At last, I encountered Bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash!

10 35
Avatar for mizuo
Written by
3 years ago

The other day, I wrote a blog titled “Reasons why I started becoming interested in cryptocurrencies. ” In short, I got to know about Bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash when I started eToro which is a trading platform that allows users to trade CFD assets including cryptocurrencies.  It was a period when I was having some extra time staying and working at home, besides, I was also feeling a little left behind that many of my friends had started either Robinhood or eToro which were not familiar with me at the time.  Then, at last, I got to know Bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash in the app when I traded 50USD each on both of them.

 

As you may know, in eToro, users are not able to own cryptocurrencies, but only can trade as CFD assets.  It means that I could not buy and own any cryptocurrencies on the platform, and transfer them to my wallet.  (Well, at the time, I did not know that wallets for cryptocurrencies exist.)

 

So why did I choose Bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash from among all the other cryptocurrencies?  Well, it is easy to answer that I did not know any other cryptocurrencies except Bitcoin at the time, and I chose Bitcoin Cash because I wanted to compare with Bitcoin how each value grows.  I have been a crypto hater, or I would say I always thought that it was something fishy, but it was the very first time I use my own money to “get involved” with cryptocurrencies.

 

As I wrote above, at the moment, I did not own any cryptocurrencies, however, I just started trading CFD assets of these two cryptocurrencies, Bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash.  I recognize these two cryptocurrencies as one of the options I could choose from the app as CDF trading.

 

Money, money, money!!!

 

And, well……. money has changed everything. LOL.

 

After I started trading these two cryptocurrencies for a couple of days, they gained some profits.  Then, I promoted these two assets and started calling them by abbreviated crypto names, BTC and BCH.  I started learning something about cryptocurrencies.  (Well, I was like, what are these things?  BTC and BCH, well, OK. I love them now.  I love whichever brings some good results.  Sorry, BTC and BCH called you, fishy and dubious.)

 

I was lucky to get into crypto field in the right moment.

Now, I am checking the chart on CoinMarcketCap of BTC, and it shows that the value of BTC has been bullish since the end of November 2020.  There are ups and downs, of course, but I am talking about the overall trend in general.  Even though I am not a tech person, I remembered that I heard a news saying that “Bitcoin has surpassed its old high.” in the major media in Japanese.  I mean that a so-called general non-tech person like me heard something about Bitcoin in the major media.  

 

Simply speaking, I was lucky that it was the moment some corporate investors had started investing in Bitcoin including Tesla.  Therefore, I woke up in the morning, then I realized that I gained some money which I could buy a couple of Big Macs.  For me, I just started the app because to have some easy topics to talk about when I hang out with my friends, and gained so-called “easy money for drinks” got me hooked with cryptocurrencies. 

Bitcoin Chart from CoinMarketCap.com

 

For me, it was a big deal. LOL.

 

Finally, I encountered BTC and BCH on the app, then gained some profits from them made me interested in them as well as in cryptocurrencies.  What the heck are cryptocurrencies?

 

I decided to ask my teacher, GOOGLE Sensei about Bitcoin.  I googled and started to get to know about Bitcoin.

Mizuo - Mar.11th, 21.  

References

1)      eToro

https://www.etoro.com/

 

2)      CoinMarketCap

https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/bitcoin/ 

 

4
$ 3.15
$ 3.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for mizuo
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Nice to read an article from the founder of eToro. I signed up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Have you really used BTC and BCH yet? What benefit does BTC and BCH have for you (I don't mean profits)?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello Telesfor, Technically speaking, I have not used BTC yet in a real life. But, I store it as savings. It is not much like some super-rich people, but it may increase some value over years. That's what I am hoping for BTC. And, for BCH, it seems that transaction fees are MUCH chapter than BTC, so I am planning to use it in a real life. Have you ever heard of "https://map.bitcoin.com/" which can find out which stores accept BTC and BCH. I hope you will find the site useful :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why do you save what you don't need (and probably never will)? What sense does that make?

Do you even have the BTC in your wallet?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi Telesfor, Sorry to make you confused. Maybe I wasn't clear enough about what I meant. I DO need BTC, LOL. I am saving it and hoping that it will be more profitable, then I will sell it or exchange for fiat money (money which the central bank issue).

And, I do not have any BTC in my wallet, because transaction fees have increased a lot and it is not practical to use on daily basis. That is why I moved to Bitcoin Cash (BCH) community. BCH does not require much transaction fees so I do have some BCH in my wallet. :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are not confusing me. You're just confirming that you're buying something you don't need and won't use. You're just hoping to sell it more expensively later to someone who doesn't need or use it either. Don't be afraid that this snowball effect will eventually end and people will ask themselves - why should I buy something I don't need and can't use? Maybe I won't find anyone else to sell something useless to at a higher price?

Perhaps the rethinking is already beginning? Maybe it will start in a month or a year. Bitcoin was developed as something meaningful and should become an independent world currency. That's why it became famous. Unfortunately, it became a useless token that cannot find any use. Do you really think that something useless can have a high price in the long run?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi Telesfor,

I understand what you mean that the price of Bitcoin is overvalued, and it will eventually collapse at some point in the future. It says that Satoshi who is the creator of Bitcoin holds 1M of BTC, and if he sells all he holds, then the market of the whole cryptocurrencies will collapse! Boom! I hope he won't do it though! Oh, please Satoshi, don't do it! ;)

As you mentioned, Bitcoin was created by Satoshi Nakamoto who has his vision of libertarianism. When he created BTC, he hoped that this invention will help people be independent of centralized institutes like banks. However, now it seems that BTC has become a kind of coin for the rich who can only buy a LOT and store it without worrying about transaction fees can use it. The rich can be richer by storing BTC, but a common person who is like me struggling to send BTC from one wallet to another with high transaction fees. OK, BTC has become the gold of cryptocurrencies, but it was not the original point why Satoshi created it.

BTC has lost the original point. Sad!

Well, but I understand that money changes people. (including me) :/

BUT, now we have BCH! We will see how BCH will replace BTC as a currency for libertarians, which Satoshi hopes for.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bitcoin was developed as a means of payment, it was supposed to have a use, it was supposed to become an independent world currency. But BTC doesn't do the job anymore because it's technically broken. It is useless. However, there are many cryptos that are useful. Do you really think that something useless can have a high price in the long run? Don't you think that at some point people will start asking themselves, should I really buy something useless just in the hope of selling it to someone for higher price? Maybe I won't find anyone else to buy it from me? Instead, I'd rather buy another crypto that is useful and even promises me more return? BTC speculation can work for a while. The price can rise even further because it is decoupled from reality. But at some point the house of cards will collapse. It can be in a day, in a month, in a year or in five years.

For me, BTC is like a dinosaur. It will die out sooner or later. Other, better cryptos will take its place.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi Telesfor,

I agree with you that BTC has lost the original philosophy behind its creation due to the very high transaction fees. There are so many altcoins as you mentioned. There are 8794 coins as of Mar. 13th, 2021. https://coinmarketcap.com/

We will see what coins and communities will keep their value growing. We do not see Namecoin, Feathercoin, and Peercoin any longer in the top 50 list which used to be dominant in the crypto field. I have a positive future for BCH since we have a good community to support the coin. :)

$ 0.06
3 years ago

I am very sorry that BTC has developed in this way. Many people are blinded by the current high price. Many will probably regret it. The BCH price can (and probably will) fall as well. If you are in crypto, you have to have perseverance and think long-term.

$ 0.00
3 years ago