To love is to risk. Therefore, to love is to be brave. (prt. IX)

0 25
Avatar for molivs
Written by
2 years ago

After few days, Steve is finally in conscious. As he opens his eyes, the pain in his head is circling continuously. The doctor gives him the medicine to stop the pain. Joj, who is still in nothingness, called by the doctor for Steve. She walks going to the room like she never knows anything.

Hey, how are you?” Joj asked while Steve is in absence, staring the ceiling.

Steve answered silently, “Simula nang makita ko yung mga mata mo, mahawakan ang kamay mo, mahagkan ka ng parang walang bukas at maramdaman ang pagmamahal na matagal ko nang hindi alam, inakala ko na ikaw ang babaeng paulit-ulit na lumalabas sa isipan ko. Inakala ng isipan ko na ikaw si Trisha. Nang dahil sa akin, nagulo ang pagkakaibigan niyo. if I hadn’t just looked into your eyes, I wouldn’t have come into your life and you wouldn’t have been hurt like this. All I could say to you right now is, I am very sorry Joj. I am very sorry to make you fall into a difficult situation. Sorry, Joj.”

Steve holds her hands. Joj is still sitting beside and when she is able to look at him, tears couldn’t stop falling. She could no longer speak and the only thing she could do is crying. Also Steve while looking to Joj, he can’t help himself and cry, cry, and cry throughout the night.

Due to his condition and the connection, Steve thought that the blurry woman in his mind is Joj. The resemblances between Trisha and Joj made him felt special to Joj. Likewise, the similarities between Steve and Trisha made Joj felt special for Steve. Nobody knows that Steve and Trisha had life before. In the end, Joj took the risk to give the love she was once protected all throughout her life.

Few weeks had passed without communication, Joj is still not seen in the office. Steve calls her continuously but she did not answer. He talks all the people and Joj’s friends and family but he cannot able to find her. Until his phone rings,

How’s your feeling? Are you good?” Steve heard one familiar voice.

Tri--sha? Is that you?” Steve replied surprisingly.

Yes, Steve. It’s me Trisha. Can we talk?”

Steve goes to the place where Trisha told to him. As they looked deeply in each other, Steve grabs her hands and hug her.

Trish, I know you are confused about what happened to us and I am very sorry for all the mess. Let me—” Steve is not finish yet but Trisha interrupted him.

I already knew, Steve. Pretty well. Sinabi na lahat sa akin ni Joj kung ano at papano kayo nagkakilala. And I understand because the things turned out complicated. Honestly, I am deeply saddened about what’s going on us, you and my best friend. Bakit nangyari satin lahat ‘to?” Trisha said with a deep sigh and cry.

Steve is surprised about what he heard that Joj told everything to Trisha.

“You mean, nagkausap na kayo ni Joj? ” Steve asked and Trisha nods her head saying yes.

Steve, bago ako umalis sa isang araw, gusto ko lang na malaman mo na I am still here waiting for you. I still love you. The memories and promises we had are still fresh in my mind. If you forgot those, I am still willing to remind you, handa pa rin akong ayusin at buuin kung anuman ang nawala at nasira sa ating dalawa. But if you have someone in your heart, if you truly love Joj, I will set you free. I will let you both happy together.” Trisha gave back the engagement ring before leaving her seat. Steve was left thinking.

________________________

Steve is not giving up in finding Joj and still searching the places where he thinks that Joj might be there. He receives a message suddenly, a message from Trisha, “She is in Baguio. Just wait for the exact place.

Steve goes immediately to Baguio to find Joj. After a long hours of driving and searching, he finally sees Joj sitting under thousands leaves of pines trees. Steve walks and sit beside her,

Joj was surprised, “Steve? Ba—a-kit nandito ka? Paano mo ako nahanap?

Ang dami kong pinuntahan pero bakit nakalimutan ko na dito pala kita pwede makita. You remember this place huh?” Steve speaks smoothly. “Even if I forgot that you might be here in Baguio, but I won’t forget this place, under the shades of pines trees, you and I had our first kiss, right? Tumakbo ka pa nga pero hinabol kita. Then, we became happy.

Joj stand and said, “Yeah, right. I went here since I can’t breathe about what happened to all of us. I can’t even start the mornings without tears in my eyes. I do not want to see you either.

Again and again, I am very sorry Joj. Sa lahat-lahat ng nangyari at nangyayari ngayon. I am sorry for causing you so much pain. You do not deserve this. Pero, minahal kita Joj. Lahat ng pinaramdam at pinakita ko sayo, totoo lahat ‘yon. And it’s okay if you do not want to believe in me, I understand.” Steve said.

Alam mo Steve, one thing I have learned in my life, ‘To love is to risk. Therefore, to love is to be brave’. Do not be sorry at all because I took the risk and myself to love you. Wala namang may kasalanan because we do not know the whole story yet we took the risk to love each other, especially Trisha. She is the one who don’t deserve the pain.”

“But, because of my condition, you are now trapped into the world that you never ever thought would happen, and no single day had passed that I blame myself for all of this mess.”

“Okay na yun, Steve. We are just human, wanted to love and to be loved. All of those became part of who I am now. Sa lahat ng nangyari at hindi natin inaakala na mangyayari, yung minahal kita ang pinakamasayang part sa lahat. I do not regret the love I gave even if I am not the true person in your heart. Maybe, I am the one whom your mind once thought but, in your heart, I am not. I can never replace Trisha in your life.”

“But Joj, I am no—t—," Joj interrupted his words and hugs him tightly.

Steve, I just want to tell you this. I accepted the offer in US. Hindi man ito about in Engineering, but I believe I can pass this. I want to have some different path you know, in medical field. Sa isang araw na yung flight ko and I filed my resignation letter last week. Hindi ko alam kung dapat ko ba sabihin ‘to o ano, pero I will wait you. But, Steve, follow what your mind and heart truly desires.

Joj holds her head and feels bit dizzy. Steve leads her to sit so that she can feel better. Afterwards, Joj leaves the place alone and Steve, again, was left thinking...

1
$ 0.22
$ 0.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
Avatar for molivs
Written by
2 years ago

Comments