Stone cottage in 18th century in Sweden

4 13
Avatar for mizuo
Written by
1 year ago

Stone cottage in Sweden in 19th centuryOn the plate of explanation saysThe Stone Cottage was built at Skansen in 1891 using laborer's cottages from Blekinge as a model. It shows how poor people were obliged to live in southern Sweden during the 19th century which was a time of rapid population growth.The building consists of a single room with furnishing and fittings of the most elementary sort. The people living in such cottages owned no land but lived by selling things that they could make themselves and by casual work.The Stone Cottage really belongs among the buildings from the south of Sweden.

I was very surprised by the stone cottages I found when I visited Skansen (open-air museum) in Stockholm in June.Sweden is now recognized as a wealthy country with well establish social welfare, but about 100 years ago, some people had no choice but to live in stone cottages like this one. In the 19th century, Sweden experienced a population increase, and as a result, some people were forced to live in these cottages because they could not secure enough land for housing according to the explanation.Today is September, and the press reports that Japan's trade deficit is the largest deficit since 1978. Although the corona effect is a major cause, I thought as I looked at this cottage that with time, we can build a society that declines like Japan, or we can build a society that grows sustainably and breaks away from poverty, as Sweden did. I realized once again that it depends greatly on the policies of the country.In Sweden, a right-wing coalition won the recent national election by a narrow margin, forcing the current prime minister to resign. I am a little anxious about what kind of society we will have in the next four years when we have to face a major change from the policies that have been in place until now, but I would like to watch the Swedes' choice.

🥦 ᚨᛚᚢ 🥦

🥦 Ha det så bra!🥦

🥦See you again!🥦

🥦ほなまたねぇ~🥦

2
$ 0.86
$ 0.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for mizuo
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

The cottages were built for the poor but they looked awesome, but not that to live for sure. Hello, mizuo. Nice seeing you actively blogging in some platforms again. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi, @Ayane-chan I am more active here 👉👉 https://ecency.com/@mizuosemla/posts If you are interested, I can send my referral 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm on Hive, too. I saw you there already, just haven't drol a "hi" to your post, I guess.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I said hi to you on HIVE too~ It's nice to get to know you there too!

$ 0.00
1 year ago