risk. Therefore, to love is to be brave. (prt. V)

0 21
Avatar for molivs
Written by
2 years ago

All of the teams are back to work to finish the remaining jobs. Because of that night, Joj is constantly avoiding Steve and focusing more on the work.

“Dai, anyare? Bakit hindi mo pinapansin si Sir Steve? Noon, pag dumadating siya di maalis yung ngiti sa mukha mo. Kanina ka pa niya tinitingnan oh. Halos di na siya natapos sa ginagawa niya kakatitig sayo” Ziqi said while organizing stuff at the site.

Joj answered, “Wala, Ziq. Wag mo nalang pansinin at ituon mo yung oras mo sa trabaho. Sige na.”

Due to unexpected weather conditions and typhoon, the superiors decided to postpone the constructing of this housing project for the safety of people. In other side, there were few days wherein some people feel sick because of unpredicted rains and storms. Rotational blackout is implemented because of the strong rain and the hotel where they currently in is experiencing power interruption. To amuse oneself, Joj go to the stock room to check if the materials are safe and not dampened by the rain. After checking the materials, Joj walks straightly to the corridor. While she raises the brightness of flashlight, she notices that the gate is locked up. It’s already 12 midnight so she thought that the caretaker checked and locked the gates in every corridor. Joj persistently thinking any possible solutions on how she can come out or reach any person on the building. She enters to another room to find any useable material; she hears unnecessary noise so she feels scared and thought that there is another person or whatever inside the room. She is about to run when someone held his arm and shout loudly,

Hey, hey, hey, hey, don’t shout, don’t shout. Si Steve ‘to.”

“Steve???” “Joj???” they both surprised to see each other in dark room and the strong rain is continuously pouring.

Anong ginagawa mo rito, Steve?”

“I was checking the materials earlier. To make it secured, naghanap ako ng mahabang tela or any pangtabing para hindi mabasa. When I am about to leave this room, the gate is already locked. 12 midnight na pala. So probably nailock ni manong kaya pumasok ako rito find specific spot to sleep. How about you? Ano naman naisipan mo at napunta ka sa room na ‘to?”

“Are you sure Steve?”

“Yes, I am. Ikaw?”

“Ohh, chineck ko rin kasi yung mga materials. Same idea with yours. But pagkalabas ko, nakita kong naka-locked na yung gate ng corridor. So, I’m just thinking to find a material here in this room na pwede magamit para makalabas. Then, I do not even know na nandito ka rin pala.”

Steve answered while smiling, “So, kapag nakakita ka sisirain mo yung lock?” just kidding. “Siguro, dito na tayo magpalipas ng oras. Kahit tawagin or sumigaw tayo hindi rin maririnig dahil sa lakas ng ulan, tska nasa third floor sila. Do not worry, Joj. Wag kang matakot, I am here to protect you.”

Joj is continuously not saying any words as he hears the suggestions of Steve. “Sabagay, wala rin naman tayong dalang cellphone, walang kuryente, umuulan. Paano nga ba makakalabas dito? Joj said silently.

They both find specific spot to lay on. From the right, is Steve’s place and the other side is Joj’s place. Just like in a movie, a moment of silence is too deafening even if the two people have bountiful of thoughts that are too noisy in their minds. Steve break the silence,

Joj, since we are only two in this room. Can we talk again? About last night, I mea---

It’s done, Steve. Okay lang ‘yun. Wag mo nang isipin”.

“But I can’t Joj. Hindi ko kaya na hindi ka isipin. I hope you still want to listen and believe in me.”

“Bakit ako?” Joj said. The moment seems that they should talk and Steve is starting the conversation seriously.

Like what I have said, it’s been 3 years since I saw you walking alone and your eyes seemed in pain. I was inside my car beside the AMC restaurant. Nasa loob ka ‘non talking with your friends happily. When they were left, naiwan kang mag-isa. I was confused that time why would you chose to be left alone pero masaya ka namang kausap sila. Pero nung lumabas ka na, bigla kang pumunta sa kotse ko and nagsalamin ka sa mirror.” Steve is laughing. “Nung nagsalamin ka, dun ko nakita how sad you are especially your eyes can’t deny the sadness you endured. You made pacute that time and lots of facial expressions kaya napatawa mo ako. That day, I found you sort of attractive and you really made my day.”

Sobrang nakakahiya ka Joj! Haaaays!’ Joj said to her mind consciously.

Nakakahiya tuloy Steve na nakita mo akong ganon. Anyway, that day was the exact date of my interview. I applied 3 companies nung araw nayon. Luckily, I was hired in the company where we are currently working. Nung aalis na ako sa resto, I saw someone unexpectedly and that moment brought the pain I was once held for the long time. I felt humiliated when I saw them happy to each other. Para magmukang maayos naman ako, nagsalamin muna ako sa isang sasakyan and I didn’t know na sayo pala ‘yon at nasa loob ka. Haaay, nakakahiya.”

“No, you looked cute that day. Iniisip ko nga, papano kaya kung hindi kita nakita nung araw na ‘yon? Baka hanggang ngayon hindi kita maaalala. You passed me by in elevator, didn’t you remember? When I entered the room, I unexpectedly saw you sitting and I already thought that you were an applicant.”

“Hmm, hindi ko na yata natatandaan. Pero natandaan kita dahil grabe ka magtanong sa ibang aplikante, they looked furious after you interviewed them. Buti nung ako na, you asked some questions about site situations and I answered well, right? Should I thank you right now?” Joj kidding aside.

Steve laughs so hard and Joj can’t contain her laughs too. Steve turns back to Joj’s last questions.

Bakit ikaw? Hindi ko rin alam ang dahilan Joj. Simula nang makita kita sa restaurant na yon at naging workmates pa tayo coincendentally, hindi ka na mawala sa isip ko. Before, there are times that you suddenly popped up in my mind without even knowing or thinking you. Bigla ka nalang pumapasok sa isip ko na para bang ang tagal na nating magkasama at magkakilala. That’s why I feel the connection towards you that day. At ngayon, habang mas nakikilala pa kita, mas lumalalim yung nararamdaman ko sayo Joj. The feeling of wanting you every day and to be with you with the rest of my life. I hope you finally allow yourself to love and to be loved by someone like me. I really adore you Joj, I do hope that you accept my love. Hindi ako titigil iparamdam sayo ‘yon.”

“hmmmmmm”

Are you still awake, Joj?” Steve asked her. But Joj didn’t give any answer and pretending asleep. Though she is not answering, Joj heard all of Steve’s words and the night gets colder as their feelings become deeper. Steve sleeps well too.

After several months, the housing project is about to finish. More than half of the project are well-accomplished and painted. An important meeting has arisen to Mr. Sye and he cannot be able to attend due to his mother’s urgent condition for chemotherapy. Mr. Sye, in a rush, ordered Steve to go in Baguio to represent him as one of the heads and shareholders of the company. It is a two-day meeting in order to allocate budgets and stuff.

Joj, I need someone who is more reliable, other than Mr. Sye, I think you are. It is an important meeting and I need you as my assistant. Could you?” Steve is running to ask Joj while breathing heavily.

“Whhhy m---?” Joj is about giving her answer when Steve speaks, “If it’s no, it’s okay Joj. It is urgent kasi. I need to be there until tonight.”

Steve is rushing because Mr. Sye didn’t inform him that the meeting was tomorrow morning. When Steve is leaving to organize the schedule, Joj suddenly speaks, “Sure, Steve. I can be your assistant. So, what are we going to do?” Joj is smiling to Steve.

Thank you, thank you, Joj!!! Okay see you at 7pm, sunduin kita rito sa hotel. Tell Ziqi everything so that he would not worry about you.” Steve is really happy at the moment.

________________________

The meeting went well and Steve was able to represent the company competitively. There is no doubt that Steve can do all things successfully because he is truly excellent, passionate and work effectively. The place hosted a dinner for all the people who attended the meeting. After the meeting, Steve invites Joj to have a short escapade to Baguio. They traveled and go to the tourist spots where they can view the magnificent beauty of Northern Luzon. At exactly 5pm, they go to the hotel to rest and prepare themselves for the dinner at 7 in the evening.

Did you enjoy the places Joj? Ang ganda lahat ‘no. By the way, be ready before 7pm. May dinner tayong pupuntahan.”

Hmm, siguro hindi na ako makakasama Steve. Napagod yata ako. You should go, dahil isa ka sa mga dapat na nandoon. Don’t worry, I am okay. Matutulog na rin ako neto. And Steve, I just want to thank you for making this day happy and complete. I really enjoyed the time and fun being with you.” Joj said and he kiss Steve on his right cheek. Then, she immediately goes to the CR to hide her romantic excitement and how happy she is. Steve is literally surprise and smiling to the point that he can’t ably utter any words. Afterwards, Steve is preparing himself to attend the dinner. He asks Joj if she completely okay staying in the hotel alone. Joj gives a smile and the assurance that she can manage herself.

The dinner turned out well and Steve is return home safely and slightly drunken. The city lights in Baguio are so fascinating so Joj sip a coffee while staring the beauty of city lights. Steve caught her standing and suddenly feels the longing of physical attachments to someone whom he knew before. He goes towards to Joj and hug her tightly. Joj is surprised that she can’t hold her emotions to Steve. She turns back and see the stunning eyes and good-looking face of Steve.

“Joj, I love you. Please, accept my love.” Steve said as he closely put her face to Joj.

Yes, Steve. I can’t control my feelings anymore. I love---” Joj is not finish yet to say her words when Steve touch her lips and kiss her passionately. Joj can’t resist the strong arms coiled into her body while Steve is continuously kissing her. As their emotions dominate the night, Steve and Joj shares one love they thought would never happen.

Tomorrow morning, Steve woke up first and prepares breakfast for Joj. While he is preparing, Joj catches a glimpse of Steve’s body and realize how happy the night they have shared. At the back of her mind, lots of questions are still.

Steve, about sa kagabi, ahmm, lasing ka so dapat hindi ko pinatulan yung halik mo.”

Steve answered and hold her hands, “No, Joj. I am the one who should say that. I surely know what happened to us, mejo lasing ako at nadala ako. I am sorry if nangyari sa atin yon.”

But, will you stand about what happened to us? Sabihin mo sa akin Steve.”

Yes, Joj. Yes. Mahal kita kaya kahit anong mangayari papanagutan ko yung nangyari sa atin kagabi. I love you, Joj……. So, tayo na ba?”

“Yes, Steve. I always fight with myself na labanan ko yung nararamdaman ko sayo but I can’t either. Maybe I am deeply in love with you, too.” Joj said while laughing to Steve

“Ang tagal kong hinintay makita yung ngiti mo nayan, Joj. Now, you finally letting yourself to be happy, again.”

“Thank you, Steve. For making me feel like this. Sobrang saya ko and I think I am ready to take risk again to fall in love. I love you, too.” “By the way, nabanggit mo sa akin na parang kilala mo na ako before kahit hindi mo pa ako nakikita?”

“Hmmm, yup. I always feel the connection within my hear but not in my mind. You know Joj, I have something to tell you. I have loss of memories and until now I am still adapting on the things that will help me to remember those. Kahit paunti-unti lang. There is always a blurry image of woman who suddenly appeared in my head but I do not even know her. We both seem happy and spending life to each other. Until I see you, I truly felt the connection.”

“Ohh, sorry to hear that. But when was the time you had memory loss?”

“It was his birthday. Mr. Williamford, a business owner, a best friend, a father, and a true man for me. Way back then, nagkaroon ako ng scholarship to study abroad and I grabbed it because it was my childhood dream. Noong nandon na ako sa Sydney, biglang nagback-out yung nagbigay ng scholarship dahil nagkamali raw sa pagkakalagay ng pangalan ko. All the things I need were prepared, but things turned out chaotic. Kaya naging palaboy ako ron dahil hindi naman ganun kadali bumalik ng Pilipinas at wala akong kapera-pera. I was totally wasted and devastated that time when Mr. Williamford approach me and give me a food. That day, Mr. Williamford brought my day to survive and fight to live. Fast-forward, he offered me to work in his business as house boy. I immediately accepted and worked with him. Hindi ko alam kung bakit sinwerte ako non, pinag-aral niya ako at tinuring na parang isang totoong anak niya. He has a family but I do not remember them maybe kasama sila sa nabura kong alaala. It was 15th of May, his birthday, when we were going home, we had a car accident. I was insisting him to look at me because I was capturing a picture of him in my cellphone. Then, he turned his head towards me, gave a wide and happier smile, and I when I opened my eyes, it was the saddest and very distressing moment happened in my life."

Joj is continuously listening and Steve do not aware that his tears are falling.

He died. Yung regalo ko sakanyang relo, hindi ko na naibigay dahil sa pagpupumilit kong litratuhan siya. Kung hindi ko siya pinilit, hindi mangyayari yon. Until today, I regret it. There are times that I blaming myself because of that accident. After that, the doctor said I have retrograde amnesia or lose existing, previously made memories. This type of amnesia tends to affect recently formed memories first. The doctor suggested that I should go back to the Philippines to help me recover the pieces thkse memories. Besides, most of my memories are here in the country kaya his family sent me here. I still undergo treatments and may mga memories akong naalala uncertainly.

“I am sorry Steve to hear that. You had a nightmare experience and have been experiencing losing yourself dahil sa mga pinagdaan mo pala. I understand, Steve. So, the housing project we currently working now is you and Mr. Williamford dream?”

“Yes. Because we both had life of being abandoned and homeless. Nakikita raw niya yung sarili niya sakin kaya tinulungan, pinag-aral niya ako. Kasi naging ganun din siya. Sana nakikita niya ngayon yung pangarap namin na unti-unti nang natutupad.

“Mr. Williamford is definetly proud and happy for you because you finally making your (both) dreams into reality. I am sure he is deeply happy where he is right now.”

“Thank you, Joj. You are the only person whom I narrate how my life was before. Kaya just keep me in your life huh?” Steve and Joj give warm hug to each other.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Is it really you?

or

No, it was her.

0
$ 1.10
$ 1.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for molivs
Written by
2 years ago

Comments